$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I've Got the Power
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 18, 2013

Quick Visit to our Nation's Capital

Our room was ready upon arrival even though we didn't expect it until late afternoon. Being in the Dupont Circle area was fun and invigorating. It was easy to navigate the Metro system and see the sights. We loved being greeted with, "Welcome home!" after walking and touring the city all day. As Bostonians, we were devastated by the news of the explosions at the Marathon. However, we were comforted by the courtesy and graciousness of the staff. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Delicious food within walking distance and a nice variety, as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Admin. Asst.
Business
Lynchburg, Va
May 13, 2013

Washington DC Visit

Staff greeted us with a luggage cart as soon as we arrived and took it to our room. Pleasant young lady checked us in at reception. Located in a safe, walking neighborhood with lots of joggers. Room was lovely. Check out was easy. Received quick assistance to help get luggage to car when we left. Good experience:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk down Corcoran at 17th to couple of food options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SRMx2
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 23, 2013

An A in DC

We were in town for one night visiting relatives. The location is great - half way between DuPont Circle and where they live, and for the price the room was large by DC standards. The room was clean and ready early, the staff was very accommodating, and again the price was impossible to top! We will definite use The Carlyle again for future visits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

An large number of near-by restaurants offering a broad range of food/price options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
threekids3dogs
Business
Chicago
Jun 6, 2013

Excellent Boutique Hotel

This is an amazing boutique hotel. The suite was incredible: comfortable, clean, and roomy, in a wonderful neighborhood. The staff was outstanding - attentive and very friendly. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
freq traveler90
Business
new orleans, la
Aug 10, 2013

Almost perfect

The bed wasn't a bit lumpy but otherwise this was a great find. I will definitely stay here again. The restaurant bar was also nice, adequate food. or-bitz search parameters said this hotel had free parking but it ended July 15th so I had to pay $39/nt extra for parking. Beware!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CNC traveller
Business
Chester, UK
Aug 23, 2013

Great location and staff

Very clean and comfortable suite . Five of use stayed for 4 nights. Staff were very friendly and room cleaned everyday. As we had a small kitchen in the suite, desk staff pointed us to the local supermarket where we could buy food. Only criticism was the cost of overnight parking 39 dollars. Metro was only 5-7 minutes walk (DuPont circle) and it was a 10 dollar taxi ride to union station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Agora restaurant on 17th street. Excellent Greek restaurant and well priced

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skeef
Business
Temple, PA
Sep 23, 2013

Retro Hotel

The room was like a small apartment with a small full kitchen with plates ,cups and utensils. A walk in closet, a lock box to lock your valuables and the location was close to Dupont circle, delicious places to eat and public transportation. Staff was friendly and accommodating. booking months ahead saved us a lot of money so we could enjoy the many sites and amazing good eating places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A restaurant only a few blocks from the hotel had excellent food either for breakfast or dinner near 17th and Q sts. Get the Metro pass, you can add money as you need to travel around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennalala
Business
Matthews, NC
Nov 15, 2013

Lovely place to stay!

We had to make a last minute reservation and found a great deal for this hotel. We only stayed one night, but we didn't want to leave! Our room definitely exceeded our expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nagyutazo
Business
NYC
Nov 18, 2013

Excellent value!

This hotel is more than meets the eye. The interior decor is chic and elegant, the room is clean and comfortable. I especially loved the shower, and their environmentally friendly efforts. The dining room with the glass ceiling had an outdoor ambiance, and the orange juicer machine is awesome! The disadvantages are very few. The wifi was free, but my connection was not good, so i could not use it. There is not much parking available nearby, and the valet is expensive at $39/night, but that is no surprise for DC. Parking garages around Dupont Circle, however, are only $18/12hrs or $25/24 hrs, so I highly recommend doing that. It is only a 12-minute walk to the hotel. All in all, I was very happy with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NADINE LT
Business
Raleigh, NC
Dec 26, 2013

Great staff, great location

The staff at this hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. The location/neighborhood is excellent --a short walk to the Metro and most conveniences located around Dupont Circle. For those with a dog, the dog park is just up the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a great bake shop on Dupont Circle--and they sell some goodies at half price late in the day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top