Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
1731 New Hampshire Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
200 reviews
Great and very convienent

I always stay at this hotel when on business in DC See full review

  • DC traveler man
  • Dec 2, 2014
night downtown

Good size room with kitchen and large seating area. Well situated and great brunch in the dining room. See full review

  • swhitaker
  • Nov 17, 2014
Contemporary renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Washington DC
 

Situated within walking distance of many Washington DC attractions, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is also close to DC's Metro Red Line, making navigating the city and surrounding areas very easy. Hotel rooms have modern features and each room is custom designed and decorated to the highest standard. The Carlyle Suites hotel is the ideal hotel for business travelers. A fitness center is also available on site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Perfect location walkable to Washington DC attractions

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room kitchens with microwaves and fridges

  • On-site fitness centre

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms
 

There is a choice of several guest rooms at the Carlyle Suites Hotel suitable for differing tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from two double beds or one king size bed and a sofa bed. Each room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel contains a full service kitchen complete with refrigerator and microwave for those who prefer to prepare their own snacks and drinks. Cable television and complimentary Wi-Fi is also available in each room. The Grande King room and Grande Guest room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel also offers a generous sized seating area for entertaining or relaxing. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions add to the luxury and in-room gourmet Keurig coffee helps to complete the package. Accessible rooms are available.

Things to Do:
 
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

  • George Washington University (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note special promotional and packages rates may require full pre-payment and may be non-refundable
  • Pets are welcome, free of charge, with the exception of bully breeds


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms

Grande Double Double Guest Room
Grande Guest Room featuring 2 premium Tempur-Pedic Double beds, some with comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Classic Guest Room
Classic Guest Room featuring 1 or 2 premium Tempur-Pedic double beds or a king bed with comfortable sleeper sofabed, desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Includes 32 inch HD flat screen TV, premium cable television, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Grande King Guest Room
Grande King Guest Room featuring 1 premium Tempur-Pedic King size bed, comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

38.9133 -77.0396
Area served
Dupont Circle, Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Steet.
Nearby airports
Ronald Regan National Airport (DCA) Dulles International Airport (IAD) Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI).
Area description
Located at 1731 New Hampshire Ave. NW in fashionable Dupont Circle, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is walking distance to the DC Metro (Red Line), the White House and downtown Georgetown. The Carlyle Suites Hotel is also walking distance to Dupont Circle's restaurants, cafe's and nightlife.

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.3 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.4 mi
  • Department of State: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chizzy
Business
London
May 31, 2014

Awesome stay. Excellent Customer Service

Enjoyed an excellent stay, with customer service that went above and beyond my expectations. Friendly and helpful who beware willing to go the extra mile to assist and ensure my every need was met. Helpful with directions, and my room was superb with a beautiful view. The staff all were gems and obviously enjoy what they do as it's done effortlessly. Thank you will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linn Ann
Business
Hays, KS
Oct 7, 2007

Clean, comfortble rooms

The Carlyle Suites are a good bargain. The staff is friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. It was very quiet, until about 9 in the morning. Construction was going on in one part of the hotel, and obviously the workers got started about that time. But I never heard a sound coming from any other room or the hallway. The public restrooms that normally serve the restaurant area were locked (I assume because of the construction), and one had to go to the main desk (in another part of the hotel) to get the key. This was a pain. The only drawbacks to the room were in the kitchen area. Each room apparently has a small kitchenette, and this is a selling point of the hotel. I am a short individual (around 5 foot tall). The kitchen cabinets and microwave were above my head. So, had I planned on cooking in the room, this would have been a major problem. As it was, I hadn't planned on cooking, so it wasn't an issue. The refrigerator was below the counter, so it was easily accessible. The bed was very comfortable. I tried the restaurant for one meal, and the food there was very good. I liked the fact the hotel is in a residential neighborhood. I like to walk in the late afternoons, and there were many residents out walking, jogging and bicycling in the area, so I felt quite quite safe. I did not try out the gym that the hotel said was available about 5 blocks away. Security at the hotel was good. The front doors were locked at night, so be prepared to knock on the door if checking in late (as I had to do because my flight didn't arrive until midnight).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle is just a short walk. The taxi stand right outside the hotel makes hailing a cab easy. I never had to wait more than 5 minutes for one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hamden, CT
Nov 2, 2008

gtreat hotel in a great location

The art deco style of this hotel makes it charming. The friendliness of the staff and the proximity to so many restaurants and sights lets us know that this will be our go-to place to stay in D.C.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over to Connecticut Avenue and you will be able to choose from any cuisine (and price range) imaginable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, pa
Aug 15, 2010

Great Hotel/Great Location

Loved the location. Rooms were clean and well decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 14, 2009

Really enjoyed the stay

We attended the National Equality March in Washington and met up with our son and daughter. Excellent location and very courteous staff. Thank you for the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 24, 2009

Excellent location

We were visiting our daughter that lives in the neighborhood for Easter weekend. The first room we were given was wonderful with the exception that the air conditioning hadn't been turned on for the season. I called the front desk and was told to open a window, but the room didn't have a window that could be opened. We stayed two nights in this room before they could move us to another room. Great places to eat and drink in the area. Walked to the White House in about 20 minutes. Area felt very safe and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Brunch at Kramer's cafe and bookstore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2008

My review of The Carlyle Suites Hotel

The Carlyle's staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. It is located in a very safe neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a variety of good restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parkville, MD
Oct 31, 2008

Always great

The staff is always friendly. We really like that our dog is welcome at no additional charge. The neighborhood has some great restaurants. Very kid-friendly area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2008

OUR FAVORITE HOTEL

WE HAVE BEEN STAYING AT THE CARLYLE AT LEAST THREE TIME A YEAR FOR ABOUT 15 YEARS. WE LOVE IT BECAUSE MOST OF THE ROOMS ARE SUITES WITH REFRIGERATORS, STOVES, MICROWAVES, COFFEE MAKERS ETC. IT IS A REALLY NICE LOCATION NEAR DUPOPNT CIRCLE AND THE METRO SO THAT ANYTHING IN DC IS JUST A SHORT METRO RIDE AWAY. I RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY FOR THE LOCATION AND FOR THE ART DECO STYLE WHICH WE REALLY LIKE. IT IS CLEAN AND THE STAFF FRIENDLY AND VERY WILLING TO HELP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

WE EAT MOST MEALS HERE, BUT ANNIE'S, FOX AND HOUNDS, THE ITALIAN KITCHEN AND A FEW MORE ARE ALL ON THIS STRETCH OF 17TH STREET. CHECK IT OUT!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scottie Dog
Business
Edinburgh Scotland
Sep 23, 2014

Relaxing Location in the Heart of the Capital

A little gem tucked away in the heart of Embassy land, but close enough to the Metro station at Dupont Circle This Art Deco hotel is a great place to relax after a busy day's sightseeing. The beds were comfortable. The shower was excellent with plenty of towels, facecloths and toiletries and a large TV. We could have done with a bit more cutlery,especially soup size spoons and a drying cloth.. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. I would recommend this hotel and would go back there if I ever returned to Washington. With a Safeway supermarket just two streets away, we opted to cook for ourselves some days, but that was entirely our choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Spy Museum was just amazing. James Bond eat your heart out. The documentation, video interviews with former intelligence people, gadgets and 007 of course with that famous Aston Martin was well worth the 11 dollars You don't have to walk. Take the Metro as far as Metro Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top