$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tex3
Business
York, PA, USA
Jan 24, 2014

Art Deco

Loved the ambiance and location. The breakfast area was very comfortable and decorated like a sidewalk cafe. It took a minute to get used the temperpedic mattress, it doesn't bounce like my coil springs. Don't forget to budget for the $39 parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the maps and take the Metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NADINE LT
Business
Raleigh, NC
Dec 26, 2013

Great staff, great location

The staff at this hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. The location/neighborhood is excellent --a short walk to the Metro and most conveniences located around Dupont Circle. For those with a dog, the dog park is just up the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a great bake shop on Dupont Circle--and they sell some goodies at half price late in the day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarM04
Business
NYC
Dec 21, 2013

Good location & value

For a short stay, I'd recommend the Carlyle. I booked a night at the Carlyle for my parents for a short weekend stay. The location is not far from the metro, restaurants, coffee shops and even some decent nightlife. In comparison to the other surrounding hotels, the Carlyle is a good option for the location and value. The elevators are very tiny though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must try Floriana! Great Duck dish and pasta dishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prosports NFL
Business
kingston brook shoper
Dec 15, 2013

A Special place, comfortable, details, location.

The location is the best-safe, walkable to metro, food, etc. On embassy row so its a high end area where brown stones are 1 mil and up. Detail- the rooms are logically situated and the hotel has a pizzazz factor about it. The only downer was when one of the staff thought he would "educate" me on how to say good morning when I merely said "hello." He thought to run me through a drill of, "good morning, how are you, pleasant day and on and on, and on," before he would help me with an umbrella when I was rushing to work in a rain storm. It was after that experience that I checked out after spending over one thousand dollars there. I think he thought he was paying me to work there........bad attitude. Customers pay him to be there, not the other way around. Other than him, the rest of the staff was just right and for that I gave a four star rating. It should have been a five star since the hotel is much cooler than the standard chain hotels especially for the price you pay but it''s hard to shake being belittled and put down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store down the street is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sebas27
Business
miami, florida
Dec 11, 2013

good for business trip and couples vacation

the staff are very friendly and helpfull and the hotel very well located - safe place and many restaurants near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Des Moines traveller
Business
Des Moines
Nov 20, 2013

Carlyle Suites Hotel Washington Dupont Circle

The Carlyle was a great find in a quiet neighborhood about a 10 minute walk northeast of Dupont Circle. It's a safe neighborhood with several embassies nearby. It's an older but nicely renovated hotel. Staff was friendly and upgraded me to a larger room (without charge and without my asking). The bathroom was nicely decorated but a bit small for some (not for me). My only complaint - on a cool November evening, the room was hot despite turning off the furnace. I was able to open the window for some fresh air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nagyutazo
Business
NYC
Nov 18, 2013

Excellent value!

This hotel is more than meets the eye. The interior decor is chic and elegant, the room is clean and comfortable. I especially loved the shower, and their environmentally friendly efforts. The dining room with the glass ceiling had an outdoor ambiance, and the orange juicer machine is awesome! The disadvantages are very few. The wifi was free, but my connection was not good, so i could not use it. There is not much parking available nearby, and the valet is expensive at $39/night, but that is no surprise for DC. Parking garages around Dupont Circle, however, are only $18/12hrs or $25/24 hrs, so I highly recommend doing that. It is only a 12-minute walk to the hotel. All in all, I was very happy with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennalala
Business
Matthews, NC
Nov 15, 2013

Lovely place to stay!

We had to make a last minute reservation and found a great deal for this hotel. We only stayed one night, but we didn't want to leave! Our room definitely exceeded our expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tired of waiting 2
Business
philadelpia
Nov 14, 2013

diconnect

When we arrived travel site and hotel had spoken but apparently the hotel never put in our reservation.check in took 45 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

grocery store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avis the Traveler
Business
Montgomery, AL
Oct 30, 2013

Almost Where I Needed to Be

The rooms at the Carlyle are spacious and comfy. There is a full vanity for make-up, etc (which I loved). The bathrooms are modern, ample, and feature eco- friendly products. The kitchenette has a range, Keurig coffee maker, microwave and mini-fridge. I was starting to settle in when I discovered there was no heat. Unfortunately, I was unable to stay because the temperature dropped and it would be a couple days before heat could be turned on. Well, I am from the South and that wasn't ok. A member of my group spoke to the manager who graciously moved us (paid cab fare) to the hotel's sister property. We had a wonderful stay at The Savoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top