$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
debjg
Business
Portland OR
Mar 27, 2014

Great room & great location

We loved everything about this room and the location was great for us though some may want to be a bit closer to the action. Only complaint is the average or less than average continental breakfast for a rather steep price. We learned our lesson and picked up breakfast items to keep in our little kitchen. Staff was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Put the Uber app on your smart phone to save a bundle on clean, friendly, prompt cab/car service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheOatmealRaisin
Business
Miami
Mar 25, 2014

Everything good, nothing great...

Perfect spot for a quick dc getaway. Wouldn't want to stay much longer than that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al Punto
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 24, 2014

Good experience

We stayed for a week, and were very well treated. The staff were helpful all along, especially when we had 4 guests for dinner in our suite. We recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dining at DuPont Circle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristine585
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 16, 2014

Freindly, convenient, Comfy

I stayed in DC for a conference and am already familiar with this neighborhood. By coincidence the hotel was close to a friend's apartment so I was able to get in a good visit with friends after conference hours. I had not planned on driving, but was snowed out of my flight and decided to drive. The hotel had easy parking and helpful valet service. Simon was very helpful every day Abdu was also helpful the day he was on staff. Every person at the desk was knowledgeable and friendly. I thought the rooms were fresh, clean and comfortable. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Thai and Indian places to eat on 17th and P nearby. Safeway and CVS right around the block. Use your google maps to get directions around the neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tech2
Business
virginia
Mar 10, 2014

Great Weekend

Staff was awesome. Location was good, close enough to all the attractions. Room was a little smaller than what we expected, but it was clean and comfy! We stayed for 3 days and had a great weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a mile from most attractions, 2 miles from others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Royal admirer
Business
Ex Iowa
Mar 1, 2014

I will always stay there

We loved the hotel, great location, awesome room, just the right size, comfortable bed the very best part was the delicious food from room service' two wonderful dinners. Front desk people were helpful, and bellman could not do enough for us. I cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kramer's Bookshas a wonderful restaurant, besides having a Terrific selection of books. I might comeback to Washingtonjust to eat there. Reasonable prices, too

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MM.....
Business
New Jersey
Feb 28, 2014

A bit too residential but good

Good hotel, some old charm, but location very residential...not much nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cr14
Business
Orlando
Feb 27, 2014

Comfy and convenient

I really enjoyed my stay at the Carlyle. The room was spacious. The suite options were quite handy - I used the refrigerator, couch, the toaster, ... as well as the nice bed/shower/... T he restaurant was friendly and quick for a short visit on my travel up day. It was an easy walk to the Metro for access to DC, and a shorter walk to the grocery store. I have previously stayed with friends while visiting DC - I now prefer the convenience of the Carlyle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get supplies for a week of breakfast at the grocery store down the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoodDougBoston
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 15, 2014

Will always stay there when traveling with my dog.

Such a wonderful experience. Traveling with a dog can be an anxiety-riddled experience, not knowing for certain if a hotel is sincere about their "Pet Friendly" policy. The Carlyse is. Plus, one block away is a fabulous dog park. Great stay, location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old Dewd
Business
South Carolina
Jan 27, 2014

Hotel was okay

My main problem with this hotel was the bed; I believe it had a "Tempur-pedic" mattress that my wife could not stand; she slept on the fold out sofa which was a bit better, but not much. I tried to sleep on the bed, but it was too hard for my taste. I understand a hotel is doing business, but $14.95 per person for a breakfast buffet was a lot for my wallet. We did use it twice, and it was good, but too expensive for every day. One morning I went to the breakfast room and asked for 2 cups of coffee to go and was charged almost $5.00 for that; I only did that once (went to the deli around the corner after that). I will say that we thought the location was great; walking distance to a lot of things; we walked to the museums on The Mall, even though it is quite a hike. Overall, this hotel was average, but the staff was very good and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like to walk, the D.C. museums are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top