$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
1731 New Hampshire Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Awesome stay. Excellent Customer Service

Enjoyed an excellent stay, with customer service that went above and beyond my... See full review

  • Chizzy
  • May 31, 2014
great place to stay

First--the rooms are very large by DC standards--and the price is relatively low. An unbeatable... See full review

  • Narada
  • May 2, 2014
Contemporary renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Washington DC
 

Situated within walking distance of many Washington DC attractions, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is also close to DC's Metro Red Line, making navigating the city and surrounding areas very easy. Hotel rooms have modern features and each room is custom designed and decorated to the highest standard. The Carlyle Suites hotel is the ideal hotel for business travelers. A fitness center is also available on site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Perfect location walkable to Washington DC attractions

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room kitchens with microwaves and fridges

  • Complimentary access to the Washington Sports Club, the region's premier health club

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms
 

There is a choice of several guest rooms at the Carlyle Suites Hotel suitable for differing tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from two double beds or one king size bed and a sofa bed. Each room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel contains a full service kitchen complete with refrigerator and microwave for those who prefer to prepare their own snacks and drinks. Cable television and complimentary Wi-Fi is also available in each room. The Grande King room and Grande Guest room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel also offers a generous sized seating area for entertaining or relaxing. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions add to the luxury and in-room gourmet Keurig coffee helps to complete the package. Accessible rooms are available.

Things to Do:
 
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

  • George Washington University (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note special promotional and packages rates may require full pre-payment and may be non-refundable
  • Pets are welcome, free of charge, with the exception of bully breeds


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9133 -77.0396
Area served
Dupont Circle, Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Steet.
Nearby airports
Ronald Regan National Airport (DCA) Dulles International Airport (IAD) Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI).
Area description
Located at 1731 New Hampshire Ave. NW in fashionable Dupont Circle, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is walking distance to the DC Metro (Red Line), the White House and downtown Georgetown. The Carlyle Suites Hotel is also walking distance to Dupont Circle's restaurants, cafe's and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlyle Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms

Grande Double Double Guest Room
Grande Guest Room featuring 2 premium Tempur-Pedic Double beds, some with comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Classic Guest Room
Classic Guest Room featuring 1 or 2 premium Tempur-Pedic double beds or a king bed with comfortable sleeper sofabed, desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Includes 32 inch HD flat screen TV, premium cable television, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Grande King Guest Room
Grande King Guest Room featuring 1 premium Tempur-Pedic King size bed, comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.3 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.4 mi
  • Department of State: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NADINE LT
Raleigh, NC
Dec 26, 2013

Great staff, great location

The staff at this hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. The location/neighborhood is excellent --a short walk to the Metro and most conveniences located around Dupont Circle. For those with a dog, the dog park is just up the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a great bake shop on Dupont Circle--and they sell some goodies at half price late in the day

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama Kathy
Alabama
Jun 11, 2012

DC Family Vacation

The location of the hotel, size of the room and service were just right. We arrived from Annapolis via cab and used Super Shuttle back to BWI. We bought trolley tickets at Embassy Camera store on Connecticut and used the Dupont Circle Subway stop; both very convenient. Great pizza delivery and grocery as well as restaurant options, from Indian food to Subway sandwiches all nearby. The best was the HOTEL and the PERSONAL service we TempurPedic type beds were comfie and the pull out sofa worked for our youngest. Kitchenette allowed for breakfast and leftovers. Very clean room and great housekeeping. We will be back!!! Can't say enough about how great this hotel was for our needs (actually am tempted to keep it a secret!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parkville, MD
Oct 31, 2008

Always great

The staff is always friendly. We really like that our dog is welcome at no additional charge. The neighborhood has some great restaurants. Very kid-friendly area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 6, 2008

OUR FAVORITE HOTEL

WE HAVE BEEN STAYING AT THE CARLYLE AT LEAST THREE TIME A YEAR FOR ABOUT 15 YEARS. WE LOVE IT BECAUSE MOST OF THE ROOMS ARE SUITES WITH REFRIGERATORS, STOVES, MICROWAVES, COFFEE MAKERS ETC. IT IS A REALLY NICE LOCATION NEAR DUPOPNT CIRCLE AND THE METRO SO THAT ANYTHING IN DC IS JUST A SHORT METRO RIDE AWAY. I RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY FOR THE LOCATION AND FOR THE ART DECO STYLE WHICH WE REALLY LIKE. IT IS CLEAN AND THE STAFF FRIENDLY AND VERY WILLING TO HELP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

WE EAT MOST MEALS HERE, BUT ANNIE'S, FOX AND HOUNDS, THE ITALIAN KITCHEN AND A FEW MORE ARE ALL ON THIS STRETCH OF 17TH STREET. CHECK IT OUT!!!!!

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
freq traveler90
new orleans, la
Aug 10, 2013

Almost perfect

The bed wasn't a bit lumpy but otherwise this was a great find. I will definitely stay here again. The restaurant bar was also nice, adequate food. or-bitz search parameters said this hotel had free parking but it ended July 15th so I had to pay $39/nt extra for parking. Beware!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
th49w
Atlanta, GA
Sep 4, 2012

Fantastic Labor Day in DC

Free parking in downtown DC (first come, first serve), perfect location, kitchenette, duvet covers, stylish art-deco room and furniture, very friendly staff. Beds are comfortable, but sleeper sofa could be better. Overall we were very pleased with our stay at the Carlyle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 30, 2008

My review of The Carlyle Suites Hotel

The Carlyle's staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. It is located in a very safe neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a variety of good restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Oct 14, 2009

Really enjoyed the stay

We attended the National Equality March in Washington and met up with our son and daughter. Excellent location and very courteous staff. Thank you for the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeskaBoston
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 3, 2012

Great stay!

Stayed here Sunday night before my all day meeting in DC and absolutely loved it. I don't know if I got the suite I paid for or if they decided to upgrade me but either way my room was AMAZING. Big suite with 2 double beds, + a connected living room space with a big bathroom and a full kitchen (refrigerator, toaster, microwave, and stove and kitchen supplies and utensils!!). I loved the cruelty free vegan biodegradable packaged bath supplies and soap. Also I was happy to see organic fair trade coffee in the room. Big TV with HBO and Showtime. The staff were very friendly and the location in Dupont circle was great. I'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linn Ann
Business
Hays, KS
Oct 7, 2007

Clean, comfortble rooms

The Carlyle Suites are a good bargain. The staff is friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. It was very quiet, until about 9 in the morning. Construction was going on in one part of the hotel, and obviously the workers got started about that time. But I never heard a sound coming from any other room or the hallway. The public restrooms that normally serve the restaurant area were locked (I assume because of the construction), and one had to go to the main desk (in another part of the hotel) to get the key. This was a pain. The only drawbacks to the room were in the kitchen area. Each room apparently has a small kitchenette, and this is a selling point of the hotel. I am a short individual (around 5 foot tall). The kitchen cabinets and microwave were above my head. So, had I planned on cooking in the room, this would have been a major problem. As it was, I hadn't planned on cooking, so it wasn't an issue. The refrigerator was below the counter, so it was easily accessible. The bed was very comfortable. I tried the restaurant for one meal, and the food there was very good. I liked the fact the hotel is in a residential neighborhood. I like to walk in the late afternoons, and there were many residents out walking, jogging and bicycling in the area, so I felt quite quite safe. I did not try out the gym that the hotel said was available about 5 blocks away. Security at the hotel was good. The front doors were locked at night, so be prepared to knock on the door if checking in late (as I had to do because my flight didn't arrive until midnight).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle is just a short walk. The taxi stand right outside the hotel makes hailing a cab easy. I never had to wait more than 5 minutes for one.

Back to menu Return to top