$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
1731 New Hampshire Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Awesome stay. Excellent Customer Service

Enjoyed an excellent stay, with customer service that went above and beyond my... See full review

  • Chizzy
  • May 31, 2014
great place to stay

First--the rooms are very large by DC standards--and the price is relatively low. An unbeatable... See full review

  • Narada
  • May 2, 2014
Contemporary renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Washington DC
 

Situated within walking distance of many Washington DC attractions, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is also close to DC's Metro Red Line, making navigating the city and surrounding areas very easy. Hotel rooms have modern features and each room is custom designed and decorated to the highest standard. The Carlyle Suites hotel is the ideal hotel for business travelers. A fitness center is also available on site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Perfect location walkable to Washington DC attractions

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room kitchens with microwaves and fridges

  • Complimentary access to the Washington Sports Club, the region's premier health club

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms
 

There is a choice of several guest rooms at the Carlyle Suites Hotel suitable for differing tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from two double beds or one king size bed and a sofa bed. Each room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel contains a full service kitchen complete with refrigerator and microwave for those who prefer to prepare their own snacks and drinks. Cable television and complimentary Wi-Fi is also available in each room. The Grande King room and Grande Guest room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel also offers a generous sized seating area for entertaining or relaxing. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions add to the luxury and in-room gourmet Keurig coffee helps to complete the package. Accessible rooms are available.

Things to Do:
 
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

  • George Washington University (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note special promotional and packages rates may require full pre-payment and may be non-refundable
  • Pets are welcome, free of charge, with the exception of bully breeds


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms

Grande Double Double Guest Room
Grande Guest Room featuring 2 premium Tempur-Pedic Double beds, some with comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Classic Guest Room
Classic Guest Room featuring 1 or 2 premium Tempur-Pedic double beds or a king bed with comfortable sleeper sofabed, desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Includes 32 inch HD flat screen TV, premium cable television, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Grande King Guest Room
Grande King Guest Room featuring 1 premium Tempur-Pedic King size bed, comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlyle Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9133 -77.0396
Area served
Dupont Circle, Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Steet.
Nearby airports
Ronald Regan National Airport (DCA) Dulles International Airport (IAD) Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI).
Area description
Located at 1731 New Hampshire Ave. NW in fashionable Dupont Circle, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is walking distance to the DC Metro (Red Line), the White House and downtown Georgetown. The Carlyle Suites Hotel is also walking distance to Dupont Circle's restaurants, cafe's and nightlife.

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.3 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.4 mi
  • Department of State: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoodDougBoston
Boston, MA
Feb 15, 2014

Will always stay there when traveling with my dog.

Such a wonderful experience. Traveling with a dog can be an anxiety-riddled experience, not knowing for certain if a hotel is sincere about their "Pet Friendly" policy. The Carlyse is. Plus, one block away is a fabulous dog park. Great stay, location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old Dewd
South Carolina
Jan 27, 2014

Hotel was okay

My main problem with this hotel was the bed; I believe it had a "Tempur-pedic" mattress that my wife could not stand; she slept on the fold out sofa which was a bit better, but not much. I tried to sleep on the bed, but it was too hard for my taste. I understand a hotel is doing business, but $14.95 per person for a breakfast buffet was a lot for my wallet. We did use it twice, and it was good, but too expensive for every day. One morning I went to the breakfast room and asked for 2 cups of coffee to go and was charged almost $5.00 for that; I only did that once (went to the deli around the corner after that). I will say that we thought the location was great; walking distance to a lot of things; we walked to the museums on The Mall, even though it is quite a hike. Overall, this hotel was average, but the staff was very good and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like to walk, the D.C. museums are within walking distance.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tex3
York, PA, USA
Jan 24, 2014

Art Deco

Loved the ambiance and location. The breakfast area was very comfortable and decorated like a sidewalk cafe. It took a minute to get used the temperpedic mattress, it doesn't bounce like my coil springs. Don't forget to budget for the $39 parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the maps and take the Metro.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NADINE LT
Raleigh, NC
Dec 26, 2013

Great staff, great location

The staff at this hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. The location/neighborhood is excellent --a short walk to the Metro and most conveniences located around Dupont Circle. For those with a dog, the dog park is just up the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a great bake shop on Dupont Circle--and they sell some goodies at half price late in the day

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarM04
NYC
Dec 21, 2013

Good location & value

For a short stay, I'd recommend the Carlyle. I booked a night at the Carlyle for my parents for a short weekend stay. The location is not far from the metro, restaurants, coffee shops and even some decent nightlife. In comparison to the other surrounding hotels, the Carlyle is a good option for the location and value. The elevators are very tiny though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must try Floriana! Great Duck dish and pasta dishes.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prosports NFL
Business
kingston brook shoper
Dec 15, 2013

A Special place, comfortable, details, location.

The location is the best-safe, walkable to metro, food, etc. On embassy row so its a high end area where brown stones are 1 mil and up. Detail- the rooms are logically situated and the hotel has a pizzazz factor about it. The only downer was when one of the staff thought he would "educate" me on how to say good morning when I merely said "hello." He thought to run me through a drill of, "good morning, how are you, pleasant day and on and on, and on," before he would help me with an umbrella when I was rushing to work in a rain storm. It was after that experience that I checked out after spending over one thousand dollars there. I think he thought he was paying me to work there........bad attitude. Customers pay him to be there, not the other way around. Other than him, the rest of the staff was just right and for that I gave a four star rating. It should have been a five star since the hotel is much cooler than the standard chain hotels especially for the price you pay but it''s hard to shake being belittled and put down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store down the street is great!

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sebas27
miami, florida
Dec 11, 2013

good for business trip and couples vacation

the staff are very friendly and helpfull and the hotel very well located - safe place and many restaurants near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Des Moines traveller
Business
Des Moines
Nov 20, 2013

Carlyle Suites Hotel Washington Dupont Circle

The Carlyle was a great find in a quiet neighborhood about a 10 minute walk northeast of Dupont Circle. It's a safe neighborhood with several embassies nearby. It's an older but nicely renovated hotel. Staff was friendly and upgraded me to a larger room (without charge and without my asking). The bathroom was nicely decorated but a bit small for some (not for me). My only complaint - on a cool November evening, the room was hot despite turning off the furnace. I was able to open the window for some fresh air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nagyutazo
Business
NYC
Nov 18, 2013

Excellent value!

This hotel is more than meets the eye. The interior decor is chic and elegant, the room is clean and comfortable. I especially loved the shower, and their environmentally friendly efforts. The dining room with the glass ceiling had an outdoor ambiance, and the orange juicer machine is awesome! The disadvantages are very few. The wifi was free, but my connection was not good, so i could not use it. There is not much parking available nearby, and the valet is expensive at $39/night, but that is no surprise for DC. Parking garages around Dupont Circle, however, are only $18/12hrs or $25/24 hrs, so I highly recommend doing that. It is only a 12-minute walk to the hotel. All in all, I was very happy with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennalala
Matthews, NC
Nov 15, 2013

Lovely place to stay!

We had to make a last minute reservation and found a great deal for this hotel. We only stayed one night, but we didn't want to leave! Our room definitely exceeded our expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top