$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
1731 New Hampshire Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Awesome stay. Excellent Customer Service

Enjoyed an excellent stay, with customer service that went above and beyond my... See full review

  • Chizzy
  • May 31, 2014
great place to stay

First--the rooms are very large by DC standards--and the price is relatively low. An unbeatable... See full review

  • Narada
  • May 2, 2014
Contemporary renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Washington DC
 

Situated within walking distance of many Washington DC attractions, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is also close to DC's Metro Red Line, making navigating the city and surrounding areas very easy. Hotel rooms have modern features and each room is custom designed and decorated to the highest standard. The Carlyle Suites hotel is the ideal hotel for business travelers. A fitness center is also available on site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Perfect location walkable to Washington DC attractions

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room kitchens with microwaves and fridges

  • Complimentary access to the Washington Sports Club, the region's premier health club

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms
 

There is a choice of several guest rooms at the Carlyle Suites Hotel suitable for differing tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from two double beds or one king size bed and a sofa bed. Each room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel contains a full service kitchen complete with refrigerator and microwave for those who prefer to prepare their own snacks and drinks. Cable television and complimentary Wi-Fi is also available in each room. The Grande King room and Grande Guest room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel also offers a generous sized seating area for entertaining or relaxing. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions add to the luxury and in-room gourmet Keurig coffee helps to complete the package. Accessible rooms are available.

Things to Do:
 
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

  • George Washington University (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note special promotional and packages rates may require full pre-payment and may be non-refundable
  • Pets are welcome, free of charge, with the exception of bully breeds


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9133 -77.0396
Area served
Dupont Circle, Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Steet.
Nearby airports
Ronald Regan National Airport (DCA) Dulles International Airport (IAD) Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI).
Area description
Located at 1731 New Hampshire Ave. NW in fashionable Dupont Circle, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is walking distance to the DC Metro (Red Line), the White House and downtown Georgetown. The Carlyle Suites Hotel is also walking distance to Dupont Circle's restaurants, cafe's and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlyle Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms

Grande Double Double Guest Room
Grande Guest Room featuring 2 premium Tempur-Pedic Double beds, some with comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Classic Guest Room
Classic Guest Room featuring 1 or 2 premium Tempur-Pedic double beds or a king bed with comfortable sleeper sofabed, desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Includes 32 inch HD flat screen TV, premium cable television, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Grande King Guest Room
Grande King Guest Room featuring 1 premium Tempur-Pedic King size bed, comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.3 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.4 mi
  • Department of State: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rev. Bruce
Business
Chestertown, MD
Jan 31, 2013

Great unique luxury hotel

I have stayed at the Carlyle every time I need to go into the city for a business meeting. It is an expensive hotel but you can find deals online. The staff is always very helpful, saying "welcome home" as you enter the door. The room is a small suite with a kitchen and plenty of room. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to everything in the DuPont Circle area

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old Dewd
South Carolina
Jan 27, 2014

Hotel was okay

My main problem with this hotel was the bed; I believe it had a "Tempur-pedic" mattress that my wife could not stand; she slept on the fold out sofa which was a bit better, but not much. I tried to sleep on the bed, but it was too hard for my taste. I understand a hotel is doing business, but $14.95 per person for a breakfast buffet was a lot for my wallet. We did use it twice, and it was good, but too expensive for every day. One morning I went to the breakfast room and asked for 2 cups of coffee to go and was charged almost $5.00 for that; I only did that once (went to the deli around the corner after that). I will say that we thought the location was great; walking distance to a lot of things; we walked to the museums on The Mall, even though it is quite a hike. Overall, this hotel was average, but the staff was very good and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like to walk, the D.C. museums are within walking distance.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MCJAKE
North Arlington, NJ, USA
Apr 16, 2012

FAMILY WEEKEND

THE HOTEL WAS VERY CLEAN AND STAFF WAS HELPFUL. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THEY SAID THERE WAS PARKING BUT THEIR YARD WAS VERY SMALL. PARKING WAS FIRST COME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

METRO WAS ONLY A COUPLE OF BLOCKS AWAY.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weluv2travel
SF, California
Mar 21, 2013

Great location near Dupont Circle

Large rooms with free WiFi. Kitchenete with small fridge and cooktop. Unfortunately no fan/hood over cooktop, so food odors from adjacent rooms can be unpleasant. Art deco style of room furnishings was interesting but really could use new carpet (well used & dingy). Location, location, location - near Dupont Circle, Metro, Embassy Row, restaurants, shops, and Safeway was best part of our stay Overall an OK place to stay - unless you want something with modern luxuries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant - "Daily Grill" - 1200 18th Street - great tasting food - went for dinner & so good we went back for lunch the next day - exceptional desserts.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bpaul9999
Business
NYC
May 16, 2013

Excellent staff, huge rooms but not too exciting

Decent place, but a bit further out from Dupont circle area than most the others I have stayed in and is a good backup but I will try for the others first. Front desk staff was great greeted me with a welcome home each time and the room was huge but the decor and rest of the details were average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Palisades Family
Los Angeles
Nov 25, 2012

Don't be fooled by promise of parking

We selected this hotel because it said it included parking. however, they only have a handful of spaces, and it's first come, first served, so...no real parking around a holiday. Also, delayed by weather, and they wouldn't provide a credit for the missed night, or allow us to extend for one day. Finally, our room was next to the elevator, and we heard construction through the elevator shaft early saturday morning. Odd for a holiday weekend. I think that the experience would have been different if the reservation had been made outside of online booking. The staff was nice, but offered nothing once they saw the reservation was through outside third party booking service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tired of waiting 2
Business
philadelpia
Nov 14, 2013

diconnect

When we arrived travel site and hotel had spoken but apparently the hotel never put in our reservation.check in took 45 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

grocery store

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenn S
Nampa, ID
Nov 6, 2011

Good Location

We needed to be close to another hotel for an event and this one was a better value for what we needed. Walking distance to other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Azusa, CA
May 24, 2011

okay. not great, not the worst.

The room has good amenities (i.e. krups coffee maker, refrigerator, stove, free wireless, etc.) However the carpet was old and stained. the room is outdated. Some of the towels and pillows were a bit dirty or stained. The bed was comfortable though with the foam mattress. Overall the room uses the space as best as possible and has nice a tv. But be warned, you can hear all the noise from the hallway and the other rooms. For the price, I was expecting something nicer. Next time I will look around for something more modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants, shops, cafes, and bars. Good, safe location. Never needed a car. But I did walk a bit to get to the national mall (20-30 minutes-brisk walk).

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jun Sato
Manhattan New York
Apr 11, 2014

simple and clean

the location is not bad, 5-10 mins of walk to restaurant area. but it seems too costly for the value include the service, location, atmosphere and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Azusa, CA
May 24, 2011

okay. not great, not the worst.

The room has good amenities (i.e. krups coffee maker, refrigerator, stove, free wireless, etc.) However the carpet was old and stained. the room is outdated. Some of the towels and pillows were a bit dirty or stained. The bed was comfortable though with the foam mattress. Overall the room uses the space as best as possible and has nice a tv. But be warned, you can hear all the noise from the hallway and the other rooms. For the price, I was expecting something nicer. Next time I will look around for something more modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants, shops, cafes, and bars. Good, safe location. Never needed a car. But I did walk a bit to get to the national mall (20-30 minutes-brisk walk).

Back to menu Return to top