$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vermont Explorer
Middlebury, Vermont
Jan 18, 2013

An art deco jewel

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Carlyle Suites Hotel. It's tucked away on a quiet street in the midst of the beautiful historic buildings of the Dumont Circle area, yet it's within walking distance of a variety of restaurants, a nice supermarket, the Metro station, and other amenities. Our corner suite with 2 kings was interesting and spacious for an older hotel not built as a modern suites-only hotel, the kitchenette was well-equipped, the granite counter tops throughout were a nice luxe touch, the Temper-pedic mattresses were most welcome after full days of sightseeing on foot, and the environmentally-friendly toiletries were a pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MCJAKE
Business
North Arlington, NJ, USA
Apr 16, 2012

FAMILY WEEKEND

THE HOTEL WAS VERY CLEAN AND STAFF WAS HELPFUL. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THEY SAID THERE WAS PARKING BUT THEIR YARD WAS VERY SMALL. PARKING WAS FIRST COME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

METRO WAS ONLY A COUPLE OF BLOCKS AWAY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea in Winston Salem
Business
Winston Salem, NC
Jul 8, 2012

Great Location, Good Hotel, Mess with Parking!!

We stayed at the Carlyle Suites Hotel for 4 nights during July 2012. Since we didn´t have any references we chose the hotel mainly because location and price, but I´m happy to say that it´s a very good hotel, with nice, clean, big bedrooms, warm staff and, in the case of our suite, usefull amenities such as microwave, fridge and electric stove top! You can tell that is an old hotel with good manteinance and some modern items. The only strong critique we have is regarding parking. Although as they promote, the parking in within the hotel perimeter, with limited spaces and FREE (something very rare in Washington DC) there´s no organization at all when it comes to priorities and available spaces. TThere is no waiting list or possible reserve. You almost have to "fight" with the other visitors for the available spot....if you are at the parking lot at the right time then the space is yours!....we believe they should work to change this.... However the overall experience was positive and we will highly recomend the Carlyle Suites Hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Da Dadada
Business
MASS
Jul 30, 2012

You get what you pay

Overall positive. Renovation was in place. Parking needs to be improved. People are very responsive. Kitchenette is small - no ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oldnasty
Business
Louisville, KY
Aug 2, 2012

Pleasant older hotel , felt safe.

I was pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel. Staff was helpful, although we did have a bit of a wait for towels. The coffee pot in our room also was not working. Actually I would stay here again if we return another time. Proximity to restaurants and attractions was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dahmma
Business
New Orleans, La
Aug 21, 2012

Good room and location

The hotel is located a couple of blocks form Dupont Circle for easy access to the Metro and there are plenty of good restaurants withing walking distance. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff was friendly. Having a small kitchenette was nice for an extended stay though we didn't use it. Everything appeared in working order. The only thing I would warn against is the free parking that is in the listing. They have about 20 spots at the hotel and if you don't get one, you have to park on the street between 6p and 9a or find a meter/parking garage for the day. The parking is first come, first serve and the best advice I was given was to go and check the lot occasionally and hope someone is leaving/has left. As this was one of the main reasons we booked - free parking in DC - we were not pleased. the hotel did apologize and after we checked in had a bottle of wine and other niceties waiting for us in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WDown
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 6, 2012

Nice Hotel on Embassy Row

Nice Art Deco style hotel off Embassy Row in Dupont Circle. Location is a bit farther from the Dupont Circle fountain or Metro stop that was alluded too. Had a kitchenette in the room, but didn't use. Air Conditioning kept room quite cold. Water pressure in the shower was non-existant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cynfis
Business
Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Sep 13, 2012

clean

Our room @ the carlyle was great. we had a suite with lots of room and a very comfortable king bed.The soap was really a neat design however it was really yucky. The soap did not smell nice or even feel very good. The kreurig coffee was not replaced after initial use but the room was immaculate and for DC the price was reasonable. We would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kms55
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 17, 2012

Very friendly staff, average accommodations

The Carlyle Suites was a decent stay in a decent room at a decent (for Washington, DC) price. To be fair, the Carlyle Suites isn't the kind of hotel I usually enjoy, so others may find it better than I did. There were positive aspects - a great location in Dupont Circle, and the friendliest staff that I've experienced in a hotel in a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RMNF
Business
Weston, FL
Oct 13, 2012

Business trip to Washington

Hotel is old and needs freshening up. Nevertheless, it is acceptable for a one night stay as it is the most affordable I could find around Embassy Row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gatopardo
Business
Costa Rica
Oct 23, 2012

Great Family Gateway

Good location, whith parking, perfect for a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top