$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
1731 New Hampshire Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Awesome stay. Excellent Customer Service

Enjoyed an excellent stay, with customer service that went above and beyond my... See full review

  • Chizzy
  • May 31, 2014
great place to stay

First--the rooms are very large by DC standards--and the price is relatively low. An unbeatable... See full review

  • Narada
  • May 2, 2014
Contemporary renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Washington DC
 

Situated within walking distance of many Washington DC attractions, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is also close to DC's Metro Red Line, making navigating the city and surrounding areas very easy. Hotel rooms have modern features and each room is custom designed and decorated to the highest standard. The Carlyle Suites hotel is the ideal hotel for business travelers. A fitness center is also available on site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Perfect location walkable to Washington DC attractions

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room kitchens with microwaves and fridges

  • Complimentary access to the Washington Sports Club, the region's premier health club

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms
 

There is a choice of several guest rooms at the Carlyle Suites Hotel suitable for differing tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from two double beds or one king size bed and a sofa bed. Each room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel contains a full service kitchen complete with refrigerator and microwave for those who prefer to prepare their own snacks and drinks. Cable television and complimentary Wi-Fi is also available in each room. The Grande King room and Grande Guest room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel also offers a generous sized seating area for entertaining or relaxing. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions add to the luxury and in-room gourmet Keurig coffee helps to complete the package. Accessible rooms are available.

Things to Do:
 
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

  • George Washington University (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note special promotional and packages rates may require full pre-payment and may be non-refundable
  • Pets are welcome, free of charge, with the exception of bully breeds


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9133 -77.0396
Area served
Dupont Circle, Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Steet.
Nearby airports
Ronald Regan National Airport (DCA) Dulles International Airport (IAD) Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI).
Area description
Located at 1731 New Hampshire Ave. NW in fashionable Dupont Circle, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is walking distance to the DC Metro (Red Line), the White House and downtown Georgetown. The Carlyle Suites Hotel is also walking distance to Dupont Circle's restaurants, cafe's and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlyle Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms

Grande Double Double Guest Room
Grande Guest Room featuring 2 premium Tempur-Pedic Double beds, some with comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Classic Guest Room
Classic Guest Room featuring 1 or 2 premium Tempur-Pedic double beds or a king bed with comfortable sleeper sofabed, desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Includes 32 inch HD flat screen TV, premium cable television, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Grande King Guest Room
Grande King Guest Room featuring 1 premium Tempur-Pedic King size bed, comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.3 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.4 mi
  • Department of State: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jun Sato
Manhattan New York
Apr 11, 2014

simple and clean

the location is not bad, 5-10 mins of walk to restaurant area. but it seems too costly for the value include the service, location, atmosphere and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CK1234
Business
Northern Virginia
Apr 8, 2014

Nice Hotel

I stayed at The Carlyle for a week while attending a class in DC and it worked out great. The location was within walking distance to Dupont Circle so there were a ton of restaurants/shopping close by. The hotel is small and doesn't have all the bells and whistles as bigger places might but I had no complaints. The staff was very friendly; I valet parked my car and was in and out every day and the attendants were fast and courteous. The room was clean and had everything I needed to be comfy for the week. The kitchen was great for making breakfast. The bed was Tempurpedic and very comfortable. For the cost, I couldn't find a better option in the city and I would definitely return to the The Carlyle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
debjg
Portland OR
Mar 27, 2014

Great room & great location

We loved everything about this room and the location was great for us though some may want to be a bit closer to the action. Only complaint is the average or less than average continental breakfast for a rather steep price. We learned our lesson and picked up breakfast items to keep in our little kitchen. Staff was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Put the Uber app on your smart phone to save a bundle on clean, friendly, prompt cab/car service

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheOatmealRaisin
Miami
Mar 25, 2014

Everything good, nothing great...

Perfect spot for a quick dc getaway. Wouldn't want to stay much longer than that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al Punto
Los Angeles
Mar 24, 2014

Good experience

We stayed for a week, and were very well treated. The staff were helpful all along, especially when we had 4 guests for dinner in our suite. We recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dining at DuPont Circle

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristine585
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 16, 2014

Freindly, convenient, Comfy

I stayed in DC for a conference and am already familiar with this neighborhood. By coincidence the hotel was close to a friend's apartment so I was able to get in a good visit with friends after conference hours. I had not planned on driving, but was snowed out of my flight and decided to drive. The hotel had easy parking and helpful valet service. Simon was very helpful every day Abdu was also helpful the day he was on staff. Every person at the desk was knowledgeable and friendly. I thought the rooms were fresh, clean and comfortable. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Thai and Indian places to eat on 17th and P nearby. Safeway and CVS right around the block. Use your google maps to get directions around the neighborhood.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tech2
virginia
Mar 10, 2014

Great Weekend

Staff was awesome. Location was good, close enough to all the attractions. Room was a little smaller than what we expected, but it was clean and comfy! We stayed for 3 days and had a great weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a mile from most attractions, 2 miles from others.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Royal admirer
Ex Iowa
Mar 1, 2014

I will always stay there

We loved the hotel, great location, awesome room, just the right size, comfortable bed the very best part was the delicious food from room service' two wonderful dinners. Front desk people were helpful, and bellman could not do enough for us. I cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kramer's Bookshas a wonderful restaurant, besides having a Terrific selection of books. I might comeback to Washingtonjust to eat there. Reasonable prices, too

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MM.....
Business
New Jersey
Feb 28, 2014

A bit too residential but good

Good hotel, some old charm, but location very residential...not much nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cr14
Business
Orlando
Feb 27, 2014

Comfy and convenient

I really enjoyed my stay at the Carlyle. The room was spacious. The suite options were quite handy - I used the refrigerator, couch, the toaster, ... as well as the nice bed/shower/... T he restaurant was friendly and quick for a short visit on my travel up day. It was an easy walk to the Metro for access to DC, and a shorter walk to the grocery store. I have previously stayed with friends while visiting DC - I now prefer the convenience of the Carlyle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get supplies for a week of breakfast at the grocery store down the street!

Back to menu Return to top