$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joey Bones
Business
Boston
Oct 1, 2013

Carlyle Suites

Came here for a quick one night stay. The staff was very courteous, room was clean and check in/out was quick. I wasn't there as a tourist but it seemed like a great spot for people taking in the DC sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peregrin and Cherryberry
Business
Seattle
Oct 4, 2013

Friendly staff and Good location

PRO: This Art Deco styled hotel is about a ten minute walk from Dupont Circle, so easy access to Washington's metro system. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. The suites are spacious and comfortable. Our room had a couch and table right next to the kitchenette. CON: You can hear a bit of room and hall noise through the walls, but not too bad. Also, our kitchenette had a not very functional toaster--small stuff, but could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't want to eat out every night, there is a Safeway grocery a block or so away. It's a walking friendly neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Des Moines traveller
Business
Des Moines
Nov 20, 2013

Carlyle Suites Hotel Washington Dupont Circle

The Carlyle was a great find in a quiet neighborhood about a 10 minute walk northeast of Dupont Circle. It's a safe neighborhood with several embassies nearby. It's an older but nicely renovated hotel. Staff was friendly and upgraded me to a larger room (without charge and without my asking). The bathroom was nicely decorated but a bit small for some (not for me). My only complaint - on a cool November evening, the room was hot despite turning off the furnace. I was able to open the window for some fresh air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prosports NFL
Business
kingston brook shoper
Dec 15, 2013

A Special place, comfortable, details, location.

The location is the best-safe, walkable to metro, food, etc. On embassy row so its a high end area where brown stones are 1 mil and up. Detail- the rooms are logically situated and the hotel has a pizzazz factor about it. The only downer was when one of the staff thought he would "educate" me on how to say good morning when I merely said "hello." He thought to run me through a drill of, "good morning, how are you, pleasant day and on and on, and on," before he would help me with an umbrella when I was rushing to work in a rain storm. It was after that experience that I checked out after spending over one thousand dollars there. I think he thought he was paying me to work there........bad attitude. Customers pay him to be there, not the other way around. Other than him, the rest of the staff was just right and for that I gave a four star rating. It should have been a five star since the hotel is much cooler than the standard chain hotels especially for the price you pay but it''s hard to shake being belittled and put down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store down the street is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarM04
Business
NYC
Dec 21, 2013

Good location & value

For a short stay, I'd recommend the Carlyle. I booked a night at the Carlyle for my parents for a short weekend stay. The location is not far from the metro, restaurants, coffee shops and even some decent nightlife. In comparison to the other surrounding hotels, the Carlyle is a good option for the location and value. The elevators are very tiny though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must try Floriana! Great Duck dish and pasta dishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World traveler for fun
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 31, 2014

Amazing family stay

I stayed in the hotel with my whole family during a vacation, we all had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chiquitita
Business
Santiago, Chile
May 25, 2014

Carlile

The experience at Carlile suites,was great. The location was very good, the staff was very candly and efficient. The room was confortable and clean. The valet parking was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fiola Mare restaurant 3100 K Street NW Washington DC,DC 20007

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pickey traveler
Business
Clearwater, FL, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Sightseeing and family visit

We chose the Carlyle Hotel based on reviews and price. It was very good and pretty much as described by others. Comfy beds and linens were excellent. Each room has a kitchenette, with microwave, refrigerator,coffeemaker and 2 burner stove-top. (but who wants to cook on vacation??) The carpet wasn't bad but could use updating. I think this is because pets are allowed. No smell in our room, but I saw one or two stains. The location was excellent with easy access to the Metro, and nearby restaurants, bars, and even a grocery store. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Afterhours cafe near Dupont Circle was excellent. We ate both breakfast and lunch there and enjoyed their omlets, and crabcakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
unity
Business
connecticut
Sep 13, 2011

comfortable long weekend

great place to stay - excellent location - clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slim Jr
Business
Virginia Beach
Sep 29, 2011

sumptuous not pretentious

This was a surprise in the neighborhood. In a period when Congress was in full swing and everything else skyrocketed this was a relative value. Great staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top