$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
1731 New Hampshire Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
184 reviews
Awesome stay. Excellent Customer Service

Enjoyed an excellent stay, with customer service that went above and beyond my... See full review

  • Chizzy
  • May 31, 2014
great place to stay

First--the rooms are very large by DC standards--and the price is relatively low. An unbeatable... See full review

  • Narada
  • May 2, 2014
Contemporary renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Washington DC
 

Situated within walking distance of many Washington DC attractions, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is also close to DC's Metro Red Line, making navigating the city and surrounding areas very easy. Hotel rooms have modern features and each room is custom designed and decorated to the highest standard. The Carlyle Suites hotel is the ideal hotel for business travelers. A fitness center is also available on site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Perfect location walkable to Washington DC attractions

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room kitchens with microwaves and fridges

  • On-site fitness centre

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms
 

There is a choice of several guest rooms at the Carlyle Suites Hotel suitable for differing tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from two double beds or one king size bed and a sofa bed. Each room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel contains a full service kitchen complete with refrigerator and microwave for those who prefer to prepare their own snacks and drinks. Cable television and complimentary Wi-Fi is also available in each room. The Grande King room and Grande Guest room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel also offers a generous sized seating area for entertaining or relaxing. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions add to the luxury and in-room gourmet Keurig coffee helps to complete the package. Accessible rooms are available.

Things to Do:
 
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

  • George Washington University (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note special promotional and packages rates may require full pre-payment and may be non-refundable
  • Pets are welcome, free of charge, with the exception of bully breeds


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9133 -77.0396
Area served
Dupont Circle, Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Steet.
Nearby airports
Ronald Regan National Airport (DCA) Dulles International Airport (IAD) Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI).
Area description
Located at 1731 New Hampshire Ave. NW in fashionable Dupont Circle, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is walking distance to the DC Metro (Red Line), the White House and downtown Georgetown. The Carlyle Suites Hotel is also walking distance to Dupont Circle's restaurants, cafe's and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlyle Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms

Grande Double Double Guest Room
Grande Guest Room featuring 2 premium Tempur-Pedic Double beds, some with comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Classic Guest Room
Classic Guest Room featuring 1 or 2 premium Tempur-Pedic double beds or a king bed with comfortable sleeper sofabed, desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Includes 32 inch HD flat screen TV, premium cable television, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Grande King Guest Room
Grande King Guest Room featuring 1 premium Tempur-Pedic King size bed, comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.3 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.4 mi
  • Department of State: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stogie 12
Business
SC
Feb 28, 2013

Business

Very nice boutique hotel with free parking, although limited space easy access behind hotel. Just down the street from DuPont Cir. Good staff, bar, food, and close to neighborhood restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask recommendations at desk

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annagal
Macomb, IL
Aug 2, 2012

Great Home Away from Home

I traveled with my 3 kids and we were comfortable here in our spacious room. The staff is very friendly and helpful. After an exhausting day walking around the city, they met us at the door saying "Welcome home!" with a big smile, and handing us cold bottles of water to drink. In 90+ temperatures, this was great! The beds are comfortable, and we especially liked the dressing room with the vanity, bench seat, & mirrors located outside the bathroom because it facilitated our getting ready on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Safeway food store located about 3 blocks away where you can pick up snacks and breakfast items to keep in the kitchenette. Eating breakfast in was a savings to us, and easily accomplished.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oldnasty
Louisville, KY
Aug 2, 2012

Pleasant older hotel , felt safe.

I was pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel. Staff was helpful, although we did have a bit of a wait for towels. The coffee pot in our room also was not working. Actually I would stay here again if we return another time. Proximity to restaurants and attractions was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FAMILY TRIP LOVE
ELMWOOD PARK, NJ
Jul 31, 2012

amazing family getaway

My family loved to stay in it !! Good locations, close to metro, close to good restaurants. Pleasant services !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Conference Attendee
Business
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2012

Great value, great location

Fantastic, helpful staff. Clean and very comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Emtpynester
Midwest, USA
Jul 30, 2012

Very Nice Art Deco hotel, close to downtown DC

This was our first visit to DC and the Carlyle was a perfect location from which to schedule our day trips. The Carlyle is not close to a Metro station, but with my husband's health issues we would have taken a taxi to all our destinations anyway. We had wonderfully attentive staff and appreciated their greeting of "Welcome Home" when we came back to the hotel for the evening. The buffet breakfast was super and a daily newspaper was available to keep up with the news. We loved the suite. It was tastefully decorated. Had a big screen TV for my husband, and the bathroom shower was heaven for me after a busy day sightseeing! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We were not disappointed. The ONLY drawback is a lack of parking for hotel patrons. When they say "limited availability" they aren't kidding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get to the Carlyle first thing to claim your parking spot. If you don't find a space in back of the hotel, you are going to struggle to find a parking space in this area and may have to walk for a long distance back to hotel, once you do find a space to park.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Da Dadada
MASS
Jul 30, 2012

You get what you pay

Overall positive. Renovation was in place. Parking needs to be improved. People are very responsive. Kitchenette is small - no ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
former austin chica
houston
Jul 27, 2012

dc exploration

The hotel was very nice and in a great location,not too far from the subway but in a nice residential area but there are still several restaurants in the area. The room was a bit smaller than expected but ok for 1 person. Having the kitchenette was a great plus. Bring those walking shoes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summer in DC
DC
Jul 27, 2012

Stay @ DC

Hotel was good, at central location. We liked it! Hotel staff was good and knowledgeable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good hotels around the area...

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherri W.
Geneva, Illinois
Jul 21, 2012

Under the radar gem!

Staff was very friendly, rooms were spacious and clean. Located in a great area---lots of great restaurants, and culture. Close to Metro for easy transportation to local sites. Grocery store close by. Beautiful, safe neighborhood! Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro! Great way to get around the city! Dupont Circle Station is a few blocks from hotel.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kikoface
Madison, WI
Jul 21, 2012

Family DC Trip

Staff was superb. They made sure we enjoyed our stay and helped us understand the metro system. Room was very spacious with kitchenette, which is great for families and groceries. Location was wonderful and very close to Dupont Circle for any restaurant, pharmacy, metro stop you needed. Negative point is LACK OF PARKING! They say they have 24 spots with first come-first serve basis. I don't know where they could be since buildings are so close and street spots fill up right away. Plan on paying $25 a day for parking ramp located two blocks away. But we had a Silverado truck and the attendant wouldn't let my husband park it...attendant scratched one of the mirrors and told my husband he hoped he wasn't coming back with the truck again because he didn't want it there. For being so close to all the other buildings and right on busy street leading into Dupont Circle, though, we were never bothered by any noise and beds were very comfortable. We would stay again when in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother with the buses...ride the train. It is so quick. Our 14-year old mastered it and I loved how it eliminated the hassles with no traffic delays. We came to DC and parked and never drove again until we left the city. Buy a SuperSaver Card which comes with $5 on it. We added another $10 to each of our cards and after three days we had only .05 left on each when we were done. You save money with each trip using that card vs. a paper ticket.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search