$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
364 reviews
Great room!

Great room centrally located, ideal for out of towners looking to party in DC!!! See full review

  • Personal Trainer
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice Hotel

Spacious and clean room. Hotel needs café to be open Morning and afternoon See full review

  • Lau25
  • May 3, 2014
Friendly and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Washington DC
The independently owned and operated Capitol Skyline Hotel offers everything a guest could need for a relaxing stay. Located close to the attractions that Washington DC has to offer, Capitol Skyline Hotel also has an onsite restaurant serving classic American meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free wireless Internet connection is available. A free shuttle service takes Capitol Skyline Hotel guests to the downtown area and local metro stations. Business guests also find space for up to 500 people in the banqueting hall as well as meeting rooms.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideal for location near downtown Washington DC and area attractions
  • Free shuttle service
  • Onsite restaurant, seasonal pool and friendly staff help guests feel at home
Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms
Capitol Skyline Hotel offers a range of room styles for guests to enjoy. Each room has two double beds, a spacious sitting area and a workstation - ideal for business guests. Enjoy views overlooking the outdoor pool, the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington DC. Complimentary Internet access is available in each room at the Capital Skyline hotel. Accessible rooms are available. A concierge is also on hand at the Capital Skyline hotel to assist guests with their individual needs. Room service is also available.
Things to Do:
  • Korean War Memorial (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of American History (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • White House (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery/Tomb of the Unknowns (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Washington Monument (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Pentagon (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Washington Redskins/FedEx Field (12 mi/19.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Self parking available at $25 USD plus tax per night.
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 USD per night payable directly at the hotel.
  • No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.879 -77.0098
Area served
Washington, DC
Nearby airports
Conveniently located just 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.Washington Dulles International Airport-34 Miles Baltimore Washington International Airport-33 Miles
Area description
The Capitol Skyline Hotel is conveniently located in downtown Washington, DC only a few blocks away from the United States Capitol, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution Museums, the Library of Congress, the Supreme Court, and the new Washington Nationals Stadium. Close to Washington Monument, the National Gallery of Art, Ft. McNair, Bolling Air Force Base, and the White House, the Capitol Skyline Hotel is the perfect choice of Washington DC hotels. The Capitol Skyline Hotel is easily accessed from the Navy Yard Metro and Interstates 95, 295, 395 and 495, is 1 mile or 5 Metro stops from the Washington Convention Center and 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (364)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
364 out of 364
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adventurous getaway
Massachusetts
Nov 25, 2013

spontaneous birthday getaway

The hotel is a little scary looking on the outside, but once you walk in, it's very nice. It was quiet and the room was nice. I slept like a baby because Of the comfort, awesome! The car garage is very private and indoors, that was great. Online I read it was free parking. It's not, but the other hotels nearby want 48 to 60 for parking, so 25 wasn't bad at all. I also loved that checkout was at 12 and not 11 like some other places. It was 15 minutes away from every where I needed to be. I'm definitely going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

My friends ans me went to The Park on 14th St. It's a really classy club. We also went to the flea market on 7th St. and then ate at This little Mexican restaurant near it. Good food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JanetP1
Business
Portand,OR
Nov 21, 2013

Good Hotel for Capitol Visit

This hotel had friendly staff, comfortable spacious room with desk, and large flat screen TV. My heater didn't work as well as I would like. No coffee makers in the rooms or in the lobby-had to wait for the restaurant to open, and then the shuttle driver would not allow coffee with lid in the shuttle van. The free shuttle to major locations in the capital was of great value. I recommend this hotel. *The hotel computer/printer for boarding passes did not work the entire 3 days I was there, however, the helpful night clerk was printing them out for people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MegBK
Business
Brooklyn
Nov 20, 2013

Fine for the price

The place was fine, nothing special. Sort of close to the metro. The staff in general were healpful except for one staff with attitude in the morning who also sent me in the wrond direction via metro before moy morning meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Nope
DC
Nov 19, 2013

Vandalized

This was actually my FAVORITE hotel as a true Waahingtonian until this two day stay! This was actually my second 2 night 3 day stay in 2 weeks and I will never stay again. The driver side window on my car was shattered completely in during my stay in a "secured" parking garage at the hotel where I'm paying $25 a night. The way the GM Jeff Ragonese handled me was completely out of line. The entrance from the hotel to the garage supposed to have been a secured entry but was not, as the lock didn't catch and a piece of plastic was stuffed in the lock jam.. There were NO security cameras in the garage that caught a whiff of anything, if there even are cameras. All Jeff did was have a maid clean my glass up and shoved me away. I got no accommodations for further nights, I wasn't reimbursed for the cost of my window, although I was reimbursed for my stay that I won't receive for 10 days. As I quote Mr. Jeff Ragonese," I don't want to give you anything, the only reason I am giving you your stay back is because I know your boss at your place of work!" I have never felt so humiliated in my life. And to top things off, I STILL was made to come out of pocket to pay for my garage rental after my vehicle was vandalized. NOT A CUSTOMER FRIENDLY PLACE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fauzer
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Nov 17, 2013

Capitol-Washington

Good, but first room smelling cigarette. Terriblr. Than I changed the room and it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Good travel agency in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alexcp1971
Bogota, Colombia
Nov 17, 2013

Everything you could need for a BnB in DC

Everything you could need for a BnB in DC The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The air conditioning was a Little bit noisy and upholstery of the sofa, it looks a little worn. The restaurant menu is limited in choices. The neighborhood is lonely at night which makes it not very safe walking to get to the hotel from the subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juan Carlos Monroe
miami
Nov 17, 2013

staff needs impovement

My experience at the Capitol Skyline Hotel was a little below my expectations. First, I was not able to have a one hour late check out. Keep in mind this was in the middle of the week, no holiday. The front desk person just said "No", no indication that she would check with someone or any other accommodation. Also, front staff needs to know the DC area a little better. I asked for directions to the Navy Yard and was given the wrong directions. I also had a problem with the front desk person getting a taxi, it took over 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Byby1
New York
Nov 15, 2013

Great Hotel

The only issue i have is the paid parking fo $25 + tax. Besides that, the service was awesome. The room was super clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gary Pelser
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Nov 15, 2013

Don't bother pay $10 more and stay at another hotel

Rubbish service, lies on the info. Nothing is included except for extremely slow wifi. Free shuttle only up to 10am! Staff are terrible! No breakfast included. Rather pay $10 and stay in a clean place. One ice machine for entire hotel and dirty rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelHound24
Massachusetts
Nov 12, 2013

Nice comfortable stay, with a few drawbacks

I stayed here for a week after getting a great deal through this site. I needed a temporary place to stay while in the process of relocating to DC and looking for other housing. The hotel was a bit out of the way from the main attractions of DC, but in walking distance to a Metro station and bus stops. The room was spacious and clean. There was no refrigerator, coffee maker, or microwave. So, don't expect to bring back any leftovers. At best, you can ask to borrow a coffee maker, but they'll charge you $10 for the length of your stay. I was able to get hot water from the restaurant in the mornings for making oatmeal and tea in my room. Speaking of the restaurant, I ate the breakfast buffet there on three mornings. The food was of good quality, but could have used a bit more variety. For instance, some fresh sliced fruit would have been nice. The "all you can eat" buffet price was $10, so a bit less than I expected based on other reviews. Perhaps that's their off-season rate. I requested a room on the top floor and found it to be pleasant and quiet overall. There was a safe in the room large enough for a laptop and a desk with comfortable chair. I was on the side away from the Capitol building, so not much of a view, but I was more concerned about noise than view. The heating unit was a bit tricky in terms of getting the temperature where you wanted it. Being on the top floor, the sun seemed to keep the room rather warm during the day. On a windy day, the windows made a howling noise, which was a bit annoying. Housekeeping was good about leaving you alone if you kept the "do not disturb" sign up, but you could hear them going down the halls starting around 9 a.m. knocking and yelling "housekeeping!" The worst part of the stay was the Internet access. While it seemed to be working well during the first couple days of my stay, it became painfully slow for the remainder. I reported the problem to the front desk on two occasions, but the situation never improved. If you need reliable Internet for business use, don't stay here. Also, the "complimentary shuttle service" is very limited, offering drop-offs only in for a couple hours in the morning and late afternoon to a set number of locations. They would not pick me up from the nearby Union Station either, so I had to get a taxi, which was cheap enough given the short distance. It's a bit misleading from their web site and other information which led me to believe they'll shuttle you anywhere within a certain distance of the hotel upon request. Though, as I mentioned above, public transportation access is close by. Coming back at night, I would usually take the bus to the SW M St & SW Howison Pl, which provided a shorter walk back to the hotel than the Metro stop. The walk also went by a fire station and felt fairly safe. Overall, a nice place to stay if you're looking for something a bit more upscale than the cheaper hotels around and definitely worth it if you can get on a deal / discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Justin's Cafe was a short walk from the hotel and provided tasty food options. They were also able to accommodate a vegan diet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top