$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
430 reviews
Really Great Deal

Definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a reasonably priced DC hotel. The service was good,... See full review

  • Matthew G.
  • May 3, 2015
Enjoyed My Stay

The proximity to where I wanted to go and the location of the hotel was perfect. The rooms were... See full review

  • Tiya
  • Mar 10, 2015
Friendly and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Washington DC
The independently owned and operated Capitol Skyline Hotel offers everything a guest could need for a relaxing stay. Located close to the attractions that Washington DC has to offer, Capitol Skyline Hotel also has an onsite restaurant serving classic American meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free wireless Internet connection is available. A free shuttle service takes Capitol Skyline Hotel guests to the downtown area and local metro stations. Business guests also find space for up to 500 people in the banqueting hall as well as meeting rooms.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideal for location near downtown Washington DC and area attractions
  • Free shuttle service
  • Onsite restaurant, seasonal pool and friendly staff help guests feel at home
Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms
Capitol Skyline Hotel offers a range of room styles for guests to enjoy. Each room has two double beds, a spacious sitting area and a workstation - ideal for business guests. Enjoy views overlooking the outdoor pool, the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington DC. Complimentary Internet access is available in each room at the Capital Skyline hotel. Accessible rooms are available. A concierge is also on hand at the Capital Skyline hotel to assist guests with their individual needs. Room service is also available.
Things to Do:
  • Korean War Memorial (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of American History (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • White House (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery/Tomb of the Unknowns (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Washington Monument (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Pentagon (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Washington Redskins/FedEx Field (12 mi/19.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Self parking available at $25 USD plus tax per night.
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 USD per night payable directly at the hotel.
  • No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 430
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fletch6350
Business
Missouri
Mar 10, 2014

Think twice before staying here

First off the room was dirty, long black hairs on the comforter. Only 7 channels to choose from all in standard definition. Sirens at all time of the night will keep you up. And after checking out I was charged for 6 night of parking when I was dropped off in a taxi was told it would take 5-10 days to get back the $200 they took from my account. Will never recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the metro 4 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rinkuusa
Business
Lawrence, KS
Nov 21, 2012

Worst Hotel ever

This was the worst hotel ever I have stayed in. Nobody was concerned about the comfort of the customer. The room temperature was extremely hot and the thermostat was not working. I called the front desk twice to fix the temperature, but nobody cared and I had to spend a sleepless night. Worst Hotel ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
johnyg
Business
Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Apr 22, 2012

mediocre at best

The hotel staff did not give me the kind of room I'd signed up for and I had to convince them of my free parking pass. Didn't have great room, smelled bad. Didn't have promised amenities. And most of all, while it is close to the capital, it isn't in easy walking distance of most of downtown dc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LYNN KITTY LOVER
Business
LAS VEGAS NV
Apr 23, 2013

JUST ONE NIGHT

Because of a travel mix up I needed to hotel room for just 1 night. I was previously at the Grand Hyatt. D.C. hotels are very expensive, but I lucked up on $98.00 rate, including all taxes. The reviews for the Capitol Skyline were mixed, but I decided cost outweighed skepticism. It's a older hotel and surly can use a bit of sprucing up. I had a great view of the Capitol Building. But the sliding doors were missing from the closet, the alarm clock was broken, (glad I had my own) as was the tv remote, and there was no ice machine on my floor. My foremost concern however, was the $45.00 bar tab that was charged to my room the night I checked in. I informed the front desk and restaurant managers that this was NOT my charge, I only had the breakfast buffet and HAD PAID CASH. Since my transportation to the airport had arrived, I left with their assurance that they would address the matter and my credit card would not be charged. They lived up to their word. I know mistakes can happen, just double check your bill when you check out! All-in-all for overnight it was not bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I didn't use it, but from my 5th floor window I would see the McDonalds in the next block across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sciencegrad traveler
Business
New Haven, CT
Nov 9, 2013

You get what you pay for

I booked this hotel at the last second because my original reservation didn't go through and the deal I got seemed too good to be true. While I should have done more research into the location myself, it is not in the best part of DC, though it seems to be getting gentrified it is still abandoned at night, so while it is pretty close to the Metro, I would cab it if you're arriving late and have a lot of valuables on you. It was clean but is a bit run down, the floor of the tub was peeling in my room and even though I booked a room with a queen bed I got one with 2 twin beds. I will have to say I probably wouldn't have bothered really writing a review at all if it hadn't been for the fact that the first night I was there someone was able to open my hotel room at 4AM. Whoever it was apologized and left but that was really not ok, one it woke me up at 4 am, two the hotel staff didn't really seem to know what had happened the next day, I locked the door with the latch after that. I was also annoyed that the hotel staff didn't seem all that concerned about it, although they did deactivate my key and reactivated new ones. If all you want is a cheap bed for the night this will do but don't expect anything beyond that and make sure to lock the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juan Carlos Monroe
Business
miami
Nov 17, 2013

staff needs impovement

My experience at the Capitol Skyline Hotel was a little below my expectations. First, I was not able to have a one hour late check out. Keep in mind this was in the middle of the week, no holiday. The front desk person just said "No", no indication that she would check with someone or any other accommodation. Also, front staff needs to know the DC area a little better. I asked for directions to the Navy Yard and was given the wrong directions. I also had a problem with the front desk person getting a taxi, it took over 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 30, 2009

Something Lacking

Older building, beginning to deteriorate. Not within easy walking distance to the usual Capital Hill locations, though close enough to the ballpark. Missing amenities like a coffee maker or refrigerator in your room, or free continental breakfast. Room wasn't ready when I arrived, though I booked it a month earlier, and the staff was not especially helpful or knowledgable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lea9
Business
North Carolina, USA
Jan 1, 2012

It was ok

The internet was down half the time (or really slow), the staff service is spotty (sometimes they are nice, sometimes less so), breakfast was so-so though the fresh yoghurt was nice. However, rooms are clean and comfortable, and amenities alright. Location will not be too good for those who like a more central locale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casual Traveling Student
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Great hotel...but a really poor location.

The experience at this hotel was a mixed bag. I had read some other reviews online, but none of them prepared me for the location that this hotel was situated in. It was at the outskirts of a very rough neighborhood, (one day I had to take a detour around the scene of a homicide that happened two blocks up the street). I did not feel comfortable going outside of this hotel at night, as all of the surrounding buildings had bars on every window and there were virtually no streetlights. The hotel itself was fine, the room was very clean, and the bed was nice and comfortable. The cable selection was limited, but it was a nice flatscreen with HBO and ESPN so no complaints there. The Restaurant was overpriced and the bar selection was limited to beer, wine, and soda. I ate two meals there, and the food was very bland and the wines were not worth the price paid. All in all, it was a very nice room, and during the day the location was fine and pleasant, but especially if you are traveling alone or with small children, I would be very careful walking around this hotel's neighborhood after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rbee
Business
dc
Feb 7, 2013

chill

it was cool i relaxed bed was soft and it takes more words to accaep than too describe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top