$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chemgrl08
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Good for young adults, maybe not families

This place is ok- not fantastic, but I'd stay there again for the good price we got. Located close to the Capitol building (we could see it from our room,) its easy to walk downtown or hop on the metro after a short walk, so you don't need a car... But that's the only good thing about the location. Its right on the border of the "good" and "bad" sides of town, and the only place to eat nearby is a McDonald's across the road. If you go in winter, it gets dark early so be prepared to walk in the dark to someplace for dinner. That said, the room was clean and comfortable, which I appreciate, but the wifi (listed as free) was shoddy at best, and there was no evening restaurant as advertised. This would be a good place for young adults like myself to stay (in a group,) because the price is reasonable, but I wouldn't recommend it for families, teens, or older folks. I was a little on edge walking home everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a metro station that can save you a bundle on rental car fees. Its a short walk, but may be too far to walk with young children. Parking is also a big cost, so its better to use public transit to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lea9
Business
North Carolina, USA
Jan 1, 2012

It was ok

The internet was down half the time (or really slow), the staff service is spotty (sometimes they are nice, sometimes less so), breakfast was so-so though the fresh yoghurt was nice. However, rooms are clean and comfortable, and amenities alright. Location will not be too good for those who like a more central locale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GLDT
Business
Staten Island, NY, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Great option for the money

When we needed a place for some of the family to stay, because of lack of space in the house, we found this hotel. For us it was perfect. The staff was very personable and the hotel was clean and the breakfast was as good as the breakfast that was served in the more expensive hotel that some of the other guests stayed at. I would stay here if I needed a place to stay when I come for a visit with the family. We parked near the house and ferried our family member back and forth to the hotel. The parking fee was less than other hotels but we still avoided paying it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Telly
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Hotel was great! Parking was a bit much!! Would def stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use public transportation!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBar
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Capital Skyline Hotel

It was ok. A little noisy at night. Where I'm from, they don't charge $25 extra a night for parking, Also the continental breakfast was below par. Definitely not worth the price of $14 for powdered eggs. Thankfully it was free and Mcdonalds was across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have a car, park it 2 blocks north for $8 a night and plan on going out for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1983
Business
NJ
Feb 20, 2012

Not bad for it's price

Location is good. Hotel staff should spend a little bit more time cleaning up the rooms. This hotel has known better times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

15 minutes walk from Capitol

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skip of the Inland Empire
Business
San Bernardino, CA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Close and affordable

This is great for the traveler that doesn't spend a lot of time in the hotel room. It was close to the Metro station which gave me access to all the important parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want tours of the White House and other government buildings, contact your congress person well in advance. You'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Windy disappointment
Business
Lexington, MA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Mixed bag

Comfortable room with a very comfortable bed. However, the window in the room had broken some time earlier and had been repaired without replacing the broken parts. The patchwork repair included duct tape. Unfortunately for me there was a windy night and the the window howled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
swartsman
Business
Mississippi
Apr 8, 2012

DC Vacation

The hotel was nice. Close to downtown, but not downtown. Close to a Metro station, but not close to restaurants. A little older hotel, but everything was clean. The A/C didn't work as well as it should. The Manager was great - very helpful. The hotel restaurant didn't have a lot of choices on the menu, but their food was fantastic. The only way to get to the airport from the hotel is by taxi - no airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casual Traveling Student
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Great hotel...but a really poor location.

The experience at this hotel was a mixed bag. I had read some other reviews online, but none of them prepared me for the location that this hotel was situated in. It was at the outskirts of a very rough neighborhood, (one day I had to take a detour around the scene of a homicide that happened two blocks up the street). I did not feel comfortable going outside of this hotel at night, as all of the surrounding buildings had bars on every window and there were virtually no streetlights. The hotel itself was fine, the room was very clean, and the bed was nice and comfortable. The cable selection was limited, but it was a nice flatscreen with HBO and ESPN so no complaints there. The Restaurant was overpriced and the bar selection was limited to beer, wine, and soda. I ate two meals there, and the food was very bland and the wines were not worth the price paid. All in all, it was a very nice room, and during the day the location was fine and pleasant, but especially if you are traveling alone or with small children, I would be very careful walking around this hotel's neighborhood after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top