$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
404 reviews
Great room!

Great room centrally located, ideal for out of towners looking to party in DC!!! See full review

  • Personal Trainer
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice Hotel

Spacious and clean room. Hotel needs café to be open Morning and afternoon See full review

  • Lau25
  • May 3, 2014
Friendly and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Washington DC
The independently owned and operated Capitol Skyline Hotel offers everything a guest could need for a relaxing stay. Located close to the attractions that Washington DC has to offer, Capitol Skyline Hotel also has an onsite restaurant serving classic American meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free wireless Internet connection is available. A free shuttle service takes Capitol Skyline Hotel guests to the downtown area and local metro stations. Business guests also find space for up to 500 people in the banqueting hall as well as meeting rooms.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideal for location near downtown Washington DC and area attractions
  • Free shuttle service
  • Onsite restaurant, seasonal pool and friendly staff help guests feel at home
Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms
Capitol Skyline Hotel offers a range of room styles for guests to enjoy. Each room has two double beds, a spacious sitting area and a workstation – ideal for business guests. Enjoy views overlooking the outdoor pool, the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington DC. Complimentary Internet access is available in each room at the Capital Skyline hotel. Accessible rooms are available. A concierge is also on hand at the Capital Skyline hotel to assist guests with their individual needs. Room service is also available.
Things to Do:
  • Korean War Memorial (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of American History (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • White House (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery/Tomb of the Unknowns (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Washington Monument (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Pentagon (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Washington Redskins/FedEx Field (12 mi/19.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Self parking available at $25 USD per night
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 per night payable directly at the hotel
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.879 -77.0098
Area served
Washington, DC
Nearby airports
Conveniently located just 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.Washington Dulles International Airport-34 Miles Baltimore Washington International Airport-33 Miles
Area description
The Capitol Skyline Hotel is conveniently located in downtown Washington, DC only a few blocks away from the United States Capitol, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution Museums, the Library of Congress, the Supreme Court, and the new Washington Nationals Stadium. Close to Washington Monument, the National Gallery of Art, Ft. McNair, Bolling Air Force Base, and the White House, the Capitol Skyline Hotel is the perfect choice of Washington DC hotels. The Capitol Skyline Hotel is easily accessed from the Navy Yard Metro and Interstates 95, 295, 395 and 495, is 1 mile or 5 Metro stops from the Washington Convention Center and 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (404)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
BELLEVILLE, MI.
Sep 27, 2009

Just my opinion...

THE ROOM WAS CLEAN AND MADE UP DAILY. IT IS VERY NOISEY DUE TO A POLICE STATION 2 BLKS AWAY. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY BUT THE RESTAURANT WAS UNDER STAFFED AND VERY OVERPRICED FOR THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD. THIS IS THE ONLY HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN THAT DIDN'T HAVE A COFFEE MAKER IN THE ROOM. IF ALL YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IS A PLACE TO SLEEP, THIS PLACE ISN'T TOO BAD BUT THERE IS NOTHING ELSE TO RECOMMEND IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, Ohio
Mar 27, 2011

It was as advertised!

No surprises, and that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
washing dc
May 3, 2011

fun time

people very freierrible wifielpful, tndly and h

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, Ohio
Mar 27, 2011

It was as advertised!

No surprises, and that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bulbul
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Jan 25, 2013

capitol in the capitol

hotel was ok, free wifi, location is good, you can walk to capitol, but neighbor hood is not nice. staff is friendly. bed was curved in the middle, needs to improve on the matress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

hotel is near capitol building and all those museums. also have free shutle, pick up and drop, which can save you time and money with kids.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MichB
Business
New York, NY
Feb 22, 2013

Great until the Bed Bugs

I was very pleased about the location of this hotel as well as the price. I stayed here for 2 nights, and it wasn't until after night number 1 that I realized there were beg bugs and I was bitten several times. These bugs were in the adult stages of their life so that means they have been there a while. I brought this to the manager's attention and all he said was I know, and moved me to another room. They need to handle this situation ASAP, and shouldn't allow people to stay there knowing they have bed bugs. If you can avoid this hotel all together do so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lancaster, Pa
Jul 11, 2011

Terrible Service

I am going to any site I can find to write a review. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! Me and my two friends visited for a relaxing July 4th weekend. We were completely unaware that the pool was a "party" pool, and because of our age were treated awful. The front desk was not helpful and at times very rude. We did not feel like welcomed hotel guests. Early one morning someone knocked on our door (when the do not distrub sign was out) and asked if we were leaving that day. We were not scheduled to leave for two more days. The hotel itself was great location and the room was comfortable, beside the cockroach in the bathroom. We will not return because of the awful customer service. Also, our credit card was charged an extra $150.. that we did not spend, we are now working with the bank to have it removed. Customer service claimed they did not charge it, but we have documented proof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Oct 13, 2009

Shabby

First thing after checking in, we parked the car in the underground garage were we noticed a few people loitering. Our floor smelled like 100 people had just smoked cigarettes, which is odd as there is a no smoking policy. The pictures the hotel provides make the hotel seem a lot nicer than it is. It is a dump with some paint, and stupid lobby furniture. You can walk to the Capitol (if you dont mind walking under some deserted areas under highways) which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baseball visitor
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 2, 2010

DC Downer

My friends and I were in DC for a Nationals game and BARELY made it. We arrived at the hotel at 2:30 and weren't able to check in until well after 4. No rooms were ready and come 4, there was a check-in line that was literally 100 people long. Then there was a wait for the elevators. Hotel was in a great location to get to the game, but that was about it. Lots of complaining from the guests. And to make it even worse, the hotel charged $25 a night to park along with being taxed. Hotel bar wasn't open past 11 on a sold out Saturday night. The only good thing about this hotel was how close it was to the park. Wouldn't recommend staying there unless that is your sole purpose of being in DC. And plan on the check-in wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

As far as we could tell, there was no nightlife anywhere close. Hotel bar was the only thing within walking distance and that closed at 11--on a Saturday!

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marcus Thomas
Dallas
Nov 28, 2011

disapointing

Arrived the day after Thanksgiving for one night. We found out the suttle service is very limited to certain spots in the morning and after 12:00 noon it only goes to eating establishments....not good! Our room was hot even after the air was put on, one of the shades was broken....ice machines are located in the basement, not on every floor....etc. What was also disapointing was the description of "renovated" and the 3 star rating.........clearly it is not 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Plan on taking the "Metro" and walk to a stop. Do not believe, "oh there is parking on the streets". The parking in D.C. is HORRABLE!

Back to menu Return to top