$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
404 reviews
Great room!

Great room centrally located, ideal for out of towners looking to party in DC!!! See full review

  • Personal Trainer
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice Hotel

Spacious and clean room. Hotel needs café to be open Morning and afternoon See full review

  • Lau25
  • May 3, 2014
Friendly and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Washington DC
The independently owned and operated Capitol Skyline Hotel offers everything a guest could need for a relaxing stay. Located close to the attractions that Washington DC has to offer, Capitol Skyline Hotel also has an onsite restaurant serving classic American meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free wireless Internet connection is available. A free shuttle service takes Capitol Skyline Hotel guests to the downtown area and local metro stations. Business guests also find space for up to 500 people in the banqueting hall as well as meeting rooms.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideal for location near downtown Washington DC and area attractions
  • Free shuttle service
  • Onsite restaurant, seasonal pool and friendly staff help guests feel at home
Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms
Capitol Skyline Hotel offers a range of room styles for guests to enjoy. Each room has two double beds, a spacious sitting area and a workstation – ideal for business guests. Enjoy views overlooking the outdoor pool, the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington DC. Complimentary Internet access is available in each room at the Capital Skyline hotel. Accessible rooms are available. A concierge is also on hand at the Capital Skyline hotel to assist guests with their individual needs. Room service is also available.
Things to Do:
  • Korean War Memorial (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of American History (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • White House (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery/Tomb of the Unknowns (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Washington Monument (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Pentagon (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Washington Redskins/FedEx Field (12 mi/19.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Self parking available at $25 USD per night
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 per night payable directly at the hotel
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.879 -77.0098
Area served
Washington, DC
Nearby airports
Conveniently located just 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.Washington Dulles International Airport-34 Miles Baltimore Washington International Airport-33 Miles
Area description
The Capitol Skyline Hotel is conveniently located in downtown Washington, DC only a few blocks away from the United States Capitol, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution Museums, the Library of Congress, the Supreme Court, and the new Washington Nationals Stadium. Close to Washington Monument, the National Gallery of Art, Ft. McNair, Bolling Air Force Base, and the White House, the Capitol Skyline Hotel is the perfect choice of Washington DC hotels. The Capitol Skyline Hotel is easily accessed from the Navy Yard Metro and Interstates 95, 295, 395 and 495, is 1 mile or 5 Metro stops from the Washington Convention Center and 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (404)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stolze Fan
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Feb 7, 2013

Heed the following warnings

The good: The hotel is a twenty-minute walk from the Capitol building. My room was clean (with no frills). The hotel also offers a shuttle further into town in the morning and in the evening (drop-offs only). The bad: The hotel is located in an unremarkable part of town, south of the interstate. To walk up the street to the Capitol or Mall, the area frequented by most sightseers (and, thereby, anyone who'd ever stay in this hotel), one has to walk through a little slice of urban wasteland, including the shadowy sidewalk beneath the interstate overpass. During the day, this is tolerable. At night, it is unnerving. Taxis to/from the hotel are a must after dark. Also, the two metro stops nearest the hotel are almost as far away as the Capitol, which defeats the purpose of using them in place of walking. The ugly: I arrived at the hotel around noon, knowing that check-in was at 4:00. I asked the two people (there are never more than two people at the front desk) if I might leave my bag with them, go into town, and then return after 4:00 to check in. I was told that, if my room was ready, I could check in early. Lo, and behold: my room was, indeed, ready. The young lady behind the desk asked to see the credit card with which I paid for the room ahead of time. Little did I know that she swiped it not only to pull up my record but also to add the FIFTY DOLLAR early check-in fee. I've never in my life had to pay for an early check-in. Moreover, not being informed that I was being so charged only exacerbated the annoyance. The young lady behind the desk left me to discover this treat on my credit card statement. Summation: Proverbially, you get what you pay for. If you don't mind the walk during the day and the taxi fare at night, it's a decent bargain. Try to take advantage of the shuttle, which can fill up quickly in the morning and which, to repeat, only drops you off but will not come pick you up. For my money and peace of mind, I'll stay closer to DuPont Circle next time. And, for God's sake, don't check in early unless you have fifty dollars you'd like to see the backside of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
johnyg
Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Apr 22, 2012

mediocre at best

The hotel staff did not give me the kind of room I'd signed up for and I had to convince them of my free parking pass. Didn't have great room, smelled bad. Didn't have promised amenities. And most of all, while it is close to the capital, it isn't in easy walking distance of most of downtown dc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
liz the unhapppy mom
pennsylvania
Aug 8, 2012

okay but not what or where i asked for

the hotel was ok , i told the person where i wanted to be it was NO WHERE where i needed to be in the first day i spent 96 $ in metro and cab fees as i took 3 children 2 who are special needs. we had a terrible time with travel and nothing was close no where to eat close and i was very unhappy, the kids channels did not work in the hotel.. over all not happy about my time and money that i spent to go on a weekend birthday get away for my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

no easy normal food around only greek,italian or mc donalds .. not happy

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sayre pa
May 14, 2011

hmmm....would not stay there again

Very old hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JOSEAMA
Business
San Juan, PR
Apr 22, 2012

Basic room OUT of the Mall area

Clean average room. Kind of worn down but ok. Staff do the job, not focused in providing excellent customer service. Hotel is located close to the Natonal's ballpark. Nothing else nearby, no food places around (only a McD), no room service. Did not feel safe walking around the area at night. Needed to move in taxi. Walking to the Navy Yard Metro station did not seem safe. A lot of noise since next to the freeway. You can find better locations for the same price closer to the Mall and downtown area. Will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go out the hotel and walk along the freeway you wiil find a tunnel that goes under the freeway and takes you to the Capitol in a 10 min. Walk. During the day, would not recommend in the night.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lancaster, Pa
Jul 11, 2011

Terrible Service

I am going to any site I can find to write a review. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! Me and my two friends visited for a relaxing July 4th weekend. We were completely unaware that the pool was a "party" pool, and because of our age were treated awful. The front desk was not helpful and at times very rude. We did not feel like welcomed hotel guests. Early one morning someone knocked on our door (when the do not distrub sign was out) and asked if we were leaving that day. We were not scheduled to leave for two more days. The hotel itself was great location and the room was comfortable, beside the cockroach in the bathroom. We will not return because of the awful customer service. Also, our credit card was charged an extra $150.. that we did not spend, we are now working with the bank to have it removed. Customer service claimed they did not charge it, but we have documented proof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mystery girl
Boston
Dec 18, 2012

Decent

If u don't have a lot of money and want to tour the city it's the best place to go. Service not too good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Love it very live

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Johnny Mac
Middletown, NJ, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Just A Quick Overnight Stay

I don't recommend this hotel if you are staying for a long weekend or longer. I stayed one night and that is all I would stay. Shady looking building in a shady area. The rooms were clean but outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must take a cab from here!

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 4, 2011

Definitely not the Marriott

The hotel staff, the courtesy shuttle, the pool, the secured parking garage, and proximity to Nationals Stadium were the only redeeming qualities of this hotel. When we arrived, the air conditioner was broken. They were nice enough to offer us free parking, but that was already included [...] They did offer us a free breakfast for the next day instead, and must say, would have been displeased if forced to pay the $11.95/person rate as it was poor quality food. The mattresses on the bed were not only sunken in the middle from so much use, we needed assistance climbing out in the morning because to do so was challenging. The bedroom decor was straight from a low-budget adult film and our "Capital Skyline" was a view of the smoke stacks from a neighboring factory. The location is not central to any decent restaurants and the lounge wasn't staffed the one night we wanted to relax with a cocktail. All-in-all, rather disappointing. Its a good thing we were only there to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Batting Cage across from Nationals Stadium is an enclosed parking lot serving refreshments, live music, and a variety of games to enjoy. Prices are more reasonable than inside the stadium and atmosphere is akin to someone's backyard BBQ.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LYNN KITTY LOVER
LAS VEGAS NV
Apr 23, 2013

JUST ONE NIGHT

Because of a travel mix up I needed to hotel room for just 1 night. I was previously at the Grand Hyatt. D.C. hotels are very expensive, but I lucked up on $98.00 rate, including all taxes. The reviews for the Capitol Skyline were mixed, but I decided cost outweighed skepticism. It's a older hotel and surly can use a bit of sprucing up. I had a great view of the Capitol Building. But the sliding doors were missing from the closet, the alarm clock was broken, (glad I had my own) as was the tv remote, and there was no ice machine on my floor. My foremost concern however, was the $45.00 bar tab that was charged to my room the night I checked in. I informed the front desk and restaurant managers that this was NOT my charge, I only had the breakfast buffet and HAD PAID CASH. Since my transportation to the airport had arrived, I left with their assurance that they would address the matter and my credit card would not be charged. They lived up to their word. I know mistakes can happen, just double check your bill when you check out! All-in-all for overnight it was not bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I didn't use it, but from my 5th floor window I would see the McDonalds in the next block across the street.

Back to menu Return to top