$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
381 reviews
This years stay at Capital Skyline Hotel

Each year My travels lead me to the D.D. area during the Thanksgiving weekend and I stay at this... See full review

  • Thehatmann
  • Dec 3, 2014
Best time

KIDS LOVE IT BECAUSE of the pool but the pool area is more for grown ups after dark. Location is... See full review

  • Brigii
  • Nov 30, 2014
Friendly and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Washington DC
The independently owned and operated Capitol Skyline Hotel offers everything a guest could need for a relaxing stay. Located close to the attractions that Washington DC has to offer, Capitol Skyline Hotel also has an onsite restaurant serving classic American meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free wireless Internet connection is available. A free shuttle service takes Capitol Skyline Hotel guests to the downtown area and local metro stations. Business guests also find space for up to 500 people in the banqueting hall as well as meeting rooms.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideal for location near downtown Washington DC and area attractions
  • Free shuttle service
  • Onsite restaurant, seasonal pool and friendly staff help guests feel at home
Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms
Capitol Skyline Hotel offers a range of room styles for guests to enjoy. Each room has two double beds, a spacious sitting area and a workstation - ideal for business guests. Enjoy views overlooking the outdoor pool, the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington DC. Complimentary Internet access is available in each room at the Capital Skyline hotel. Accessible rooms are available. A concierge is also on hand at the Capital Skyline hotel to assist guests with their individual needs. Room service is also available.
Things to Do:
  • Korean War Memorial (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of American History (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • White House (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery/Tomb of the Unknowns (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Washington Monument (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Pentagon (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Washington Redskins/FedEx Field (12 mi/19.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Self parking available at $25 USD plus tax per night.
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 USD per night payable directly at the hotel.
  • No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (381)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
381 out of 381
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nycrbr
Business
New York
Nov 1, 2013

Convenient

Very convenient to Capital Hill and best price could find for comparative quality in area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Best price for value in Capital Hill area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Awesome Kel
Business
New York, NY
Nov 4, 2013

Last Minute Perfection

This hotel was great. The room was equipped with every thing needed for my stay. The hotels location was great, not to far from some of the attractions, and transportation was available if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geotpet54
Business
Putnam Valley, NY
Nov 9, 2013

The Capitol Skyline was great

Everything was great. The staff as very courteous. The rooms were very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Monkey
Business
Murrieta, CA
Nov 9, 2013

comfortable and accommodating

Hotel is older. Could use some upgrades. But very nice stay over all. Marco at the front desk is awesome. Customer service was great. Room was older a little run down drafty windows but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelHound24
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 12, 2013

Nice comfortable stay, with a few drawbacks

I stayed here for a week after getting a great deal through this site. I needed a temporary place to stay while in the process of relocating to DC and looking for other housing. The hotel was a bit out of the way from the main attractions of DC, but in walking distance to a Metro station and bus stops. The room was spacious and clean. There was no refrigerator, coffee maker, or microwave. So, don't expect to bring back any leftovers. At best, you can ask to borrow a coffee maker, but they'll charge you $10 for the length of your stay. I was able to get hot water from the restaurant in the mornings for making oatmeal and tea in my room. Speaking of the restaurant, I ate the breakfast buffet there on three mornings. The food was of good quality, but could have used a bit more variety. For instance, some fresh sliced fruit would have been nice. The "all you can eat" buffet price was $10, so a bit less than I expected based on other reviews. Perhaps that's their off-season rate. I requested a room on the top floor and found it to be pleasant and quiet overall. There was a safe in the room large enough for a laptop and a desk with comfortable chair. I was on the side away from the Capitol building, so not much of a view, but I was more concerned about noise than view. The heating unit was a bit tricky in terms of getting the temperature where you wanted it. Being on the top floor, the sun seemed to keep the room rather warm during the day. On a windy day, the windows made a howling noise, which was a bit annoying. Housekeeping was good about leaving you alone if you kept the "do not disturb" sign up, but you could hear them going down the halls starting around 9 a.m. knocking and yelling "housekeeping!" The worst part of the stay was the Internet access. While it seemed to be working well during the first couple days of my stay, it became painfully slow for the remainder. I reported the problem to the front desk on two occasions, but the situation never improved. If you need reliable Internet for business use, don't stay here. Also, the "complimentary shuttle service" is very limited, offering drop-offs only in for a couple hours in the morning and late afternoon to a set number of locations. They would not pick me up from the nearby Union Station either, so I had to get a taxi, which was cheap enough given the short distance. It's a bit misleading from their web site and other information which led me to believe they'll shuttle you anywhere within a certain distance of the hotel upon request. Though, as I mentioned above, public transportation access is close by. Coming back at night, I would usually take the bus to the SW M St & SW Howison Pl, which provided a shorter walk back to the hotel than the Metro stop. The walk also went by a fire station and felt fairly safe. Overall, a nice place to stay if you're looking for something a bit more upscale than the cheaper hotels around and definitely worth it if you can get on a deal / discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Justin's Cafe was a short walk from the hotel and provided tasty food options. They were also able to accommodate a vegan diet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JanetP1
Business
Portand,OR
Nov 21, 2013

Good Hotel for Capitol Visit

This hotel had friendly staff, comfortable spacious room with desk, and large flat screen TV. My heater didn't work as well as I would like. No coffee makers in the rooms or in the lobby-had to wait for the restaurant to open, and then the shuttle driver would not allow coffee with lid in the shuttle van. The free shuttle to major locations in the capital was of great value. I recommend this hotel. *The hotel computer/printer for boarding passes did not work the entire 3 days I was there, however, the helpful night clerk was printing them out for people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adventurous getaway
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 25, 2013

spontaneous birthday getaway

The hotel is a little scary looking on the outside, but once you walk in, it's very nice. It was quiet and the room was nice. I slept like a baby because Of the comfort, awesome! The car garage is very private and indoors, that was great. Online I read it was free parking. It's not, but the other hotels nearby want 48 to 60 for parking, so 25 wasn't bad at all. I also loved that checkout was at 12 and not 11 like some other places. It was 15 minutes away from every where I needed to be. I'm definitely going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

My friends ans me went to The Park on 14th St. It's a really classy club. We also went to the flea market on 7th St. and then ate at This little Mexican restaurant near it. Good food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abcddcba
Business
Palo Alto, California
Nov 30, 2013

Good place if you don't need to be in the heart of it all.

Hotel was clean, comfortable, and courteous. Had to take cabs to get to [anywhere], and flagging a cab wasn't always easy. Breakfast could have been more innovative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MargieMaude
Business
Navy Yard Skyline Capitol Hotel
Dec 3, 2013

Great Place to stay!!

Friendly diverse community of staff on hand. Includes Luisgies Restaurant, yummy breakfast foods with coffee Short walk in distance to 7 11 convient store, local neighborhood church, McDonald if desired fast foods CVS store Metro and Bus to all National Mall sights This is my first trip, and the price package was worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a weekly Metro pass which one may use on Metro train and bus and can add money to card as needed, can purchase card and CVS store or inside of Metro Train station which is respectifully named Navy Yard

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana7cloud
Business
Japan
Dec 1, 2013

Convenient position

The position of the hotel is quiet convenient - it's only 20 minutes walking from the Capitol. It also has free shuttle buses service that let you go to the main sightseeing spots easily. The room itself is clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top