$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
391 reviews
Great room!

Great room centrally located, ideal for out of towners looking to party in DC!!! See full review

  • Personal Trainer
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice Hotel

Spacious and clean room. Hotel needs café to be open Morning and afternoon See full review

  • Lau25
  • May 3, 2014
Friendly and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Washington DC
The independently owned and operated Capitol Skyline Hotel offers everything a guest could need for a relaxing stay. Located close to the attractions that Washington DC has to offer, Capitol Skyline Hotel also has an onsite restaurant serving classic American meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free wireless Internet connection is available. A free shuttle service takes Capitol Skyline Hotel guests to the downtown area and local metro stations. Business guests also find space for up to 500 people in the banqueting hall as well as meeting rooms.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideal for location near downtown Washington DC and area attractions
  • Free shuttle service
  • Onsite restaurant, seasonal pool and friendly staff help guests feel at home
Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms
Capitol Skyline Hotel offers a range of room styles for guests to enjoy. Each room has two double beds, a spacious sitting area and a workstation – ideal for business guests. Enjoy views overlooking the outdoor pool, the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington DC. Complimentary Internet access is available in each room at the Capital Skyline hotel. Accessible rooms are available. A concierge is also on hand at the Capital Skyline hotel to assist guests with their individual needs. Room service is also available.
Things to Do:
  • Korean War Memorial (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of American History (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • White House (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery/Tomb of the Unknowns (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Washington Monument (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Pentagon (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Washington Redskins/FedEx Field (12 mi/19.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Self parking available at $25 USD per night
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 per night payable directly at the hotel
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.879 -77.0098
Area served
Washington, DC
Nearby airports
Conveniently located just 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.Washington Dulles International Airport-34 Miles Baltimore Washington International Airport-33 Miles
Area description
The Capitol Skyline Hotel is conveniently located in downtown Washington, DC only a few blocks away from the United States Capitol, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution Museums, the Library of Congress, the Supreme Court, and the new Washington Nationals Stadium. Close to Washington Monument, the National Gallery of Art, Ft. McNair, Bolling Air Force Base, and the White House, the Capitol Skyline Hotel is the perfect choice of Washington DC hotels. The Capitol Skyline Hotel is easily accessed from the Navy Yard Metro and Interstates 95, 295, 395 and 495, is 1 mile or 5 Metro stops from the Washington Convention Center and 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (391)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frena
Tx
Mar 2, 2013

family getaway

we were waiting in the hotel resturant one hour for our food the first night, other than that the rest was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sherikah
Delaware
Dec 30, 2013

Worst hotel I ever stayed in

I cannot explain how dissatisfied I am with the Capitol Skyline hotel. Their location first of all is the least convenient. Though they have a parking lot underground, they charge a hefty $25 per day, which is costlier than what public places like the Union Station charge, and also with no consideration or discounts for customers. TV channels suck. Just a handful of channels is what they offer, despite the high cost for the room per day. $70 per day is too much for such a lousy hotel. You want anything at this hotel, be ready to shell out money like the air you breathe out, that is when you will feel nice about this one. Worst hotel ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fletch6350
Missouri
Mar 10, 2014

Think twice before staying here

First off the room was dirty, long black hairs on the comforter. Only 7 channels to choose from all in standard definition. Sirens at all time of the night will keep you up. And after checking out I was charged for 6 night of parking when I was dropped off in a taxi was told it would take 5-10 days to get back the $200 they took from my account. Will never recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the metro 4 blocks.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Catdame
Pocomoke, Maryland
Apr 1, 2014

Are you Kidding?

My husband and I spent one night as we were seeing a play at Arena Stage. if we had been scheduled to stay longer we would have switched hotels the second night. We had 2 double beds in our room - one was visibly sagging, the other so hard it hurt to sit on. Our sink was clogged, and the bathroom so small you could not use the toilet unless the door was closed. The rooms have no refrigerators, microwaves, or coffee makers. There is one vending area in the basement with one micro-wave. To top it all off there was NO coffee available in the hotel until after 7 am (6am on weekdays) -- no coffee makers in room, no coffee in the lobby, no coffee in the vending machines. We had to walk across the street to McDonalds for coffee at 5:45 AM. We most definitely will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NCTravel
Business
Charlotte
Dec 12, 2011

Nice Website...Shabby Hotel

The website looks great for this hotel...but reality is very different. The workout room had broken equipment. Every day the staff said it would be fixed THAT day. Three day stay...machines broken the entire time. The rooms are small and dingy. Big flat screens with FIVE channels. Old beds with old pillows. The staff are unaware of the surrounding location. You can't even get a cup of hot water to make yourself some tea. I wish we had paid more for a nicer place. I would never EVER stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BR2011
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Terrible Customer Service

My husband and I arrived at the hotel last week Sunday morning. We took out our id, our confirmation email and cash. We forgot out credit card at home and offered to give them the credit card number so they can punch it into their credit card machine. They refused to check us in. We were also offering to give them a cash deposit, as we have done in other hotels with no problem, but they wouldn't hear of it. They left us stranded in Washington DC, we had to change our bus tickets and go home that same night. The man that we dealt with was very rude and he treated us like he couldnt wait to get rid of us. Also, we stayed at this hotel at least twice a year for the past 3 years, so the least they could have done is make a one time exception. They also notified the site we booked our hotel on that we never showed up and threatened to charge us, after sending us away like some sort of garbage. They lost some very valuable customers as we travel to DC 3 to 4 times a year. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone for their lack of respect and competence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Royy
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Disapointed

I would not recommend this hotel. The good is price, and cleaniness. Unfortunately, the rooms are tiny. My mattress was awful. I just sunk right in. The parking is advertised but do not mention the overnight charge of $30. The hotel itself is a little isolated, nothing within walking distance. Keys are deactivated early on morning of check out. If you need to re-enter your room, although you have not checked out someone has to let you in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

D Street area has several nice restaurants

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tamara st james
Wdc
Mar 6, 2012

Horrible Stay

Room was full of bugs and hotel staff was very unpleasant. I asked for a queen smoking room and got a double non smoking. Location wasn't easy to find either. I left the hotel by the morning of my first night there. Very unsattisfied customer. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MP22
Michigan
Aug 29, 2012

Surly Front Staff

When checking in on Monday, August 27th, the front desk clerk could not find my reservation and grumbled that it was a discount company . I said no, it was thru you and he scoffed at that too. The room was not a queen as I had requested. The sirens outside were so loud you could not sleep. Tuesday night one elevator was out of order, and the staff was allowing way more people to cram onto the elevator that should have been legally allowed. We personally stopped people from entering so as not to get stuck with too much weight in the elevator. We called the front desk about it and they did not care. We were on the 7th floor or would have avoided the elevator unsafe conditions totally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rinkuusa
Lawrence, KS
Nov 21, 2012

Worst Hotel ever

This was the worst hotel ever I have stayed in. Nobody was concerned about the comfort of the customer. The room temperature was extremely hot and the thermostat was not working. I called the front desk twice to fix the temperature, but nobody cared and I had to spend a sleepless night. Worst Hotel ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Redouane E
Virginia beach, VA
Jan 7, 2013

Very bad hotel

Please do not go to this hotel if you have a family. A bad hotel in a not so great area and the hotel pics you see are way nicer than what there is. Bad management, manager will definitely not help you out if you have an issue with anything. Windows do not lock properly and you will be sleeping in a pretty cold room even though the heat is running. A Very Strong smell of fish in the hallways. You can see the capitol from your window, but the area around the hotel is not that great especially if you are walking at night. Do not be fooled by the price and the free parking, you can get way better deals at much much better hotels in the area. This one is definitely a very bad deal, won't recommend, and will never go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search