$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
403 reviews
Great room!

Great room centrally located, ideal for out of towners looking to party in DC!!! See full review

  • Personal Trainer
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice Hotel

Spacious and clean room. Hotel needs café to be open Morning and afternoon See full review

  • Lau25
  • May 3, 2014
Friendly and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Washington DC
The independently owned and operated Capitol Skyline Hotel offers everything a guest could need for a relaxing stay. Located close to the attractions that Washington DC has to offer, Capitol Skyline Hotel also has an onsite restaurant serving classic American meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free wireless Internet connection is available. A free shuttle service takes Capitol Skyline Hotel guests to the downtown area and local metro stations. Business guests also find space for up to 500 people in the banqueting hall as well as meeting rooms.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideal for location near downtown Washington DC and area attractions
  • Free shuttle service
  • Onsite restaurant, seasonal pool and friendly staff help guests feel at home
Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms
Capitol Skyline Hotel offers a range of room styles for guests to enjoy. Each room has two double beds, a spacious sitting area and a workstation – ideal for business guests. Enjoy views overlooking the outdoor pool, the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington DC. Complimentary Internet access is available in each room at the Capital Skyline hotel. Accessible rooms are available. A concierge is also on hand at the Capital Skyline hotel to assist guests with their individual needs. Room service is also available.
Things to Do:
  • Korean War Memorial (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of American History (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • White House (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery/Tomb of the Unknowns (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Washington Monument (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Pentagon (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Washington Redskins/FedEx Field (12 mi/19.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Self parking available at $25 USD per night
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 per night payable directly at the hotel
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.879 -77.0098
Area served
Washington, DC
Nearby airports
Conveniently located just 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.Washington Dulles International Airport-34 Miles Baltimore Washington International Airport-33 Miles
Area description
The Capitol Skyline Hotel is conveniently located in downtown Washington, DC only a few blocks away from the United States Capitol, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution Museums, the Library of Congress, the Supreme Court, and the new Washington Nationals Stadium. Close to Washington Monument, the National Gallery of Art, Ft. McNair, Bolling Air Force Base, and the White House, the Capitol Skyline Hotel is the perfect choice of Washington DC hotels. The Capitol Skyline Hotel is easily accessed from the Navy Yard Metro and Interstates 95, 295, 395 and 495, is 1 mile or 5 Metro stops from the Washington Convention Center and 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (403)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Capitol Lover
Business
Omaha NE
May 23, 2013

Skyline hotel is perfect 3-star.

The room was clean and the service was great. I needed a cab, they got me a cab. I needed some help with the TV and I got it immediately. Free internet!! There is a McDonald's across the street for a quick, late-night snack. While the location is a little out of the way from major stores or shopping, it is, nevertheless, within a 10-minute walk to the metro. Cab fare to my necessary locations was under $10. Versy Satisfactory prix fixe breakfast or dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

know where you want to go with the metro. Two stations just 10 minutes away.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Your average young tourist
Boston, MA
Mar 28, 2011

A recreational getaway in DC

The staff was not very friendly, almost straight up rude at times. Only, [...] was very kind. [...].The rooms are average. However, it is not a disappointment because of the affordable price. The location was fine. Close to the National Mall but far from the entertainment and dining opportunities. Being close to a metro stop compensates for this problem.The movie rental options were very up to date and affordable and provided cheap and relaxed nights after hours of walking in DC.The house keeping was very friendly and kind too.The best part of this hotel was the complimentary wireless provided by the hotel in the rooms. Even though it was not very fast it was good enough. The communal computers and printer were very useful too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A 7/11 on the way to the metro station is a good opportunity to grab breakfast before a busy day!

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RitaK
PA
Dec 28, 2012

December 2012 stay

The temperature in the room wasn't adjustable, it was very hot at night. Very poor breakfast, no bagels at 8.30. Shuttle bus wasn't available because of holidays, but staff confirmed that bus will come as scheduled. Room was very clean and hotel has nice facility. Overall good experience for what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Williams, AZ
Jun 2, 2010

Good, bad and so so

Stayed at hotel for 8 nights. Had a nice view of the Capitol from our room. You can walk to city center, about 8 blocks under train tracks and freeways, but I wouldn't recommend it. Had to use taxi or Metro a lot because of limited shuttle service; i. e., no airport pick up/drop off, only 4 times in a.m. and 4 times in p.m...drop off only to specific sites. No pick ups back to the hotel...you are on your own. Restaurant was breakfast buffet only and routinely ran out of food/drinks. Upon check out we were charged a holding fee of $2.00 a bag until our flight later in the day. Don't count on using the public internet/printer...it never worked for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro to get just about anywhere in D. C. It's reasonable, convenient and simple to use.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love143
nj
Jul 22, 2012

my stay

The hotel was expensive and I would not have booked with them if it wasn't for the deal. The hotel is next to a bad part of town but close to the capitol. They charge 25 a night for parking your car because of the extra security. The beds were not comfortable at all. The pool was nice but if you are staying with your family, be prepared to hear loud music playing till nine on weekends they are pool party nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Most events and sights in dc are free. Eat in georgetown if you are willing to drive, but there prices are better in the resturants.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nvsblme
Business
Columbia, MD
Feb 12, 2014

My review

The hotel was ok. I was just staying overnight on a business trip so I didn't spend a lot of time inspecting the room. However, what I did notice, was that when the heater was on both hot and cold air came out? Also, my bed felt broken down as it sank in way to much. The next day I had breakfast at the hotel as they had a promotion for free breakfast. Which is a good thing as the $10 they would have charge normally would have been $10 too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Williams, AZ
Jun 2, 2010

Good, bad and so so

Stayed at hotel for 8 nights. Had a nice view of the Capitol from our room. You can walk to city center, about 8 blocks under train tracks and freeways, but I wouldn't recommend it. Had to use taxi or Metro a lot because of limited shuttle service; i. e., no airport pick up/drop off, only 4 times in a.m. and 4 times in p.m...drop off only to specific sites. No pick ups back to the hotel...you are on your own. Restaurant was breakfast buffet only and routinely ran out of food/drinks. Upon check out we were charged a holding fee of $2.00 a bag until our flight later in the day. Don't count on using the public internet/printer...it never worked for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro to get just about anywhere in D. C. It's reasonable, convenient and simple to use.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LSTnLKC
new york, ny
Apr 23, 2013

very bad staff and service

room and location are ok, but staff are really bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Mar 29, 2011

Review for Capital Skyline Hotel

The hotel has a good location. The price is worthy for a hotel with that location. We also enjoyed the complimentary parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tokyo23
CO
May 29, 2013

10min walk to subway st. & there's convinience store

We stayed at this hotel when we went sightseeing in D.C.. It was 10min walk from Navy Yard station to the hotel. There's a convinience store between the hotel and the subway station. So, we like it's location and very reasonable price. The downside to us was that there's no refridgerator and microwave oven in our room. We basically had to eat up our food that we got at the nearby convinience store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top