$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2015 Check-out: Feb 16, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
401 reviews
Awesome weekend trip

Great location and amazing museums, places, clean city, nice people, restaurants and cheap taxis. See full review

  • CarenyOrlando
  • Jan 21, 2015
LOVE THIS HOTEL

This place is absolutely fantastic…. Easy Parking Great Rooms Awesome Staff Easy walking... See full review

  • Smokey123456789
  • Jan 12, 2015
When it comes to Washington, DC hotels, the Capitol Skyline Hotel is perfectly located for all the DC area attractions many of which are within walking distance from the hotel. Now independently owned and operated, Capitol Skyline is located within 5 blocks from the US Capitol and 3 blocks from the Washington Nationals Park stadium and near other area attractions including the National Mall, Smithsonian Institution, and the Navy Yard. Travelers will be within 5 miles from Reagan National Airport (DCA). Hotel guests will appreciate the convenience of the on-site Lapidus Restaurant. Other amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, business center, fitness center, and free drop off shuttle service to downtown sites and Metro stations. Guest can also take advantage of sightseeing tours picking up directly from the hotel. Each spacious, comfortable guest room features all the right amenities including free wireless internet, cable television, in room safes, and on demand movies. Self parking is available at $25 per night plus tax.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (401)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CR02
Miami, Florida
Jan 13, 2013

I love it!

this hotel is so close to the capitol that you can go to it by walking. the place is very clean. The continental breakfast is amazing my family and I love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Practicajack
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Oct 30, 2012

Good Choice

We had a very pleasant stay at the Capitol Skyline. It's a good choice for a reasonably priced hotel that is within walking distance to the Capitol. The bedding is comfortable, the rooms are spacious, clean, and the complimentary WiFi actually works. The staff is friendly and helpful. Parking is extra, but is conveniently underground and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelak518
Business
Delmar, NY
Nov 29, 2012

comfy beds but no amenities

This is a basic hotel at best - virtually no amenities - no coffee maker, minimal toiletries, no free breakfast, etc. All of these things would help compensate for the overall aged building in a questionable neighborhood. But I must admit, the free one way shuttle was great at keeping costs down for half the ride - and the beds were extremely comfortable and the staff very pleasant. I would stay there again, however, because the price can't be beat - I'll just bring my own coffeemaker and budget for cab rides back from everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vhuggard
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 10, 2012

Not bad for the price, safe though?

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The AC didn't work in the room we originally checked into and it was very stuffy, but they immediately gave us a new one. The new room had two double beds instead of one queen though. Since we were only there one night I let it go and my wife and I just ended up staying in separate beds that night. One thing I would caution is the location. Our flight arrived in the evening and we took the metro since parking was $25/night. When I booked it I didn't know the hotel was in the hood. So walking 4 blocks from the metro after arriving and finding a place to eat at night was a bit sketchy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely take the metro over renting a car. Easy system, and parking is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashleighjordanne
Business
virginia
Dec 16, 2012

Good, but noisy.

It was located about a 20 min walk from the national mall, so that was great. The staff was friendly, and even let us check in and use parking early. My only issue was the noise outside. It's close to a lot of entering and exiting traffic, so I heard plenty of police sirens throughout the night. Of course that's not really the hotels fault, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lu the Gunny
Business
Ossining, NY
Dec 17, 2012

DC Trip

Hotel was a perfect location for my activities in that area. Easy highway access. Great view of the Capitol. A bit noisy from the emergency vehicles activity. Not enough to disturb any sleep. Staff was excellent. Thank you and see you again with my next trip to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
may ann
Business
Richmond, VA
Dec 18, 2012

weekend getaway/horrible

The lobby of the hotel is clean and nice but the location is horrible. The staff members are even worse. They wanted to charge us $20 just to use the microwave to warm food for 20 seconds. Even though I requested a smoke free room, people were still smoking in the hall and I could smell it. The rooms a im some way clean. I requested a queen bed but I got a full bed. The guy at the front desk has horrible guest service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Its close to most night clubs and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
James9067
Business
SLC, UT
Dec 20, 2012

Not bad

Good to stay for one night. Good location and good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Tribe
Business
Pinson, AL
Dec 21, 2012

Visiting Washington

We rode the free shuttle and then walked back to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get reservations to see the White House months in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meeb
Business
Western Maryland
Dec 21, 2012

Good business location

this hotel is perfectly located for my work when i visit DC. It is also a good value. i stay there once or twice a month for work. It is sort of bare-bone (e.g. no room service or restaurant for lunch or dinner). many of the rooms need to be upgraded some, but they are clean with nice TVs and work space. WiFi is fee and parking can be free depending on how many days you stay. There is one guy that works the front desk who is very professional and responds to any concerns i have had. not everyone is so responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dawn anthonyphillai
Business
new britain, ct
Dec 21, 2012

it was a money saving stay

cheap and clean rooms... not far from dinners and airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top