$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBar
Couples
Charlotte, NC, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Capital Skyline Hotel

It was ok. A little noisy at night. Where I'm from, they don't charge $25 extra a night for parking, Also the continental breakfast was below par. Definitely not worth the price of $14 for powdered eggs. Thankfully it was free and Mcdonalds was across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have a car, park it 2 blocks north for $8 a night and plan on going out for breakfast.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1983
Couples
NJ
Feb 20, 2012

Not bad for it's price

Location is good. Hotel staff should spend a little bit more time cleaning up the rooms. This hotel has known better times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

15 minutes walk from Capitol

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skip of the Inland Empire
Couples
San Bernardino, CA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Close and affordable

This is great for the traveler that doesn't spend a lot of time in the hotel room. It was close to the Metro station which gave me access to all the important parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want tours of the White House and other government buildings, contact your congress person well in advance. You'll be glad you did.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Windy disappointment
Business
Lexington, MA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Mixed bag

Comfortable room with a very comfortable bed. However, the window in the room had broken some time earlier and had been repaired without replacing the broken parts. The patchwork repair included duct tape. Unfortunately for me there was a windy night and the the window howled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
swartsman
Family
Mississippi
Apr 8, 2012

DC Vacation

The hotel was nice. Close to downtown, but not downtown. Close to a Metro station, but not close to restaurants. A little older hotel, but everything was clean. The A/C didn't work as well as it should. The Manager was great - very helpful. The hotel restaurant didn't have a lot of choices on the menu, but their food was fantastic. The only way to get to the airport from the hotel is by taxi - no airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casual Traveling Student
Single
Buffalo, NY, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Great hotel...but a really poor location.

The experience at this hotel was a mixed bag. I had read some other reviews online, but none of them prepared me for the location that this hotel was situated in. It was at the outskirts of a very rough neighborhood, (one day I had to take a detour around the scene of a homicide that happened two blocks up the street). I did not feel comfortable going outside of this hotel at night, as all of the surrounding buildings had bars on every window and there were virtually no streetlights. The hotel itself was fine, the room was very clean, and the bed was nice and comfortable. The cable selection was limited, but it was a nice flatscreen with HBO and ESPN so no complaints there. The Restaurant was overpriced and the bar selection was limited to beer, wine, and soda. I ate two meals there, and the food was very bland and the wines were not worth the price paid. All in all, it was a very nice room, and during the day the location was fine and pleasant, but especially if you are traveling alone or with small children, I would be very careful walking around this hotel's neighborhood after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love143
Couples
nj
Jul 22, 2012

my stay

The hotel was expensive and I would not have booked with them if it wasn't for the deal. The hotel is next to a bad part of town but close to the capitol. They charge 25 a night for parking your car because of the extra security. The beds were not comfortable at all. The pool was nice but if you are staying with your family, be prepared to hear loud music playing till nine on weekends they are pool party nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Most events and sights in dc are free. Eat in georgetown if you are willing to drive, but there prices are better in the resturants.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandman
Family
Minnesota
Aug 11, 2012

DC Trip

The staff and hotel itself were fine. Would've liked a coffee pot in the room. Location wasn't what I expected. Nothing in the immediate area. I would stay closer to the action in the future. I would not recommend because of the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mendez1
Couples
Bonston Ma
Aug 20, 2012

Weekend getaway

we were looking for a nice quiet room, and at the same time very close to the museums and the city attractions. The hotel had an awesome view of the capitol building. the room was clean enough but needed that extra touch. the employees in the front desk need more friendlyness while talking to guest. kindness could have gone a longer way! overall we enjoyed our weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The mexican restaurant called La Plaza restaurant great place to get dinner, drinks, with great servers.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D and family
Family
new jersey
Aug 23, 2012

just ok ?

overall the hotel was fine, the beds were a bit worn and not at all comfortable. We only ate breakfast there once and couldn't believe the price for the food that was served - we had a better breakfast for a third the price at the McDonalds across the street. Other wise the room was very clean and reasonably priced and the hotel was in a very good location, just a couple minutes from downtown by cab or a few more minutes via the tour bus. the staff were very pleasant and helpful as well as knowledgeable about the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top