$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
412 out of 412
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CR02
Miami, Florida
Jan 13, 2013

I love it!

this hotel is so close to the capitol that you can go to it by walking. the place is very clean. The continental breakfast is amazing my family and I love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
liztron
Business
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Retro One of a Kind

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. The 24 hr gym was nice. The breakfast buffet was alright. It was very basic and not what I was expecting from the description on the hotel's website. If it is not included in your hotel package, it it definitely not worth $14 a pop! The rooms were clean and fine. The first room they put us in was extremely warm and we stayed in it one night with no sleep. It also had a shower tub that didn't drain which was gross, standing in your own dirtiness. The second call to the front desk, they were happy to accommodate us to a cooler room with a draining tub. The main cons of this hotel is that it is on a busy street which makes it really loud, and hard to sleep in with all the honking etc. Another con is that parking is $30/day! They don't mention parking on their website probably because it is where they get you. It's impossible to find parking outside the hotel if you have a car, so plan on forking out an extra $210 just for storing your car. Overall, this was a great place to sleep, clean up and eat, especially with a smaller budget. It was a quick drive into downtown but probably not the best place to stay if you don't have a car, because you don't want to make that walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Pitango Gelato shop. Get the sipping chocolate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.C.
Business
So. California
Dec 5, 2011

Good Value

Our trip included a free daily American buffet breakfast. When we arrived, we were told the hotel was not full enough and they would not be serving the hot buffet but a Continental breakfast instead. This consisted of bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt etc. Very disappointed. This should have been communicated when our trip was booked. Other than that, everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dj2666
Business
lowell ma
Dec 5, 2011

good deal

not bad deal ... rooms kind of smell buffet was a joke!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
h5p3
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Terrible Check-In Experience

I reserved the hotel room on a travel website, and printed out the confirmation email as the proof. But the hotel could not find my reservation in its system. I had to call that website to fax the confirmation again. It took me around two hours in the check-in process and made me so tired. The facilities in the room are average level and not so new. When I checked out on the next day, a guest asked me to pick her up to the convention center where she had a meeting at 8:30am, because she had waited for the hotel shuttle for more than 30 min. In addition, her reservation included the free breakfast. but the hotel did not provide that to her. I was so lucky that I got my free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacek
Business
Trumbull, CT, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Washington visit

Although hotel was not too bad ,free breakfast advertised as full buffet ,was just so limited that we hardly had a chance to eat anything. Waiter explained to us that during summer season they have more selection. I would never consider this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pria
Business
Az
Jan 2, 2012

DC Capitol skyline hotel

Generally good exp, was 15 min to Capitol so was walkable. Average breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chemgrl08
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Good for young adults, maybe not families

This place is ok- not fantastic, but I'd stay there again for the good price we got. Located close to the Capitol building (we could see it from our room,) its easy to walk downtown or hop on the metro after a short walk, so you don't need a car... But that's the only good thing about the location. Its right on the border of the "good" and "bad" sides of town, and the only place to eat nearby is a McDonald's across the road. If you go in winter, it gets dark early so be prepared to walk in the dark to someplace for dinner. That said, the room was clean and comfortable, which I appreciate, but the wifi (listed as free) was shoddy at best, and there was no evening restaurant as advertised. This would be a good place for young adults like myself to stay (in a group,) because the price is reasonable, but I wouldn't recommend it for families, teens, or older folks. I was a little on edge walking home everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a metro station that can save you a bundle on rental car fees. Its a short walk, but may be too far to walk with young children. Parking is also a big cost, so its better to use public transit to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lea9
Business
North Carolina, USA
Jan 1, 2012

It was ok

The internet was down half the time (or really slow), the staff service is spotty (sometimes they are nice, sometimes less so), breakfast was so-so though the fresh yoghurt was nice. However, rooms are clean and comfortable, and amenities alright. Location will not be too good for those who like a more central locale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GLDT
Business
Staten Island, NY, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Great option for the money

When we needed a place for some of the family to stay, because of lack of space in the house, we found this hotel. For us it was perfect. The staff was very personable and the hotel was clean and the breakfast was as good as the breakfast that was served in the more expensive hotel that some of the other guests stayed at. I would stay here if I needed a place to stay when I come for a visit with the family. We parked near the house and ferried our family member back and forth to the hotel. The parking fee was less than other hotels but we still avoided paying it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Telly
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Hotel was great! Parking was a bit much!! Would def stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use public transportation!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top