$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CR02
Miami, Florida
Jan 13, 2013

I love it!

this hotel is so close to the capitol that you can go to it by walking. the place is very clean. The continental breakfast is amazing my family and I love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, Pa
Jul 11, 2011

Terrible Service

I am going to any site I can find to write a review. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! Me and my two friends visited for a relaxing July 4th weekend. We were completely unaware that the pool was a "party" pool, and because of our age were treated awful. The front desk was not helpful and at times very rude. We did not feel like welcomed hotel guests. Early one morning someone knocked on our door (when the do not distrub sign was out) and asked if we were leaving that day. We were not scheduled to leave for two more days. The hotel itself was great location and the room was comfortable, beside the cockroach in the bathroom. We will not return because of the awful customer service. Also, our credit card was charged an extra $150.. that we did not spend, we are now working with the bank to have it removed. Customer service claimed they did not charge it, but we have documented proof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 4, 2011

Definitely not the Marriott

The hotel staff, the courtesy shuttle, the pool, the secured parking garage, and proximity to Nationals Stadium were the only redeeming qualities of this hotel. When we arrived, the air conditioner was broken. They were nice enough to offer us free parking, but that was already included [...] They did offer us a free breakfast for the next day instead, and must say, would have been displeased if forced to pay the $11.95/person rate as it was poor quality food. The mattresses on the bed were not only sunken in the middle from so much use, we needed assistance climbing out in the morning because to do so was challenging. The bedroom decor was straight from a low-budget adult film and our "Capital Skyline" was a view of the smoke stacks from a neighboring factory. The location is not central to any decent restaurants and the lounge wasn't staffed the one night we wanted to relax with a cocktail. All-in-all, rather disappointing. Its a good thing we were only there to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Batting Cage across from Nationals Stadium is an enclosed parking lot serving refreshments, live music, and a variety of games to enjoy. Prices are more reasonable than inside the stadium and atmosphere is akin to someone's backyard BBQ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Mar 27, 2011

It was as advertised!

No surprises, and that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washing dc
May 3, 2011

fun time

people very freierrible wifielpful, tndly and h

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baseball visitor
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 2, 2010

DC Downer

My friends and I were in DC for a Nationals game and BARELY made it. We arrived at the hotel at 2:30 and weren't able to check in until well after 4. No rooms were ready and come 4, there was a check-in line that was literally 100 people long. Then there was a wait for the elevators. Hotel was in a great location to get to the game, but that was about it. Lots of complaining from the guests. And to make it even worse, the hotel charged $25 a night to park along with being taxed. Hotel bar wasn't open past 11 on a sold out Saturday night. The only good thing about this hotel was how close it was to the park. Wouldn't recommend staying there unless that is your sole purpose of being in DC. And plan on the check-in wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

As far as we could tell, there was no nightlife anywhere close. Hotel bar was the only thing within walking distance and that closed at 11--on a Saturday!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D.C. Travelor
Business
Pennsylvania
Jan 5, 2010

Hotel

Great price and fufilled our needs for the night. However, it was very, very noisey with police sirens, traffic and a nearby fire station. Rooms need updating. They need to be more detailed in cleaning of rooms. Price for parking was much cheaper hear then at most hotels in D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is not a hotel to stay at if you want to be close to the attractions. You will need to drive. We decided to stay an extra night in D.C. but could not get a good rate at the hotel we were at for an extra night so we moved to this hotel which was $130 cheaper per night. The attraction we wanted to see was far, but we planned on driving there anyway so this hotel worked for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Oct 13, 2009

Shabby

First thing after checking in, we parked the car in the underground garage were we noticed a few people loitering. Our floor smelled like 100 people had just smoked cigarettes, which is odd as there is a no smoking policy. The pictures the hotel provides make the hotel seem a lot nicer than it is. It is a dump with some paint, and stupid lobby furniture. You can walk to the Capitol (if you dont mind walking under some deserted areas under highways) which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MamiBear
Business
Pennsylvania
Aug 5, 2014

It was average

This hotel was just OK. First of all there are NO amenities in the room. No coffee maker, no fridge, no microwave. Nothing! They had a pool, but unless you are a party person, it's not somewhere you want to go...especially with your 13 year old child! They let people that are not guests go to the pool and they throw pool parties! The music was so loud that even if you wanted to go out there, you definitely wouldn't have enjoyed yourself! I was very disappointed about that because my son couldn't wait to go swimming and we couldn't even let him. A lot of people like hotels just for the fact that they have a pool! The girl at the front desk was very nice, but she honestly knew nothing!! She apparently was new there and every time I asked a question I got a "uh" in response! Needless to say...this is probably not a hotel we will stay at ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Nationals are all very close if you take the metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Work'nRob
Business
Hollywood, CA
May 21, 2010

Capital Skyline Hotel DC

The front desk staff was nice and as accommodating as they could be as for the rest of the staff (Bar and Restaurant) they were seriously challenged on all fronts. Bar tender kept disappearing into what I imagine is a kitchen behind the bar, resurfaced once every ten minutes or so, and yet still managed to completely ignore the patrons. My drink was empty for at least 70% of the time I was in there, and that was frustrating to say the least. In the morning all the hot trays of eggs etc in the buffet line were empty an hour after opening, with no real sign of any more food coming out... but they were still seating people. The hotel bar and restaurant dont open until 6PM, so if you are working from the hotel during the day and want food, your ONLY option within walking distance is McDonalds! If it were not for the comfortable bed I would have checked out the morning after my arrival to seek out better accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dupont Circle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pres P.
Business
N/A
May 12, 2015

Antiquated 2-Star Hotel

The price for this hotel was too good to be true and I should have listened to my gut. The hotel is in a seedy part of DC and is very antiquated. And by seedy I counted 5+ cop sirens going past our room at 10:00 PM. I am unsure as to how this hotel got a 3-Star rating because it is very much a 2-Star in my books. The room was very dark, dingy and never cooled off the whole night. The room was just as hot and humid as I awoke the next morning as to when I entered that night. The bed was also very uncomfortable. You can tell that the hotel was recently remodeled but it all looks very DIY. The pros of this hotel were the staff and free parking. The guy checking us in was very courteous and attentive. The free parking was also nice. Overall, I can't recommend this hotel and think it should be re-evaluated because it simply is not a 3-Star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top