$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
406 out of 406
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
May 4, 2011

Definitely not the Marriott

The hotel staff, the courtesy shuttle, the pool, the secured parking garage, and proximity to Nationals Stadium were the only redeeming qualities of this hotel. When we arrived, the air conditioner was broken. They were nice enough to offer us free parking, but that was already included [...] They did offer us a free breakfast for the next day instead, and must say, would have been displeased if forced to pay the $11.95/person rate as it was poor quality food. The mattresses on the bed were not only sunken in the middle from so much use, we needed assistance climbing out in the morning because to do so was challenging. The bedroom decor was straight from a low-budget adult film and our "Capital Skyline" was a view of the smoke stacks from a neighboring factory. The location is not central to any decent restaurants and the lounge wasn't staffed the one night we wanted to relax with a cocktail. All-in-all, rather disappointing. Its a good thing we were only there to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Batting Cage across from Nationals Stadium is an enclosed parking lot serving refreshments, live music, and a variety of games to enjoy. Prices are more reasonable than inside the stadium and atmosphere is akin to someone's backyard BBQ.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Dayton, Ohio
Mar 27, 2011

It was as advertised!

No surprises, and that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
washing dc
May 3, 2011

fun time

people very freierrible wifielpful, tndly and h

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baseball visitor
Friends
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 2, 2010

DC Downer

My friends and I were in DC for a Nationals game and BARELY made it. We arrived at the hotel at 2:30 and weren't able to check in until well after 4. No rooms were ready and come 4, there was a check-in line that was literally 100 people long. Then there was a wait for the elevators. Hotel was in a great location to get to the game, but that was about it. Lots of complaining from the guests. And to make it even worse, the hotel charged $25 a night to park along with being taxed. Hotel bar wasn't open past 11 on a sold out Saturday night. The only good thing about this hotel was how close it was to the park. Wouldn't recommend staying there unless that is your sole purpose of being in DC. And plan on the check-in wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

As far as we could tell, there was no nightlife anywhere close. Hotel bar was the only thing within walking distance and that closed at 11--on a Saturday!

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D.C. Travelor
Family
Pennsylvania
Jan 5, 2010

Hotel

Great price and fufilled our needs for the night. However, it was very, very noisey with police sirens, traffic and a nearby fire station. Rooms need updating. They need to be more detailed in cleaning of rooms. Price for parking was much cheaper hear then at most hotels in D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is not a hotel to stay at if you want to be close to the attractions. You will need to drive. We decided to stay an extra night in D.C. but could not get a good rate at the hotel we were at for an extra night so we moved to this hotel which was $130 cheaper per night. The attraction we wanted to see was far, but we planned on driving there anyway so this hotel worked for us.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York City
Oct 13, 2009

Shabby

First thing after checking in, we parked the car in the underground garage were we noticed a few people loitering. Our floor smelled like 100 people had just smoked cigarettes, which is odd as there is a no smoking policy. The pictures the hotel provides make the hotel seem a lot nicer than it is. It is a dump with some paint, and stupid lobby furniture. You can walk to the Capitol (if you dont mind walking under some deserted areas under highways) which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pres P.
Couples
N/A
May 12, 2015

Antiquated 2-Star Hotel

The price for this hotel was too good to be true and I should have listened to my gut. The hotel is in a seedy part of DC and is very antiquated. And by seedy I counted 5+ cop sirens going past our room at 10:00 PM. I am unsure as to how this hotel got a 3-Star rating because it is very much a 2-Star in my books. The room was very dark, dingy and never cooled off the whole night. The room was just as hot and humid as I awoke the next morning as to when I entered that night. The bed was also very uncomfortable. You can tell that the hotel was recently remodeled but it all looks very DIY. The pros of this hotel were the staff and free parking. The guy checking us in was very courteous and attentive. The free parking was also nice. Overall, I can't recommend this hotel and think it should be re-evaluated because it simply is not a 3-Star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brandy B.
Single
N/A
Jun 17, 2015

Sunday night stay

I didn't like the location and the parking was difficult for someone that was coming to visit me during my stay. The hotel room was very small and cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AnissaRN
Family
Bushkill
Jul 6, 2015

Would not stay there again

Although the staff were very polite and helpful, we did not like the hotel stay. The rooms were to small for a family of 4, they could use some upgrading as well. While we were there there was some type of pool party and it was very raucous. People were out in the streets with there bathing suits on. The parking garage was terrible. And lastly its to far from the attractions. It was just not the type of hotel we are use to staying in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jay1
Friends
N/A
Jul 9, 2015

Very ghetto

In the ghetto, sketchy pool party, sketchy parking, upside is it's a 5 minute walk from the stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top