$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
412 out of 412
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frena
Tx
Mar 2, 2013

family getaway

we were waiting in the hotel resturant one hour for our food the first night, other than that the rest was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juan Carlos Monroe
Business
miami
Nov 17, 2013

staff needs impovement

My experience at the Capitol Skyline Hotel was a little below my expectations. First, I was not able to have a one hour late check out. Keep in mind this was in the middle of the week, no holiday. The front desk person just said "No", no indication that she would check with someone or any other accommodation. Also, front staff needs to know the DC area a little better. I asked for directions to the Navy Yard and was given the wrong directions. I also had a problem with the front desk person getting a taxi, it took over 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
viggie
Business
san josr California
May 26, 2014

ok

Just. A normal hotel. That says one thing but does another. High dining

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BELLEVILLE, MI.
Sep 27, 2009

Just my opinion...

THE ROOM WAS CLEAN AND MADE UP DAILY. IT IS VERY NOISEY DUE TO A POLICE STATION 2 BLKS AWAY. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY BUT THE RESTAURANT WAS UNDER STAFFED AND VERY OVERPRICED FOR THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD. THIS IS THE ONLY HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN THAT DIDN'T HAVE A COFFEE MAKER IN THE ROOM. IF ALL YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IS A PLACE TO SLEEP, THIS PLACE ISN'T TOO BAD BUT THERE IS NOTHING ELSE TO RECOMMEND IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Johnny Mac
Business
Middletown, NJ, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Just A Quick Overnight Stay

I don't recommend this hotel if you are staying for a long weekend or longer. I stayed one night and that is all I would stay. Shady looking building in a shady area. The rooms were clean but outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must take a cab from here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Dec 5, 2009

Bad and Good

First the positive:1.) The location was excellent for my needs. My travel time to my destination was roughly 10 minutes by walking.2.) The bed was comfortable.Now the negative: 1.) Staff at the front desk were rude (not only to me but to other guests not affiliated with me). I had been flying all day and was both tired and hungry. The third evening of my visit, I returned from my business and my room key would not work. I had to go the front desk for assistance. This took 30 minutes. It was understaffed with only one person at the desk. This person was rude to the person checking in, the phone was ringing non-spot and he was rude to the people on the phone. I went (only once) to get coffee in the morning. Not only was the coffee bad, but the lady serving was rude.2.) My room was ok (clean), although I had requested non-smoking and the entire floor smelled like a cigarette. And the door lock was broken off the wall and door, the room number display was a hand-written note taped to the wall. And you could not control the temperature in the room; the choices were very hot or hot.3.) Wake up calls. If you stay here, don't ask for a wake up call. You either will not get it, or it will come 30 minutes or so later. I requested a 6:15 wake up call for the first morning I was to wake up. Didn't even get one. Second morning I requested a wake up call for 7:00. It came....at 7:45 when I was getting ready to walk out the door. My final morning I had an early AM flight and needed to get up earlier than usual, again, no wake up call. And I told them that I never received a wake up call.4.) Internet was slow. The business office printer never worked (even after staff were informed) and I was unable to check in online for my flight.Overall, I would only recommend this hotel for someone with meetings specifically in walking distance from the hotel who does not intend to spend any time at the hotel other than sleeping and showering. [...]I would suggest staying somewhere else other the Capitol Skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Why do I know this?
Business
New York, NY
May 8, 2009

Don't believe the hype

I came to the hotel early in the morning. I knew a room wouldn't be available, but I asked them to confirm reservation, which they did. When I came back in the afternoon to check-in they said I wasn't in the system. I stood around for almost 30 minutes while they put me in the system. The property is slightly run down and you can see the top of the Capitol building over some sort of industrial space. The hotel is near a fire house, so there's quite a bit of noise, even at night. It's possible to walk to the Mall, but it's not pleasant. I've stayed at other DC 3-star hotels, and this is more like a 2-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I love Grill Fish on the far side of the Mall from the hotel. Worth the cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 30, 2009

Something Lacking

Older building, beginning to deteriorate. Not within easy walking distance to the usual Capital Hill locations, though close enough to the ballpark. Missing amenities like a coffee maker or refrigerator in your room, or free continental breakfast. Room wasn't ready when I arrived, though I booked it a month earlier, and the staff was not especially helpful or knowledgable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sayre pa
May 14, 2011

hmmm....would not stay there again

Very old hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, Pa
Jul 11, 2011

Terrible Service

I am going to any site I can find to write a review. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! Me and my two friends visited for a relaxing July 4th weekend. We were completely unaware that the pool was a "party" pool, and because of our age were treated awful. The front desk was not helpful and at times very rude. We did not feel like welcomed hotel guests. Early one morning someone knocked on our door (when the do not distrub sign was out) and asked if we were leaving that day. We were not scheduled to leave for two more days. The hotel itself was great location and the room was comfortable, beside the cockroach in the bathroom. We will not return because of the awful customer service. Also, our credit card was charged an extra $150.. that we did not spend, we are now working with the bank to have it removed. Customer service claimed they did not charge it, but we have documented proof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 4, 2011

Definitely not the Marriott

The hotel staff, the courtesy shuttle, the pool, the secured parking garage, and proximity to Nationals Stadium were the only redeeming qualities of this hotel. When we arrived, the air conditioner was broken. They were nice enough to offer us free parking, but that was already included [...] They did offer us a free breakfast for the next day instead, and must say, would have been displeased if forced to pay the $11.95/person rate as it was poor quality food. The mattresses on the bed were not only sunken in the middle from so much use, we needed assistance climbing out in the morning because to do so was challenging. The bedroom decor was straight from a low-budget adult film and our "Capital Skyline" was a view of the smoke stacks from a neighboring factory. The location is not central to any decent restaurants and the lounge wasn't staffed the one night we wanted to relax with a cocktail. All-in-all, rather disappointing. Its a good thing we were only there to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Batting Cage across from Nationals Stadium is an enclosed parking lot serving refreshments, live music, and a variety of games to enjoy. Prices are more reasonable than inside the stadium and atmosphere is akin to someone's backyard BBQ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top