$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
412 out of 412
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Dec 5, 2009

Bad and Good

First the positive:1.) The location was excellent for my needs. My travel time to my destination was roughly 10 minutes by walking.2.) The bed was comfortable.Now the negative: 1.) Staff at the front desk were rude (not only to me but to other guests not affiliated with me). I had been flying all day and was both tired and hungry. The third evening of my visit, I returned from my business and my room key would not work. I had to go the front desk for assistance. This took 30 minutes. It was understaffed with only one person at the desk. This person was rude to the person checking in, the phone was ringing non-spot and he was rude to the people on the phone. I went (only once) to get coffee in the morning. Not only was the coffee bad, but the lady serving was rude.2.) My room was ok (clean), although I had requested non-smoking and the entire floor smelled like a cigarette. And the door lock was broken off the wall and door, the room number display was a hand-written note taped to the wall. And you could not control the temperature in the room; the choices were very hot or hot.3.) Wake up calls. If you stay here, don't ask for a wake up call. You either will not get it, or it will come 30 minutes or so later. I requested a 6:15 wake up call for the first morning I was to wake up. Didn't even get one. Second morning I requested a wake up call for 7:00. It came....at 7:45 when I was getting ready to walk out the door. My final morning I had an early AM flight and needed to get up earlier than usual, again, no wake up call. And I told them that I never received a wake up call.4.) Internet was slow. The business office printer never worked (even after staff were informed) and I was unable to check in online for my flight.Overall, I would only recommend this hotel for someone with meetings specifically in walking distance from the hotel who does not intend to spend any time at the hotel other than sleeping and showering. [...]I would suggest staying somewhere else other the Capitol Skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
samisaadi
Business
New Jersey
Nov 29, 2009

WORST HOTEL ON EARTH

Worst hotel I ever seen, please anyone planing a trip to washington avoid this hotel, when we first arrived our room wasnt ready and we had to wait for like 3 hours to get ready, they charged extra 20$ for parking, no hotel emplyee on the front door, no one will help you with the lagguage, the hotel smells funny, we asked for a queen bed room and we got a room with two seperate beds, at night the nose was high, I can keep going on and on about how bad this hotel, how unfriendly, un clean filthy place it is, please AVOID

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Adelaide and Lancaster
Nov 3, 2009

Super Modern Hotel

I can't say a bad thing about this hotel, friendly staff, enjoyed out stay very much. Restaurant is WONDERFUL!!! Fiance' recommends the Fried Chicken, He wanted to give the cook a kiss!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Cab's are plentiful, if you wish to drive, the location is central and everything in DC is easy to find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Oct 13, 2009

Shabby

First thing after checking in, we parked the car in the underground garage were we noticed a few people loitering. Our floor smelled like 100 people had just smoked cigarettes, which is odd as there is a no smoking policy. The pictures the hotel provides make the hotel seem a lot nicer than it is. It is a dump with some paint, and stupid lobby furniture. You can walk to the Capitol (if you dont mind walking under some deserted areas under highways) which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BELLEVILLE, MI.
Sep 27, 2009

Just my opinion...

THE ROOM WAS CLEAN AND MADE UP DAILY. IT IS VERY NOISEY DUE TO A POLICE STATION 2 BLKS AWAY. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY BUT THE RESTAURANT WAS UNDER STAFFED AND VERY OVERPRICED FOR THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD. THIS IS THE ONLY HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN THAT DIDN'T HAVE A COFFEE MAKER IN THE ROOM. IF ALL YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IS A PLACE TO SLEEP, THIS PLACE ISN'T TOO BAD BUT THERE IS NOTHING ELSE TO RECOMMEND IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 20, 2009

Capitol Hill Suites Washington DC

The hotel was great! It was a five blocks from the capitol building and three blocks from the washington nationals stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Happy Teacher
Business
League City, TX
Aug 12, 2009

The Skyline Hotel

Excellent staff, specially the concierge, very helpful with the Shuttle to Restaurants in the Waterfront (Phillip's Seafood Buffett is great!) and Clyde's in downtown (my wife loved the Maine Lobster!). Breakftast at the Hotel was really good and the servers very friendly and helpful. We will return. Thanks, concierge for the good humor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the Concierge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 30, 2009

Something Lacking

Older building, beginning to deteriorate. Not within easy walking distance to the usual Capital Hill locations, though close enough to the ballpark. Missing amenities like a coffee maker or refrigerator in your room, or free continental breakfast. Room wasn't ready when I arrived, though I booked it a month earlier, and the staff was not especially helpful or knowledgable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Don
Business
Delaware
Jul 22, 2009

Great Stay in DC

Nice retro hotel very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Pool Bar has excellent food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sterling, Mass.
Jun 20, 2009

Don't judge a book by its cover

The hotel was a good location, but difficult to find coming from the Capital (walking). Staff was nice and very helpful in finding a place to dine. The shuttle was a great added benefit, but more times should be available. The shuttle also seemed to be late throughout the day, making it difficult to know whether you missed your trip downtown or not. A return shuttle would be an even greater benefit to guests!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Old Ebbitt's Grill is my favorite place to eat in the city. Good service and GREAT food. Arrive early or make reservations! It is about a mile and a half from the hotel and just across the street from the White House!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top