$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 7, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
409 reviews
Very nice place

Clean, nice staff, good rooms, great location, and a very good bargain overall. It was my second... See full review

  • AusAbogado
  • Feb 15, 2015
Great location, view, and service

Really thought for the rate that we got a nice, clean, quiet room with hospitable staff and... See full review

  • dsudawg06
  • Feb 11, 2015
Friendly and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Washington DC
The independently owned and operated Capitol Skyline Hotel offers everything a guest could need for a relaxing stay. Located close to the attractions that Washington DC has to offer, Capitol Skyline Hotel also has an onsite restaurant serving classic American meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free wireless Internet connection is available. A free shuttle service takes Capitol Skyline Hotel guests to the downtown area and local metro stations. Business guests also find space for up to 500 people in the banqueting hall as well as meeting rooms.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideal for location near downtown Washington DC and area attractions
  • Free shuttle service
  • Onsite restaurant, seasonal pool and friendly staff help guests feel at home
Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms
Capitol Skyline Hotel offers a range of room styles for guests to enjoy. Each room has two double beds, a spacious sitting area and a workstation - ideal for business guests. Enjoy views overlooking the outdoor pool, the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington DC. Complimentary Internet access is available in each room at the Capital Skyline hotel. Accessible rooms are available. A concierge is also on hand at the Capital Skyline hotel to assist guests with their individual needs. Room service is also available.
Things to Do:
  • Korean War Memorial (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of American History (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • White House (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery/Tomb of the Unknowns (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Washington Monument (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Pentagon (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Washington Redskins/FedEx Field (12 mi/19.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Self parking available at $25 USD plus tax per night.
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 USD per night payable directly at the hotel.
  • No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (409)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
409 out of 409
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
college park nd
Feb 14, 2010

good time

it was a nice time, we upgraded to a larger room after being placed in a tiny room next to the elevator. The restaurant was closed so that was a let down, and the location is awkwardly on a highway but it was a nice time overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MIAMI, FL
Jan 17, 2010

GREAT HOTEL!! NICE LOCATION... CLEAN!!!

THE HOTEL WAS GREAT.... CLEAN.. AND GREAT LOCATION... THE ONLY THING I DID NOT LIKE IT,, WAS THAT THEY GAVE ME A ROOM WITH 2 BEDS.. AND I RESERVED FOR 1 QUEEN BED... AND WHEN I CALL RECEPCTION THEY SAID: THAT I RESERVED N [...]AND THAT DEPENDS IN AVAILABILITY... AND THERE'S NO MORE 1 QUEEN BED ROOMS AT THIS TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D.C. Travelor
Business
Pennsylvania
Jan 5, 2010

Hotel

Great price and fufilled our needs for the night. However, it was very, very noisey with police sirens, traffic and a nearby fire station. Rooms need updating. They need to be more detailed in cleaning of rooms. Price for parking was much cheaper hear then at most hotels in D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is not a hotel to stay at if you want to be close to the attractions. You will need to drive. We decided to stay an extra night in D.C. but could not get a good rate at the hotel we were at for an extra night so we moved to this hotel which was $130 cheaper per night. The attraction we wanted to see was far, but we planned on driving there anyway so this hotel worked for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stang 'O Seven
Business
Edison NJ
Dec 31, 2009

Good stay with some complaints

We went there 2 hours early and was offerred smoking room since non-smoking was not ready yet. We got out of it immediately as we couldn't bare the suffocation. The non-smoking room was a very pleasant one with good view. They charged $20 extra for parking which was unexpected. I would not have come if I knew the extra parking charge. So beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob Tack
Business
Red Springs, NC
Dec 17, 2009

Cheap Getaway

Front desk and bartender very nice. Breakfast was expensive. I recommend walking to the McDonald's across the street. Free shuttle to the sites! Very easy to get to Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the shuttle!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 8, 2009

Great Value

The location was convenient to the Capitol building. The last time I was in D.C., I stayed by the university at three times the price and this hotel was just as close to the main attractions as that one. The room was nicely sized. I requested a high floor view room and was hooked up with a lovely room overlooking the Capitol. There is a free shuttle service in the mornings to the mall. There is a McDonald's across the street for coffee if you don't want room service. The 7-11 is 2 blocks down, as well as a liquor store 3 blocks down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Spend a few minutes to become familiar with the Metro system. It goes to Ronald Reagan Airport as well as Arlington, etc. You can save about 15-20 dollars by taking a very convenient train. Be prepared to do some walking. Call the hotel for information if you need. The are very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
catellovision
Business
NY
Dec 7, 2009

clean, safe, cheap and convenient!

It was walking distance to all the sites. secured parking lot, resturaunt, pool, gift shop, vending machines. It had a good artistic decor. When I walked into my room for the first time at night all I could see was the Capital shining bright. It costs me $80 a night compared to the other hotels seeking close to $150 and up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I left the hotel and took a 2 block walk to "The Mall!" It was very conveneient!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Dec 5, 2009

Bad and Good

First the positive:1.) The location was excellent for my needs. My travel time to my destination was roughly 10 minutes by walking.2.) The bed was comfortable.Now the negative: 1.) Staff at the front desk were rude (not only to me but to other guests not affiliated with me). I had been flying all day and was both tired and hungry. The third evening of my visit, I returned from my business and my room key would not work. I had to go the front desk for assistance. This took 30 minutes. It was understaffed with only one person at the desk. This person was rude to the person checking in, the phone was ringing non-spot and he was rude to the people on the phone. I went (only once) to get coffee in the morning. Not only was the coffee bad, but the lady serving was rude.2.) My room was ok (clean), although I had requested non-smoking and the entire floor smelled like a cigarette. And the door lock was broken off the wall and door, the room number display was a hand-written note taped to the wall. And you could not control the temperature in the room; the choices were very hot or hot.3.) Wake up calls. If you stay here, don't ask for a wake up call. You either will not get it, or it will come 30 minutes or so later. I requested a 6:15 wake up call for the first morning I was to wake up. Didn't even get one. Second morning I requested a wake up call for 7:00. It came....at 7:45 when I was getting ready to walk out the door. My final morning I had an early AM flight and needed to get up earlier than usual, again, no wake up call. And I told them that I never received a wake up call.4.) Internet was slow. The business office printer never worked (even after staff were informed) and I was unable to check in online for my flight.Overall, I would only recommend this hotel for someone with meetings specifically in walking distance from the hotel who does not intend to spend any time at the hotel other than sleeping and showering. [...]I would suggest staying somewhere else other the Capitol Skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
samisaadi
Business
New Jersey
Nov 29, 2009

WORST HOTEL ON EARTH

Worst hotel I ever seen, please anyone planing a trip to washington avoid this hotel, when we first arrived our room wasnt ready and we had to wait for like 3 hours to get ready, they charged extra 20$ for parking, no hotel emplyee on the front door, no one will help you with the lagguage, the hotel smells funny, we asked for a queen bed room and we got a room with two seperate beds, at night the nose was high, I can keep going on and on about how bad this hotel, how unfriendly, un clean filthy place it is, please AVOID

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Adelaide and Lancaster
Nov 3, 2009

Super Modern Hotel

I can't say a bad thing about this hotel, friendly staff, enjoyed out stay very much. Restaurant is WONDERFUL!!! Fiance' recommends the Fried Chicken, He wanted to give the cook a kiss!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Cab's are plentiful, if you wish to drive, the location is central and everything in DC is easy to find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top