$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
440 out of 440
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Mar 29, 2011

Good price, comfortable room

The price was good for the DC area. At first the area seemed a little "sketchy" but we warmed up to it and walked to Eastern market and felt perfectly safe. The hotel offered a shuttle service which we didn't use because so many guests were waiting for the next one so we just called a taxi. For only $10 we were able to get where we needed to go quickly. It was clean, comfortable, some problems with wifi. Would book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Just call a cab and get to most of the sites in the DC area for only ten bucks!

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kombo
Business
Bronx,NY
Mar 28, 2011

Great Hotel but no free breakfast!

I visited the national mall,US Capitol, Holocaust Museum, Abraham Lincoln Memorial and Air & Space Museum etc. The Air & Space Museum was the best entertainment I had. It is great!. I stayed for 4 days. The Hotel was great but did not include free breakfast. That is the main reason I did not give it a 4 star. The bedroom was beautiful and very comfortable. It has a nice view of the US Capitol. I will definitely come back to this same hotel in the future. I payed $115 dollars per night which I think was a good deal. This trip was a success for me and my wife. The only thing that I did not like is the Mcdonalds are full of homeless people. I saw at least 5 right inside the MCdonalds in the corner of the hotel. One was begging for money inside. I felt bad. In chinatown gallery place in front of Chipotle a lot of gang teens causing trouble. That was scary. I liked the fact the internet wifi is free in this hotel. If there was a refrigerator inside the rooms I would give it a 5 star. I loved the fact that nobody bothered me in the hotel, so i had privacy. I felt like arriving home. Very nice and quiet. I used my car to go out to eat to the white flint mall 35 minutes from the hotel because I was tired of junk food. There is tasty Japanese food in this mall for $5.49 a plate. I was in shocked when at the 7 eleven they charged me 5 cents for a plastic bag. is near the hotel and bottles of water are cheap. I have to give credit to the hotel shuttle bus. It was a nice amenitie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Air & Space Museum was the best place to go.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Your average young tourist
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 28, 2011

A recreational getaway in DC

The staff was not very friendly, almost straight up rude at times. Only, [...] was very kind. [...].The rooms are average. However, it is not a disappointment because of the affordable price. The location was fine. Close to the National Mall but far from the entertainment and dining opportunities. Being close to a metro stop compensates for this problem.The movie rental options were very up to date and affordable and provided cheap and relaxed nights after hours of walking in DC.The house keeping was very friendly and kind too.The best part of this hotel was the complimentary wireless provided by the hotel in the rooms. Even though it was not very fast it was good enough. The communal computers and printer were very useful too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A 7/11 on the way to the metro station is a good opportunity to grab breakfast before a busy day!

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kombo
Business
Bronx,NY
Mar 28, 2011

Great Hotel but no free breakfast!

I visited the national mall,US Capitol, Holocaust Museum, Abraham Lincoln Memorial and Air & Space Museum etc. The Air & Space Museum was the best entertainment I had. It is great!. I stayed for 4 days. The Hotel was great but did not include free breakfast. That is the main reason I did not give it a 4 star. The bedroom was beautiful and very comfortable. It has a nice view of the US Capitol. I will definitely come back to this same hotel in the future. I payed $115 dollars per night which I think was a good deal. This trip was a success for me and my wife. The only thing that I did not like is the Mcdonalds are full of homeless people. I saw at least 5 right inside the MCdonalds in the corner of the hotel. One was begging for money inside. I felt bad. In chinatown gallery place in front of Chipotle a lot of gang teens causing trouble. That was scary. I liked the fact the internet wifi is free in this hotel. If there was a refrigerator inside the rooms I would give it a 5 star. I loved the fact that nobody bothered me in the hotel, so i had privacy. I felt like arriving home. Very nice and quiet. I used my car to go out to eat to the white flint mall 35 minutes from the hotel because I was tired of junk food. There is tasty Japanese food in this mall for $5.49 a plate. I was in shocked when at the 7 eleven they charged me 5 cents for a plastic bag. is near the hotel and bottles of water are cheap. I have to give credit to the hotel shuttle bus. It was a nice amenitie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Air & Space Museum was the best place to go.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Mar 27, 2011

It was as advertised!

No surprises, and that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth, VA
Mar 27, 2011

Older hotel; but clean

Friendly checkout. 7 out of 10 points. Clean, moderately updated room. 7 out of 10 points. Mattress needs updating. 6 out of 10 points. Good shower/tub/water pressure. 7 out of 10 points. Quick checkout. 7 out of 10 points. Location is four blocks from Navy Yard (Green Line) Metro station and 12 minute walk from the Capitol building. Not the best area of town, but no gunshots ringing out and near a few basic fastfood restaurants (7 out 10 points).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

At the end of the long day, skip the Metro ride (usually a 30 minute affair). Take a taxi - it'll likely be about 10 bucks (vs. three to five bucks for a couple or family).

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 25, 2011

Great Stay for the price!!

I was in DC for a company show called ITEX. The price was so affordable compared to other agencies. Hotel staff were great Great Time playing Tourist in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

China Town has a lot of restaurants within walking distance

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus OH
Mar 25, 2011

a very good place

The room is big and clean. The beds and the facilities are very confortable. I will stay there next time. One little flaw is the WiFi is not good. The speed is very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The place is very good for traveling in Washington D.C. Many attractions are in walk distance.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 25, 2011

Great Stay for the price!!

I was in DC for a company show called ITEX. The price was so affordable compared to other agencies. Hotel staff were great Great Time playing Tourist in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

China Town has a lot of restaurants within walking distance

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Mar 23, 2011

Solid accommodations

friendly, professional, accommodating. Breakfast buffet is the exception, despite the extra high price charged for it. One of the best beds I ever slept in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top