$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
387 reviews
This years stay at Capital Skyline Hotel

Each year My travels lead me to the D.D. area during the Thanksgiving weekend and I stay at this... See full review

  • Thehatmann
  • Dec 3, 2014
Best time

KIDS LOVE IT BECAUSE of the pool but the pool area is more for grown ups after dark. Location is... See full review

  • Brigii
  • Nov 30, 2014
Friendly and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Washington DC
The independently owned and operated Capitol Skyline Hotel offers everything a guest could need for a relaxing stay. Located close to the attractions that Washington DC has to offer, Capitol Skyline Hotel also has an onsite restaurant serving classic American meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free wireless Internet connection is available. A free shuttle service takes Capitol Skyline Hotel guests to the downtown area and local metro stations. Business guests also find space for up to 500 people in the banqueting hall as well as meeting rooms.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideal for location near downtown Washington DC and area attractions
  • Free shuttle service
  • Onsite restaurant, seasonal pool and friendly staff help guests feel at home
Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms
Capitol Skyline Hotel offers a range of room styles for guests to enjoy. Each room has two double beds, a spacious sitting area and a workstation - ideal for business guests. Enjoy views overlooking the outdoor pool, the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington DC. Complimentary Internet access is available in each room at the Capital Skyline hotel. Accessible rooms are available. A concierge is also on hand at the Capital Skyline hotel to assist guests with their individual needs. Room service is also available.
Things to Do:
  • Korean War Memorial (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of American History (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • White House (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery/Tomb of the Unknowns (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Washington Monument (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Pentagon (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Washington Redskins/FedEx Field (12 mi/19.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Self parking available at $25 USD plus tax per night.
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 USD per night payable directly at the hotel.
  • No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (387)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
387 out of 387
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frena
Tx
Mar 2, 2013

family getaway

we were waiting in the hotel resturant one hour for our food the first night, other than that the rest was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bulbul
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Jan 25, 2013

capitol in the capitol

hotel was ok, free wifi, location is good, you can walk to capitol, but neighbor hood is not nice. staff is friendly. bed was curved in the middle, needs to improve on the matress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

hotel is near capitol building and all those museums. also have free shutle, pick up and drop, which can save you time and money with kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stolze Fan
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Feb 7, 2013

Heed the following warnings

The good: The hotel is a twenty-minute walk from the Capitol building. My room was clean (with no frills). The hotel also offers a shuttle further into town in the morning and in the evening (drop-offs only). The bad: The hotel is located in an unremarkable part of town, south of the interstate. To walk up the street to the Capitol or Mall, the area frequented by most sightseers (and, thereby, anyone who'd ever stay in this hotel), one has to walk through a little slice of urban wasteland, including the shadowy sidewalk beneath the interstate overpass. During the day, this is tolerable. At night, it is unnerving. Taxis to/from the hotel are a must after dark. Also, the two metro stops nearest the hotel are almost as far away as the Capitol, which defeats the purpose of using them in place of walking. The ugly: I arrived at the hotel around noon, knowing that check-in was at 4:00. I asked the two people (there are never more than two people at the front desk) if I might leave my bag with them, go into town, and then return after 4:00 to check in. I was told that, if my room was ready, I could check in early. Lo, and behold: my room was, indeed, ready. The young lady behind the desk asked to see the credit card with which I paid for the room ahead of time. Little did I know that she swiped it not only to pull up my record but also to add the FIFTY DOLLAR early check-in fee. I've never in my life had to pay for an early check-in. Moreover, not being informed that I was being so charged only exacerbated the annoyance. The young lady behind the desk left me to discover this treat on my credit card statement. Summation: Proverbially, you get what you pay for. If you don't mind the walk during the day and the taxi fare at night, it's a decent bargain. Try to take advantage of the shuttle, which can fill up quickly in the morning and which, to repeat, only drops you off but will not come pick you up. For my money and peace of mind, I'll stay closer to DuPont Circle next time. And, for God's sake, don't check in early unless you have fifty dollars you'd like to see the backside of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MichB
Business
New York, NY
Feb 22, 2013

Great until the Bed Bugs

I was very pleased about the location of this hotel as well as the price. I stayed here for 2 nights, and it wasn't until after night number 1 that I realized there were beg bugs and I was bitten several times. These bugs were in the adult stages of their life so that means they have been there a while. I brought this to the manager's attention and all he said was I know, and moved me to another room. They need to handle this situation ASAP, and shouldn't allow people to stay there knowing they have bed bugs. If you can avoid this hotel all together do so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nessynpook
Business
so.plfd
Mar 30, 2013

shocked

From the picture it looked elegant and secure . Building exterior was old and out dated no landscaping looked dull. Inside overly painted dark colors and wall paper. Small inside. Checked in was given room with 1bed when my order was for 3ppl and 2 double beds. Had to get room switched. I was not impressed and thought if reservations were made staff should read and give correct service. Good option was parking garage underneath hotel to keep car safe thou extra charge per night. Also do tour bus which is good tourism are close by to drive no walkn distance. But for price I did not feel it was worth it. Maybe a half price I would expect it. I was an experience and beds were comfortable at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

6min drive to all musuem areas n shows

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LYNN KITTY LOVER
Business
LAS VEGAS NV
Apr 23, 2013

JUST ONE NIGHT

Because of a travel mix up I needed to hotel room for just 1 night. I was previously at the Grand Hyatt. D.C. hotels are very expensive, but I lucked up on $98.00 rate, including all taxes. The reviews for the Capitol Skyline were mixed, but I decided cost outweighed skepticism. It's a older hotel and surly can use a bit of sprucing up. I had a great view of the Capitol Building. But the sliding doors were missing from the closet, the alarm clock was broken, (glad I had my own) as was the tv remote, and there was no ice machine on my floor. My foremost concern however, was the $45.00 bar tab that was charged to my room the night I checked in. I informed the front desk and restaurant managers that this was NOT my charge, I only had the breakfast buffet and HAD PAID CASH. Since my transportation to the airport had arrived, I left with their assurance that they would address the matter and my credit card would not be charged. They lived up to their word. I know mistakes can happen, just double check your bill when you check out! All-in-all for overnight it was not bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I didn't use it, but from my 5th floor window I would see the McDonalds in the next block across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lovers of another
Business
Washington, D.C.
Aug 14, 2013

Not a good encounter

The lobby, the pool, the restaurant, and the staff make this hotel a 3 star place. The condition of the rooms, hallways, and elevators begs for attention!! Chipped paintings, dirty carpet, very untidy rooms with filth underneath the beds, accumulated dust on the window ledge may my two nights there a wonder in horror. The bath tub needed to be re-glazed and not to have a microwave or refrigerator in a 3 star hotel seems u heard of, even super 8 will have those! In addition, there's no coffee pot in the rooms either. Also, the breakfast buffet is nice, but you'll have to she'll put $9.99 to have that. Most 3 stars and above provide this as a complimentary meal, not here. Then near check out, there was no hot water for showering! Needless to say, this was worse than the motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sciencegrad traveler
Business
New Haven, CT
Nov 9, 2013

You get what you pay for

I booked this hotel at the last second because my original reservation didn't go through and the deal I got seemed too good to be true. While I should have done more research into the location myself, it is not in the best part of DC, though it seems to be getting gentrified it is still abandoned at night, so while it is pretty close to the Metro, I would cab it if you're arriving late and have a lot of valuables on you. It was clean but is a bit run down, the floor of the tub was peeling in my room and even though I booked a room with a queen bed I got one with 2 twin beds. I will have to say I probably wouldn't have bothered really writing a review at all if it hadn't been for the fact that the first night I was there someone was able to open my hotel room at 4AM. Whoever it was apologized and left but that was really not ok, one it woke me up at 4 am, two the hotel staff didn't really seem to know what had happened the next day, I locked the door with the latch after that. I was also annoyed that the hotel staff didn't seem all that concerned about it, although they did deactivate my key and reactivated new ones. If all you want is a cheap bed for the night this will do but don't expect anything beyond that and make sure to lock the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matt NJ
Business
Haddon Twp, NJ
Nov 11, 2013

Not happy

I first waited about 30 min to be help checking in. Then was informed that it would cost $24.00 for parking. I was then charged $50.00. The room was about 90 degrees when we checked in and did not cool off. Staff was slow and not very nice. The buffet really did not offer much and the food was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fauzer
Business
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Nov 17, 2013

Capitol-Washington

Good, but first room smelling cigarette. Terriblr. Than I changed the room and it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Good travel agency in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juan Carlos Monroe
Business
miami
Nov 17, 2013

staff needs impovement

My experience at the Capitol Skyline Hotel was a little below my expectations. First, I was not able to have a one hour late check out. Keep in mind this was in the middle of the week, no holiday. The front desk person just said "No", no indication that she would check with someone or any other accommodation. Also, front staff needs to know the DC area a little better. I asked for directions to the Navy Yard and was given the wrong directions. I also had a problem with the front desk person getting a taxi, it took over 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top