$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
440 out of 440
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chemgrl08
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Good for young adults, maybe not families

This place is ok- not fantastic, but I'd stay there again for the good price we got. Located close to the Capitol building (we could see it from our room,) its easy to walk downtown or hop on the metro after a short walk, so you don't need a car... But that's the only good thing about the location. Its right on the border of the "good" and "bad" sides of town, and the only place to eat nearby is a McDonald's across the road. If you go in winter, it gets dark early so be prepared to walk in the dark to someplace for dinner. That said, the room was clean and comfortable, which I appreciate, but the wifi (listed as free) was shoddy at best, and there was no evening restaurant as advertised. This would be a good place for young adults like myself to stay (in a group,) because the price is reasonable, but I wouldn't recommend it for families, teens, or older folks. I was a little on edge walking home everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a metro station that can save you a bundle on rental car fees. Its a short walk, but may be too far to walk with young children. Parking is also a big cost, so its better to use public transit to save money.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WZWZ
Business
A Chinese Visitor
Jan 1, 2012

A good hotel with good location

I booked a single room with a king bed. But when I opened the door, I am very glad and surprised that the hotel give me a big room with two king beds. It’s really luxury for me alone. Facilities in the room are quite new. It has a good location because it takes you a 15 minute’s walk to go to the Capitol Building and within a half hour to other main museums ( Please go out of the gate of hotel and take a few steps on the right. Then across the street, go along a narrow road leading to the Capitol. Try to remember how to come back and don’t miss it) Breakfast is simple but enough, having bread, coffee, milk, hot tea and fruits. I only visited half of Washington DC museums, and hope to visit the rest half next time and stay the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind walk, I think it is better to go to the main attractions on foot. It takes 8 mintues to the nearest subway "Navy Yard", but sometimes you have to wait 10~15 minutes for train. I only take subway to White House and Lincoln Memorial.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lea9
Business
North Carolina, USA
Jan 1, 2012

It was ok

The internet was down half the time (or really slow), the staff service is spotty (sometimes they are nice, sometimes less so), breakfast was so-so though the fresh yoghurt was nice. However, rooms are clean and comfortable, and amenities alright. Location will not be too good for those who like a more central locale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wade
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Great place to stay for the price

Great stay, ver good for the price...We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Mundial
Business
Lowell, MA
Dec 30, 2011

We would definitely go back

We arrived Christmas morning about 9:30 AM. Although we were early, the receptionist checked us into a very nice room with an excellent view of the Capitol. It was about a half mile walk from the hotel to the Capitol. There were several fast-food restaurants nearby but the closest nice restaurant (other than the hotel restaurant which was closed the first 2 days we were there) was also about half a mile away. The hotel had a pool, a fitness room, wireless internet, and all the usual amenities. My only complaints are: the wireless internet was down most of my last day there; and the breakfast was buffet style but they only had one toaster which resulted in long lines. In spite of the complaints, I thought we got a great deal and we enjoyed ourselves. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vadergale
Business
Michigan
Dec 30, 2011

Would stay there again

The hotel was very clean and the location was fairly close to the capitol and two metro stations if you want to use the bus or railway. The neighborhood was fairly nice,but not somewhere you want to be walking alone at night. My only complaints about the hotel is that there was no refridgerator or microwave in the room and the free breakfast buffet was bagles and ceareal. We were told a microwave was available for $15 a night to rent. We had a lot of fun, the prices were great, and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Capitol Metro Railway Station on 1st and D street. The railway system is clean and safe and a lot cheaper then Cab's. Get on the Blue or Orange line and it will take you within a short distance of all the good sites.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GLDT
Business
Staten Island, NY, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Great option for the money

When we needed a place for some of the family to stay, because of lack of space in the house, we found this hotel. For us it was perfect. The staff was very personable and the hotel was clean and the breakfast was as good as the breakfast that was served in the more expensive hotel that some of the other guests stayed at. I would stay here if I needed a place to stay when I come for a visit with the family. We parked near the house and ferried our family member back and forth to the hotel. The parking fee was less than other hotels but we still avoided paying it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BR2011
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Terrible Customer Service

My husband and I arrived at the hotel last week Sunday morning. We took out our id, our confirmation email and cash. We forgot out credit card at home and offered to give them the credit card number so they can punch it into their credit card machine. They refused to check us in. We were also offering to give them a cash deposit, as we have done in other hotels with no problem, but they wouldn't hear of it. They left us stranded in Washington DC, we had to change our bus tickets and go home that same night. The man that we dealt with was very rude and he treated us like he couldnt wait to get rid of us. Also, we stayed at this hotel at least twice a year for the past 3 years, so the least they could have done is make a one time exception. They also notified the site we booked our hotel on that we never showed up and threatened to charge us, after sending us away like some sort of garbage. They lost some very valuable customers as we travel to DC 3 to 4 times a year. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone for their lack of respect and competence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABOM
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Great Location on a Budget

This is a great place to stay if you're looking to be close to the attractions of DC at an affordable cost. The actual location isn't the best, but it's not far from the majority of the sites that DC has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hector x
Business
southern california
Dec 16, 2011

Okay place to crash

Wait staff is inattentive hotel is a little dingy but if you are looking for a place to stay that is inexpensive and near the national mall this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top