$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
436 out of 436
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Mick
Business
Phila.
Oct 22, 2013

Good value

The hotel offered shuttle service which was very helpful in getting around. I prefer to walk, however the neighborhood was a little out of the way. The room was large and very clean. The hotel staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Belga Cafe offered a very exciting dining experience. The prices are noderate, and the setting very pleasant.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Awesome Kel
Business
New York, NY
Nov 4, 2013

Last Minute Perfection

This hotel was great. The room was equipped with every thing needed for my stay. The hotels location was great, not to far from some of the attractions, and transportation was available if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geotpet54
Business
Putnam Valley, NY
Nov 9, 2013

The Capitol Skyline was great

Everything was great. The staff as very courteous. The rooms were very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Monkey
Business
Murrieta, CA
Nov 9, 2013

comfortable and accommodating

Hotel is older. Could use some upgrades. But very nice stay over all. Marco at the front desk is awesome. Customer service was great. Room was older a little run down drafty windows but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nycrbr
Business
New York
Nov 1, 2013

Convenient

Very convenient to Capital Hill and best price could find for comparative quality in area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Best price for value in Capital Hill area.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelHound24
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 12, 2013

Nice comfortable stay, with a few drawbacks

I stayed here for a week after getting a great deal through this site. I needed a temporary place to stay while in the process of relocating to DC and looking for other housing. The hotel was a bit out of the way from the main attractions of DC, but in walking distance to a Metro station and bus stops. The room was spacious and clean. There was no refrigerator, coffee maker, or microwave. So, don't expect to bring back any leftovers. At best, you can ask to borrow a coffee maker, but they'll charge you $10 for the length of your stay. I was able to get hot water from the restaurant in the mornings for making oatmeal and tea in my room. Speaking of the restaurant, I ate the breakfast buffet there on three mornings. The food was of good quality, but could have used a bit more variety. For instance, some fresh sliced fruit would have been nice. The "all you can eat" buffet price was $10, so a bit less than I expected based on other reviews. Perhaps that's their off-season rate. I requested a room on the top floor and found it to be pleasant and quiet overall. There was a safe in the room large enough for a laptop and a desk with comfortable chair. I was on the side away from the Capitol building, so not much of a view, but I was more concerned about noise than view. The heating unit was a bit tricky in terms of getting the temperature where you wanted it. Being on the top floor, the sun seemed to keep the room rather warm during the day. On a windy day, the windows made a howling noise, which was a bit annoying. Housekeeping was good about leaving you alone if you kept the "do not disturb" sign up, but you could hear them going down the halls starting around 9 a.m. knocking and yelling "housekeeping!" The worst part of the stay was the Internet access. While it seemed to be working well during the first couple days of my stay, it became painfully slow for the remainder. I reported the problem to the front desk on two occasions, but the situation never improved. If you need reliable Internet for business use, don't stay here. Also, the "complimentary shuttle service" is very limited, offering drop-offs only in for a couple hours in the morning and late afternoon to a set number of locations. They would not pick me up from the nearby Union Station either, so I had to get a taxi, which was cheap enough given the short distance. It's a bit misleading from their web site and other information which led me to believe they'll shuttle you anywhere within a certain distance of the hotel upon request. Though, as I mentioned above, public transportation access is close by. Coming back at night, I would usually take the bus to the SW M St & SW Howison Pl, which provided a shorter walk back to the hotel than the Metro stop. The walk also went by a fire station and felt fairly safe. Overall, a nice place to stay if you're looking for something a bit more upscale than the cheaper hotels around and definitely worth it if you can get on a deal / discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Justin's Cafe was a short walk from the hotel and provided tasty food options. They were also able to accommodate a vegan diet.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JanetP1
Business
Portand,OR
Nov 21, 2013

Good Hotel for Capitol Visit

This hotel had friendly staff, comfortable spacious room with desk, and large flat screen TV. My heater didn't work as well as I would like. No coffee makers in the rooms or in the lobby-had to wait for the restaurant to open, and then the shuttle driver would not allow coffee with lid in the shuttle van. The free shuttle to major locations in the capital was of great value. I recommend this hotel. *The hotel computer/printer for boarding passes did not work the entire 3 days I was there, however, the helpful night clerk was printing them out for people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adventurous getaway
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 25, 2013

spontaneous birthday getaway

The hotel is a little scary looking on the outside, but once you walk in, it's very nice. It was quiet and the room was nice. I slept like a baby because Of the comfort, awesome! The car garage is very private and indoors, that was great. Online I read it was free parking. It's not, but the other hotels nearby want 48 to 60 for parking, so 25 wasn't bad at all. I also loved that checkout was at 12 and not 11 like some other places. It was 15 minutes away from every where I needed to be. I'm definitely going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

My friends ans me went to The Park on 14th St. It's a really classy club. We also went to the flea market on 7th St. and then ate at This little Mexican restaurant near it. Good food!!

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MargieMaude
Business
Navy Yard Skyline Capitol Hotel
Dec 3, 2013

Great Place to stay!!

Friendly diverse community of staff on hand. Includes Luisgies Restaurant, yummy breakfast foods with coffee Short walk in distance to 7 11 convient store, local neighborhood church, McDonald if desired fast foods CVS store Metro and Bus to all National Mall sights This is my first trip, and the price package was worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a weekly Metro pass which one may use on Metro train and bus and can add money to card as needed, can purchase card and CVS store or inside of Metro Train station which is respectifully named Navy Yard

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana7cloud
Business
Japan
Dec 1, 2013

Convenient position

The position of the hotel is quiet convenient - it's only 20 minutes walking from the Capitol. It also has free shuttle buses service that let you go to the main sightseeing spots easily. The room itself is clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top