$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
390 reviews
Great room!

Great room centrally located, ideal for out of towners looking to party in DC!!! See full review

  • Personal Trainer
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice Hotel

Spacious and clean room. Hotel needs café to be open Morning and afternoon See full review

  • Lau25
  • May 3, 2014
Friendly and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Washington DC
The independently owned and operated Capitol Skyline Hotel offers everything a guest could need for a relaxing stay. Located close to the attractions that Washington DC has to offer, Capitol Skyline Hotel also has an onsite restaurant serving classic American meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free wireless Internet connection is available. A free shuttle service takes Capitol Skyline Hotel guests to the downtown area and local metro stations. Business guests also find space for up to 500 people in the banqueting hall as well as meeting rooms.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideal for location near downtown Washington DC and area attractions
  • Free shuttle service
  • Onsite restaurant, seasonal pool and friendly staff help guests feel at home
Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms
Capitol Skyline Hotel offers a range of room styles for guests to enjoy. Each room has two double beds, a spacious sitting area and a workstation – ideal for business guests. Enjoy views overlooking the outdoor pool, the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington DC. Complimentary Internet access is available in each room at the Capital Skyline hotel. Accessible rooms are available. A concierge is also on hand at the Capital Skyline hotel to assist guests with their individual needs. Room service is also available.
Things to Do:
  • Korean War Memorial (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of American History (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • White House (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery/Tomb of the Unknowns (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Washington Monument (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Pentagon (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Washington Redskins/FedEx Field (12 mi/19.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Self parking available at $25 USD per night
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 per night payable directly at the hotel
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.879 -77.0098
Area served
Washington, DC
Nearby airports
Conveniently located just 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.Washington Dulles International Airport-34 Miles Baltimore Washington International Airport-33 Miles
Area description
The Capitol Skyline Hotel is conveniently located in downtown Washington, DC only a few blocks away from the United States Capitol, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution Museums, the Library of Congress, the Supreme Court, and the new Washington Nationals Stadium. Close to Washington Monument, the National Gallery of Art, Ft. McNair, Bolling Air Force Base, and the White House, the Capitol Skyline Hotel is the perfect choice of Washington DC hotels. The Capitol Skyline Hotel is easily accessed from the Navy Yard Metro and Interstates 95, 295, 395 and 495, is 1 mile or 5 Metro stops from the Washington Convention Center and 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kombo
Bronx,NY
Mar 28, 2011

Great Hotel but no free breakfast!

I visited the national mall,US Capitol, Holocaust Museum, Abraham Lincoln Memorial and Air & Space Museum etc. The Air & Space Museum was the best entertainment I had. It is great!. I stayed for 4 days. The Hotel was great but did not include free breakfast. That is the main reason I did not give it a 4 star. The bedroom was beautiful and very comfortable. It has a nice view of the US Capitol. I will definitely come back to this same hotel in the future. I payed $115 dollars per night which I think was a good deal. This trip was a success for me and my wife. The only thing that I did not like is the Mcdonalds are full of homeless people. I saw at least 5 right inside the MCdonalds in the corner of the hotel. One was begging for money inside. I felt bad. In chinatown gallery place in front of Chipotle a lot of gang teens causing trouble. That was scary. I liked the fact the internet wifi is free in this hotel. If there was a refrigerator inside the rooms I would give it a 5 star. I loved the fact that nobody bothered me in the hotel, so i had privacy. I felt like arriving home. Very nice and quiet. I used my car to go out to eat to the white flint mall 35 minutes from the hotel because I was tired of junk food. There is tasty Japanese food in this mall for $5.49 a plate. I was in shocked when at the 7 eleven they charged me 5 cents for a plastic bag. is near the hotel and bottles of water are cheap. I have to give credit to the hotel shuttle bus. It was a nice amenitie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Air & Space Museum was the best place to go.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Your average young tourist
Boston, MA
Mar 28, 2011

A recreational getaway in DC

The staff was not very friendly, almost straight up rude at times. Only, [...] was very kind. [...].The rooms are average. However, it is not a disappointment because of the affordable price. The location was fine. Close to the National Mall but far from the entertainment and dining opportunities. Being close to a metro stop compensates for this problem.The movie rental options were very up to date and affordable and provided cheap and relaxed nights after hours of walking in DC.The house keeping was very friendly and kind too.The best part of this hotel was the complimentary wireless provided by the hotel in the rooms. Even though it was not very fast it was good enough. The communal computers and printer were very useful too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A 7/11 on the way to the metro station is a good opportunity to grab breakfast before a busy day!

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, Ohio
Mar 27, 2011

It was as advertised!

No surprises, and that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portsmouth, VA
Mar 27, 2011

Older hotel; but clean

Friendly checkout. 7 out of 10 points. Clean, moderately updated room. 7 out of 10 points. Mattress needs updating. 6 out of 10 points. Good shower/tub/water pressure. 7 out of 10 points. Quick checkout. 7 out of 10 points. Location is four blocks from Navy Yard (Green Line) Metro station and 12 minute walk from the Capitol building. Not the best area of town, but no gunshots ringing out and near a few basic fastfood restaurants (7 out 10 points).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

At the end of the long day, skip the Metro ride (usually a 30 minute affair). Take a taxi - it'll likely be about 10 bucks (vs. three to five bucks for a couple or family).

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 25, 2011

Great Stay for the price!!

I was in DC for a company show called ITEX. The price was so affordable compared to other agencies. Hotel staff were great Great Time playing Tourist in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

China Town has a lot of restaurants within walking distance

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus OH
Mar 25, 2011

a very good place

The room is big and clean. The beds and the facilities are very confortable. I will stay there next time. One little flaw is the WiFi is not good. The speed is very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The place is very good for traveling in Washington D.C. Many attractions are in walk distance.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
Mar 23, 2011

Solid accommodations

friendly, professional, accommodating. Breakfast buffet is the exception, despite the extra high price charged for it. One of the best beds I ever slept in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, Ohio
Mar 23, 2011

what you pay is what you get

Overall, good experience. Metro was relatively far- about a 7 minute walk. But everything about the room exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Istanbul
Mar 10, 2011

not cental and old

I stayed at this hotel because I could not find any other online. The hotel is renowated inside and the rooms are spacious. But the heating was not sufficient. ı told this to reception but they didi nothing. They instantly charged me and + 50 dollar saying a fee of deposit. The surrounding is not safe for night walking but not far to the metro station. Wifi was barely working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Mar 7, 2011

Spring Break 2

Visit a friend in the area. This was a great location. Enjoyed the fact that I could see the State Capitol form the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search