$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
396 out of 396
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sonita
New Jersey
Feb 5, 2014

always a good visit

I always use this hotel when visiting my friends in D.C. It's conveniently located near museums and is quite affordable. The staff are friendly and always make me feel at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mini Mom
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 27, 2012

Job Interview

We were very happy with the room, staff and location. The big surprise at this hotel is the pool. Very Nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a tour with DC Tours and was very happy with our choice.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love143
Business
nj
Jul 22, 2012

my stay

The hotel was expensive and I would not have booked with them if it wasn't for the deal. The hotel is next to a bad part of town but close to the capitol. They charge 25 a night for parking your car because of the extra security. The beds were not comfortable at all. The pool was nice but if you are staying with your family, be prepared to hear loud music playing till nine on weekends they are pool party nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Most events and sights in dc are free. Eat in georgetown if you are willing to drive, but there prices are better in the resturants.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KAS985
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 29, 2012

First Time in DC

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and well maintained. The only downside was that the hotel is located in an up and coming neighborhood but was not close to any Washington sights other than the baseball stadium. The shuttle was a big help-but it only dropped off and you had to find your own way back. It is not close enough to the Metro to walk. Had a lovely time in DC-spent about $50 on taxi rides for 4 days (which I felt was more than reasonable). Pool was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Parsons Maxim Rep
Business
Clarksburg, WV
May 5, 2012

One Night Business Trip & Layover

Originally, was not impressed with the location; however, after entering the hotel, I was beyond impressed with the space and amenities which include a fantastic restaurant with meals that rival any of the restaurants in the DC area. My only complaints were the neighborhood, but for the price, it was outstanding!!! I cannot recommend this hotel enough, a must stay at these prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
homesitter
Business
North Carolina
May 1, 2012

location

I was read that location is hard to find,but cab draiver was smart.The street is I and number 10.Was no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The waitress on dining room was very nice.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lesleyy
Business
nyc
Apr 23, 2012

Good place for a budget trip

The hotel is in a kinda new neighborhood. A convenience store and McDonald's are within walking distance. Other than that, not a lot nearby. The hotel looks a little old but the bed is nice. Very comfortable and the bathroom is clean. Overall, perfect serve the purpose of a budget trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
johnyg
Business
Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Apr 22, 2012

mediocre at best

The hotel staff did not give me the kind of room I'd signed up for and I had to convince them of my free parking pass. Didn't have great room, smelled bad. Didn't have promised amenities. And most of all, while it is close to the capital, it isn't in easy walking distance of most of downtown dc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JOSEAMA
Business
San Juan, PR
Apr 22, 2012

Basic room OUT of the Mall area

Clean average room. Kind of worn down but ok. Staff do the job, not focused in providing excellent customer service. Hotel is located close to the Natonal's ballpark. Nothing else nearby, no food places around (only a McD), no room service. Did not feel safe walking around the area at night. Needed to move in taxi. Walking to the Navy Yard Metro station did not seem safe. A lot of noise since next to the freeway. You can find better locations for the same price closer to the Mall and downtown area. Will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go out the hotel and walk along the freeway you wiil find a tunnel that goes under the freeway and takes you to the Capitol in a 10 min. Walk. During the day, would not recommend in the night.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casual Traveling Student
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Great hotel...but a really poor location.

The experience at this hotel was a mixed bag. I had read some other reviews online, but none of them prepared me for the location that this hotel was situated in. It was at the outskirts of a very rough neighborhood, (one day I had to take a detour around the scene of a homicide that happened two blocks up the street). I did not feel comfortable going outside of this hotel at night, as all of the surrounding buildings had bars on every window and there were virtually no streetlights. The hotel itself was fine, the room was very clean, and the bed was nice and comfortable. The cable selection was limited, but it was a nice flatscreen with HBO and ESPN so no complaints there. The Restaurant was overpriced and the bar selection was limited to beer, wine, and soda. I ate two meals there, and the food was very bland and the wines were not worth the price paid. All in all, it was a very nice room, and during the day the location was fine and pleasant, but especially if you are traveling alone or with small children, I would be very careful walking around this hotel's neighborhood after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
swartsman
Business
Mississippi
Apr 8, 2012

DC Vacation

The hotel was nice. Close to downtown, but not downtown. Close to a Metro station, but not close to restaurants. A little older hotel, but everything was clean. The A/C didn't work as well as it should. The Manager was great - very helpful. The hotel restaurant didn't have a lot of choices on the menu, but their food was fantastic. The only way to get to the airport from the hotel is by taxi - no airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top