Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CR02
Miami, Florida
Jan 13, 2013

I love it!

this hotel is so close to the capitol that you can go to it by walking. the place is very clean. The continental breakfast is amazing my family and I love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adnan A.
Business
N/A
Jul 27, 2015

Worst hotel at all

Wireless doesn't work. No refregator. Parking high price. Gym doesn't have some machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gorav Ali
Business
Danbury, CT
Dec 29, 2013

Hotel was nice but dirty

Once we got there, my hotel card key kept getting damaged and I had to keep going to front desk. They suggested it was because I had it near a magnet but I had it in a card pouch as they gave. Once we got into room, bed sheet was dirty and there was a candy wrapper in the room. (Housekeeping didn't clean it obviously maybe because it was Christmas Day but who knows). After 2nd day, Went to shower and found a spider there. We were checking out next morning so we didn't bother complaining. Listen to other reviews when they say WIFI IS SLOW AND SUCKED. Don't let the "free wifi" encourage you to stay here. Overall, staff and location nice. Driving was close to monuments and museums. Neighborhood not bad. People very friendly. But not as clean. We still enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marcus Thomas
Business
Dallas
Nov 28, 2011

disapointing

Arrived the day after Thanksgiving for one night. We found out the suttle service is very limited to certain spots in the morning and after 12:00 noon it only goes to eating establishments....not good! Our room was hot even after the air was put on, one of the shades was broken....ice machines are located in the basement, not on every floor....etc. What was also disapointing was the description of "renovated" and the 3 star rating.........clearly it is not 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Plan on taking the "Metro" and walk to a stop. Do not believe, "oh there is parking on the streets". The parking in D.C. is HORRABLE!

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hector x
Business
southern california
Dec 16, 2011

Okay place to crash

Wait staff is inattentive hotel is a little dingy but if you are looking for a place to stay that is inexpensive and near the national mall this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Event Planner
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Everything is not what it seems

I reserved this room because of the advertised rate. Only needed the room for changing purposes so I figured not a bad deal. The rate was correct but parking is ridiculous. So adding the two together, you'll end up spending the same as any other hotel in the area. No breakfast available and entire lobby, from the front door could use a good paint job. Who has dirty doors? Really? Check-in was supposed to be at 3:00. However, upon arrival was told that check-in isn't until 4:00 and I was welcome to have a seat until the next room became available.Service with absolutely no smile! First and last stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants along the H Street Corridor, in Northeast D.C. Restaurants are reasonable and food was great!

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
johnyg
Business
Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Apr 22, 2012

mediocre at best

The hotel staff did not give me the kind of room I'd signed up for and I had to convince them of my free parking pass. Didn't have great room, smelled bad. Didn't have promised amenities. And most of all, while it is close to the capital, it isn't in easy walking distance of most of downtown dc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JOSEAMA
Business
San Juan, PR
Apr 22, 2012

Basic room OUT of the Mall area

Clean average room. Kind of worn down but ok. Staff do the job, not focused in providing excellent customer service. Hotel is located close to the Natonal's ballpark. Nothing else nearby, no food places around (only a McD), no room service. Did not feel safe walking around the area at night. Needed to move in taxi. Walking to the Navy Yard Metro station did not seem safe. A lot of noise since next to the freeway. You can find better locations for the same price closer to the Mall and downtown area. Will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go out the hotel and walk along the freeway you wiil find a tunnel that goes under the freeway and takes you to the Capitol in a 10 min. Walk. During the day, would not recommend in the night.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
liz the unhapppy mom
Business
pennsylvania
Aug 8, 2012

okay but not what or where i asked for

the hotel was ok , i told the person where i wanted to be it was NO WHERE where i needed to be in the first day i spent 96 $ in metro and cab fees as i took 3 children 2 who are special needs. we had a terrible time with travel and nothing was close no where to eat close and i was very unhappy, the kids channels did not work in the hotel.. over all not happy about my time and money that i spent to go on a weekend birthday get away for my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

no easy normal food around only greek,italian or mc donalds .. not happy

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wurdwyzard
Business
Taylors, SC
Aug 12, 2012

whatever

Expensive and not worth it. The work out facility is great and the staff is great. The drains in the room were clogged and the maintence guy was great. I'm scared to leave valuables anywhere. There was a police secured rap party at the pool and was scared to let my kids swim. My daughter and I experienced marijuana deals and smoking in the basement parking lot and I had to explain it to her. The room was comfortable. I bought a 30 dollar bottle of wine for 60 dollars. I would have rather paid 300 dollars a night than stay here again. If you are a college drop out ready to party, this is your place. If you are a family, stay somewhere else. At least I hope there is somewhere else better to stay in our nation's capitol. I am keeping the the do not disturb sign on the door and I hope and pray to leave with what I came with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crannie
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sep 13, 2012

Disappointed in Hotel

I was not happy with the hotel. There were no amenities--not even coffee in the room. I had to pay $2 + for coffee in the restaurant who had a limited menu and high prices. No room services were available, i.e., to include brochure in room providing information to hotel guests. I would not stay there again. The review on the website is not accurate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top