$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rbee
Business
dc
Feb 7, 2013

chill

it was cool i relaxed bed was soft and it takes more words to accaep than too describe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stolze Fan
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Feb 7, 2013

Heed the following warnings

The good: The hotel is a twenty-minute walk from the Capitol building. My room was clean (with no frills). The hotel also offers a shuttle further into town in the morning and in the evening (drop-offs only). The bad: The hotel is located in an unremarkable part of town, south of the interstate. To walk up the street to the Capitol or Mall, the area frequented by most sightseers (and, thereby, anyone who'd ever stay in this hotel), one has to walk through a little slice of urban wasteland, including the shadowy sidewalk beneath the interstate overpass. During the day, this is tolerable. At night, it is unnerving. Taxis to/from the hotel are a must after dark. Also, the two metro stops nearest the hotel are almost as far away as the Capitol, which defeats the purpose of using them in place of walking. The ugly: I arrived at the hotel around noon, knowing that check-in was at 4:00. I asked the two people (there are never more than two people at the front desk) if I might leave my bag with them, go into town, and then return after 4:00 to check in. I was told that, if my room was ready, I could check in early. Lo, and behold: my room was, indeed, ready. The young lady behind the desk asked to see the credit card with which I paid for the room ahead of time. Little did I know that she swiped it not only to pull up my record but also to add the FIFTY DOLLAR early check-in fee. I've never in my life had to pay for an early check-in. Moreover, not being informed that I was being so charged only exacerbated the annoyance. The young lady behind the desk left me to discover this treat on my credit card statement. Summation: Proverbially, you get what you pay for. If you don't mind the walk during the day and the taxi fare at night, it's a decent bargain. Try to take advantage of the shuttle, which can fill up quickly in the morning and which, to repeat, only drops you off but will not come pick you up. For my money and peace of mind, I'll stay closer to DuPont Circle next time. And, for God's sake, don't check in early unless you have fifty dollars you'd like to see the backside of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quel Butterfly
Business
Jersey
Feb 4, 2013

Pleasant Stay

I had a very enjoyable stay. This hotel is conveniently located in DC. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

U Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raven Girl
Business
Highland, New York
Jan 30, 2013

Good value

Needed a room in D.C. for 1 night. This hotel was a good choice for that. The free parking & free WiFi offered made it the best deal. The room was clean. The heater made a lot of noise when you turned it off. If I were there to see the sights, I would probably pick something a little closer. Since it was January walking to far wasn't really an option. All in all it was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben Wang
Business
San Jose
Jan 30, 2013

slow wifi,not a safe area

no coffee maker and wifi is slow,location is not very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Muggins
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Jan 29, 2013

Safe, clean and decent, good value

Solid, decent, safe and clean hotel and good value for the money spent. Staff were extremely courteous and helpful. There is a shuttle to surrounding attractions during limited hours. If you are coming from DCA airport, the shuttle doesn't come out that far, but it is about $15 for a taxi or shuttle or you could take the metro and walk 3 blocks from the Navy Yard stop. Not sure that I would choose to do that at night, but it was perfectly safe in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Around 3 blocks walk to the Navy Yard green line Metro subway stop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jakete
Business
OH
Jan 29, 2013

Economic with good location

Friendly and efficient staff. Good location, walking distance to the Capital and Mall. Nearby dining is very limited. Hotel dining room not bad at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gaby777
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 25, 2013

Good Rest

I arrived at 2am, thinking I would have to wait a while for someone to check me in, I was exhausted. But I got fast friendly service, parked my car underground, felt very safe and got to my warm clean hotel room on a snowy day in DC. I got my beauty rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bulbul
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Jan 25, 2013

capitol in the capitol

hotel was ok, free wifi, location is good, you can walk to capitol, but neighbor hood is not nice. staff is friendly. bed was curved in the middle, needs to improve on the matress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

hotel is near capitol building and all those museums. also have free shutle, pick up and drop, which can save you time and money with kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FloGirl95
Business
Florida
Jan 24, 2013

Inauguration

This was a quick find. Great view of the Capital Bldg and at a great price. The double bed room was a average room, it was clean. Staff was nice. Secure closed garage parking. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top