$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
412 out of 412
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryanlee180
Business
Baltimore Mayland.
May 29, 2013

Great Price, Great Service

The room was clean, the workers were friendly, and there was no hassle. Keep in mind that this hotel is in a dodgy part of town so avoid this hotel at night if your by yourself. Close to the metro and great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bblackkhholee
Business
Buffalo, NY
Feb 14, 2013

Great deal

If you don't need all the fancy stuff and are looking for a bargain this is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler girl D
Business
Augusta, Georgia
Feb 12, 2013

Awesome Deal

Great deal! Super clean and comfy room. Location close to metro and Smithsonian. Pretty safe area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rik loving Dad crimalized
Business
Scranton PA
Feb 8, 2013

better than the reviews I read before going there

The usual $25 per day parking fee is outrageous but by booking thru XXXXXX my parking was free and I got continental breakfast coupons and that was awesome. The room was clean, comfortable but I wish they provided soap and did not have bottled water and internet keyboard (NOT part of the "free WIFI") which if you used you would be charged an exhorbanet price. Great view of the Capitol. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy your food and everything outside of DC because everything is so expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CycleLouis
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Feb 8, 2013

Has seen better days

Room was what we expected for the price we paid for an hotel not too far from the Capitol in Washington. Close enough to walk to dowtown (about 40 minutes) but not much to see on the way and would not recommend to walk at night as you go through some desolated areas. Only real negative is that the hotel is in the middle of no-where with no place to go for a quick dinner except a McDonald. Inside parking at hotel is good and relatively secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rbee
Business
dc
Feb 7, 2013

chill

it was cool i relaxed bed was soft and it takes more words to accaep than too describe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stolze Fan
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Feb 7, 2013

Heed the following warnings

The good: The hotel is a twenty-minute walk from the Capitol building. My room was clean (with no frills). The hotel also offers a shuttle further into town in the morning and in the evening (drop-offs only). The bad: The hotel is located in an unremarkable part of town, south of the interstate. To walk up the street to the Capitol or Mall, the area frequented by most sightseers (and, thereby, anyone who'd ever stay in this hotel), one has to walk through a little slice of urban wasteland, including the shadowy sidewalk beneath the interstate overpass. During the day, this is tolerable. At night, it is unnerving. Taxis to/from the hotel are a must after dark. Also, the two metro stops nearest the hotel are almost as far away as the Capitol, which defeats the purpose of using them in place of walking. The ugly: I arrived at the hotel around noon, knowing that check-in was at 4:00. I asked the two people (there are never more than two people at the front desk) if I might leave my bag with them, go into town, and then return after 4:00 to check in. I was told that, if my room was ready, I could check in early. Lo, and behold: my room was, indeed, ready. The young lady behind the desk asked to see the credit card with which I paid for the room ahead of time. Little did I know that she swiped it not only to pull up my record but also to add the FIFTY DOLLAR early check-in fee. I've never in my life had to pay for an early check-in. Moreover, not being informed that I was being so charged only exacerbated the annoyance. The young lady behind the desk left me to discover this treat on my credit card statement. Summation: Proverbially, you get what you pay for. If you don't mind the walk during the day and the taxi fare at night, it's a decent bargain. Try to take advantage of the shuttle, which can fill up quickly in the morning and which, to repeat, only drops you off but will not come pick you up. For my money and peace of mind, I'll stay closer to DuPont Circle next time. And, for God's sake, don't check in early unless you have fifty dollars you'd like to see the backside of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quel Butterfly
Business
Jersey
Feb 4, 2013

Pleasant Stay

I had a very enjoyable stay. This hotel is conveniently located in DC. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

U Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raven Girl
Business
Highland, New York
Jan 30, 2013

Good value

Needed a room in D.C. for 1 night. This hotel was a good choice for that. The free parking & free WiFi offered made it the best deal. The room was clean. The heater made a lot of noise when you turned it off. If I were there to see the sights, I would probably pick something a little closer. Since it was January walking to far wasn't really an option. All in all it was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben Wang
Business
San Jose
Jan 30, 2013

slow wifi,not a safe area

no coffee maker and wifi is slow,location is not very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jakete
Business
OH
Jan 29, 2013

Economic with good location

Friendly and efficient staff. Good location, walking distance to the Capital and Mall. Nearby dining is very limited. Hotel dining room not bad at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top