$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen195807
Business
Wallingford CT
May 5, 2014

Nice place

It was clean & staff was very friendly. Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liv Nicole
Business
richmond, va
May 6, 2014

easy location

The hotel was really easy to find, right off the expressway and easy to get downtown. However, I booked a queen suite and my husband and I received a standard room with 2 double beds. It wasn't exactly what we were expecting. The food at the restaurant downstairs was okay for the price... best mac n cheese I've had in a while. All and all, if it's only for a night I'd go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rallen6117
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 6, 2011

Good Value

Overall a great stay - clean, friendly staff, nice rooms. On the border of not-so-great neighborhoods, so recommend not lots of walking at night. Nearest Metro stop is .5 miles away so plan on walking a lot or taking cabs. Still overall a good value for the package I got!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mixalis
Business
Colorado
Dec 11, 2011

Great place for visiting DC

Really enjoyed our staying. I would suggest only better breakfast choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABOM
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Great Location on a Budget

This is a great place to stay if you're looking to be close to the attractions of DC at an affordable cost. The actual location isn't the best, but it's not far from the majority of the sites that DC has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WZWZ
Business
A Chinese Visitor
Jan 1, 2012

A good hotel with good location

I booked a single room with a king bed. But when I opened the door, I am very glad and surprised that the hotel give me a big room with two king beds. It’s really luxury for me alone. Facilities in the room are quite new. It has a good location because it takes you a 15 minute’s walk to go to the Capitol Building and within a half hour to other main museums ( Please go out of the gate of hotel and take a few steps on the right. Then across the street, go along a narrow road leading to the Capitol. Try to remember how to come back and don’t miss it) Breakfast is simple but enough, having bread, coffee, milk, hot tea and fruits. I only visited half of Washington DC museums, and hope to visit the rest half next time and stay the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind walk, I think it is better to go to the main attractions on foot. It takes 8 mintues to the nearest subway "Navy Yard", but sometimes you have to wait 10~15 minutes for train. I only take subway to White House and Lincoln Memorial.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Mundial
Business
Lowell, MA
Dec 30, 2011

We would definitely go back

We arrived Christmas morning about 9:30 AM. Although we were early, the receptionist checked us into a very nice room with an excellent view of the Capitol. It was about a half mile walk from the hotel to the Capitol. There were several fast-food restaurants nearby but the closest nice restaurant (other than the hotel restaurant which was closed the first 2 days we were there) was also about half a mile away. The hotel had a pool, a fitness room, wireless internet, and all the usual amenities. My only complaints are: the wireless internet was down most of my last day there; and the breakfast was buffet style but they only had one toaster which resulted in long lines. In spite of the complaints, I thought we got a great deal and we enjoyed ourselves. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vadergale
Business
Michigan
Dec 30, 2011

Would stay there again

The hotel was very clean and the location was fairly close to the capitol and two metro stations if you want to use the bus or railway. The neighborhood was fairly nice,but not somewhere you want to be walking alone at night. My only complaints about the hotel is that there was no refridgerator or microwave in the room and the free breakfast buffet was bagles and ceareal. We were told a microwave was available for $15 a night to rent. We had a lot of fun, the prices were great, and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Capitol Metro Railway Station on 1st and D street. The railway system is clean and safe and a lot cheaper then Cab's. Get on the Blue or Orange line and it will take you within a short distance of all the good sites.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pamsue
Business
hartford connecticut
Jan 12, 2012

get-a-away

Clean basic hotel for a trip to view the sites of Washington DC. Not too far to walk to the Mall where we took in the museums and Capitol. Good thing the breakfast was included in our hotel special -pastries, juice and cold cereals. Adequate but not worth paying extra for it. Rooms were comfortable but the walls and doors were thin and sounds traveled very well. The fact that we were there in the off season meant we didn't get too disturbed by noise. Windows were also noise transmitters so outside traffic was very audible. Wi-Fi was there if you could get it but not very stable. Pleasant staff. There was a free shuttle that would take you to the Mall and drop you off but would not pick you up. Good though - saved walking both ways. All in all, I would recommend this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the cafeteria in the Smithsonian American Indian Museum. Quite good. Pricey though, as is every eating establishment in the Smithsonian buildings.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Legs11
Business
Charleston, WV
Jan 25, 2012

Quick trip tp DC

Lobby is attractive. Room and beds were nicely decorated. Beds and pillows were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top