$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
440 out of 440
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mtraveler
Business
Miami, FL
May 7, 2013

Very comfortable

Comfortable rooms and easy access to metro area. I do wish their morning shuttle hours extended further than 10:30 am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take time to visit the zoo, it's free and absolutely incredible for all ages

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pppatticake
Business
new york
Apr 30, 2013

Capitol Skyline Hotel

This is a cool place to stay if you are going to a Capitols game and want to be able to walk there--they have a neat lounge overlooking the giant pool and deck and had free beer and wings pre-game. This is an older property in an area slowly being built up and regentrified. Room was decent enough with a capable marble bath redo and lobby decor is funky--this place housed lots of foreign tourists, a school group or two and 20/30/40 sport set here to enjoy the stadium--bars and restaurants near the stadium were lovely--remind me of Boston, and the riverwalk at Acostia was nearby as well. Good deal if you come in warm weather to enjoy the pool--seems like a good spot to come in summer and enjoy cheaper hotel digs with a party atmosphere--that pool and deck looked excellent, but it was overcaste and drizzly April when we were here. Staff was hit or miss--one snotty lady at the desk was made up for by the other gentlemen there who were much more gracious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would research business hotels in the Capitol next time as I was told they often have family deals on weekends when they are empty

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana Grandma
Business
Northern Indiana
Apr 28, 2013

Pleasant Stay

The location was excellent - I was able to walk up to the Capitol/Mall everyday. I had a lovely room. The Pre-fix dinner at the hotel was very good and quite reasonable. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awesome12
Business
mass
Apr 27, 2013

clean, close to metro station and walking distance to attractions. very helpful staff.

cleanliness was the most important factor I was looking for. the mattress was clean the bathroom was clean, yes it is not 1st class hotel, but it is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saugany1
Business
Rolling Prairie, IN
Apr 26, 2013

Affordable near the National Mall

I was hungry after the restaurant closed. I opened the door as the manager and staff person were in sight to ask for an apple (which they always had out for breakfast buffet) and he yelled at me "We're closed!" Not very accommodating or what I have encountered at other hotels. But the night manager was outstanding. He went out of his way to help me with suggestions of places to see and how to get there. The shuttle was available in the AM to go to the Mall. The location was a little iffy and you should be very careful at night if you are alone as I was. I wandered upon a great jazz concert 3 blocks west at a church - they have it every Friday night. I heard the Howard University Jazz Orchestra for $5 for 3 hours! It was awesome. BTW, one mattress was OK, the other bed was soft and lumpy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Native American Museum has a great restaurant that offers cuisine from different regions of the US. I had a pulled buffalo sandwich and cooked squash slaw. They had alligator and other interesting dishes for the uninitiated. See DC when the cherry blossoms are in bloom. Beautiful! It offsets the noise, traffic and pollution.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LSTnLKC
Business
new york, ny
Apr 23, 2013

very bad staff and service

room and location are ok, but staff are really bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LYNN KITTY LOVER
Business
LAS VEGAS NV
Apr 23, 2013

JUST ONE NIGHT

Because of a travel mix up I needed to hotel room for just 1 night. I was previously at the Grand Hyatt. D.C. hotels are very expensive, but I lucked up on $98.00 rate, including all taxes. The reviews for the Capitol Skyline were mixed, but I decided cost outweighed skepticism. It's a older hotel and surly can use a bit of sprucing up. I had a great view of the Capitol Building. But the sliding doors were missing from the closet, the alarm clock was broken, (glad I had my own) as was the tv remote, and there was no ice machine on my floor. My foremost concern however, was the $45.00 bar tab that was charged to my room the night I checked in. I informed the front desk and restaurant managers that this was NOT my charge, I only had the breakfast buffet and HAD PAID CASH. Since my transportation to the airport had arrived, I left with their assurance that they would address the matter and my credit card would not be charged. They lived up to their word. I know mistakes can happen, just double check your bill when you check out! All-in-all for overnight it was not bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I didn't use it, but from my 5th floor window I would see the McDonalds in the next block across the street.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pallasmonde
Business
Montréal, Canada
Apr 15, 2013

In renovation

Major problem with location. There is a McDonald on the corner, that's it. Walking access to the Capitol is 15-20 min. but in unpleasant surroundings and not safe in the evening. Although they are trying their best, without a 50% rebate, I would not return. (I would not pay more than 100 $ for a room there.) Also, generally speaking, I find Washington abusively expensive. Restaurants in touristic areas serve poor cooking for large prices. The Smithsonians are free but you pay for it every where else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Beware of prices in restaurants in touristic area. Quality of food is low, prices are high.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bblackkhholee
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 1, 2013

no frills hotel great price

I got a great deal on this hotel and parking was free. I didn't need a fancy hotel. I needed someplace convenient and cheap. This was the place for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nessynpook
Business
so.plfd
Mar 30, 2013

shocked

From the picture it looked elegant and secure . Building exterior was old and out dated no landscaping looked dull. Inside overly painted dark colors and wall paper. Small inside. Checked in was given room with 1bed when my order was for 3ppl and 2 double beds. Had to get room switched. I was not impressed and thought if reservations were made staff should read and give correct service. Good option was parking garage underneath hotel to keep car safe thou extra charge per night. Also do tour bus which is good tourism are close by to drive no walkn distance. But for price I did not feel it was worth it. Maybe a half price I would expect it. I was an experience and beds were comfortable at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

6min drive to all musuem areas n shows

Back to menu Return to top