$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
396 out of 396
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GCAP Consultant
Business
Bronxville, New York
Nov 8, 2013

Happy with all hotel aspects

The rates were reasonable, the location was convenient, staff were positive, bed was extra comfortable, an overall super excellent experience. Highly recommended hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awesome12
Business
mass
Apr 27, 2013

clean, close to metro station and walking distance to attractions. very helpful staff.

cleanliness was the most important factor I was looking for. the mattress was clean the bathroom was clean, yes it is not 1st class hotel, but it is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saugany1
Business
Rolling Prairie, IN
Apr 26, 2013

Affordable near the National Mall

I was hungry after the restaurant closed. I opened the door as the manager and staff person were in sight to ask for an apple (which they always had out for breakfast buffet) and he yelled at me "We're closed!" Not very accommodating or what I have encountered at other hotels. But the night manager was outstanding. He went out of his way to help me with suggestions of places to see and how to get there. The shuttle was available in the AM to go to the Mall. The location was a little iffy and you should be very careful at night if you are alone as I was. I wandered upon a great jazz concert 3 blocks west at a church - they have it every Friday night. I heard the Howard University Jazz Orchestra for $5 for 3 hours! It was awesome. BTW, one mattress was OK, the other bed was soft and lumpy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Native American Museum has a great restaurant that offers cuisine from different regions of the US. I had a pulled buffalo sandwich and cooked squash slaw. They had alligator and other interesting dishes for the uninitiated. See DC when the cherry blossoms are in bloom. Beautiful! It offsets the noise, traffic and pollution.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LSTnLKC
Business
new york, ny
Apr 23, 2013

very bad staff and service

room and location are ok, but staff are really bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LYNN KITTY LOVER
Business
LAS VEGAS NV
Apr 23, 2013

JUST ONE NIGHT

Because of a travel mix up I needed to hotel room for just 1 night. I was previously at the Grand Hyatt. D.C. hotels are very expensive, but I lucked up on $98.00 rate, including all taxes. The reviews for the Capitol Skyline were mixed, but I decided cost outweighed skepticism. It's a older hotel and surly can use a bit of sprucing up. I had a great view of the Capitol Building. But the sliding doors were missing from the closet, the alarm clock was broken, (glad I had my own) as was the tv remote, and there was no ice machine on my floor. My foremost concern however, was the $45.00 bar tab that was charged to my room the night I checked in. I informed the front desk and restaurant managers that this was NOT my charge, I only had the breakfast buffet and HAD PAID CASH. Since my transportation to the airport had arrived, I left with their assurance that they would address the matter and my credit card would not be charged. They lived up to their word. I know mistakes can happen, just double check your bill when you check out! All-in-all for overnight it was not bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I didn't use it, but from my 5th floor window I would see the McDonalds in the next block across the street.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pallasmonde
Business
Montréal, Canada
Apr 15, 2013

In renovation

Major problem with location. There is a McDonald on the corner, that's it. Walking access to the Capitol is 15-20 min. but in unpleasant surroundings and not safe in the evening. Although they are trying their best, without a 50% rebate, I would not return. (I would not pay more than 100 $ for a room there.) Also, generally speaking, I find Washington abusively expensive. Restaurants in touristic areas serve poor cooking for large prices. The Smithsonians are free but you pay for it every where else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Beware of prices in restaurants in touristic area. Quality of food is low, prices are high.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bblackkhholee
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 1, 2013

no frills hotel great price

I got a great deal on this hotel and parking was free. I didn't need a fancy hotel. I needed someplace convenient and cheap. This was the place for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nessynpook
Business
so.plfd
Mar 30, 2013

shocked

From the picture it looked elegant and secure . Building exterior was old and out dated no landscaping looked dull. Inside overly painted dark colors and wall paper. Small inside. Checked in was given room with 1bed when my order was for 3ppl and 2 double beds. Had to get room switched. I was not impressed and thought if reservations were made staff should read and give correct service. Good option was parking garage underneath hotel to keep car safe thou extra charge per night. Also do tour bus which is good tourism are close by to drive no walkn distance. But for price I did not feel it was worth it. Maybe a half price I would expect it. I was an experience and beds were comfortable at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

6min drive to all musuem areas n shows

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
csramsay
Business
San Jose, ca
Mar 30, 2013

great value, noisy at night

Super helpful and friendly staff, a few blocks south of the Capital, free shuttle to all major tourist sites. near a fire station and construction so it can be noisy any time of day or night. Only one restaurant in the hotel and nearby dining options are limited. Overall, a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kbrandall
Business
pittsburgh, pa
Mar 29, 2013

last minute trip

Hotel is old and awkwardly located. Probably would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OxnMoon
Business
MN
Mar 28, 2013

Decent room, not too far away from everything

Clean room, comfortable, very helpful staff. Cant understand why they dont provide a coffeemaker in the room. Just 10 min from the capitol on the green line, walking distance to National ballpark, but I would expect better rates for the time I was there (mid-March).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Use their courrtesy shuttles to get dropped off at nearby attractions, transit points and dining.

Back to menu Return to top