$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
376 reviews
Great room!

Great room centrally located, ideal for out of towners looking to party in DC!!! See full review

  • Personal Trainer
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice Hotel

Spacious and clean room. Hotel needs café to be open Morning and afternoon See full review

  • Lau25
  • May 3, 2014
Friendly and comfortable hotel located in the heart of Washington DC
The independently owned and operated Capitol Skyline Hotel offers everything a guest could need for a relaxing stay. Located close to the attractions that Washington DC has to offer, Capitol Skyline Hotel also has an onsite restaurant serving classic American meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free wireless Internet connection is available. A free shuttle service takes Capitol Skyline Hotel guests to the downtown area and local metro stations. Business guests also find space for up to 500 people in the banqueting hall as well as meeting rooms.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideal for location near downtown Washington DC and area attractions
  • Free shuttle service
  • Onsite restaurant, seasonal pool and friendly staff help guests feel at home
Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms
Capitol Skyline Hotel offers a range of room styles for guests to enjoy. Each room has two double beds, a spacious sitting area and a workstation - ideal for business guests. Enjoy views overlooking the outdoor pool, the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington DC. Complimentary Internet access is available in each room at the Capital Skyline hotel. Accessible rooms are available. A concierge is also on hand at the Capital Skyline hotel to assist guests with their individual needs. Room service is also available.
Things to Do:
  • Korean War Memorial (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of American History (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • White House (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery/Tomb of the Unknowns (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Washington Monument (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Pentagon (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Washington Redskins/FedEx Field (12 mi/19.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Self parking available at $25 USD plus tax per night.
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 USD per night payable directly at the hotel.
  • No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.879 -77.0098
Area served
Washington, DC
Nearby airports
Conveniently located just 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.Washington Dulles International Airport-34 Miles Baltimore Washington International Airport-33 Miles
Area description
The Capitol Skyline Hotel is conveniently located in downtown Washington, DC only a few blocks away from the United States Capitol, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution Museums, the Library of Congress, the Supreme Court, and the new Washington Nationals Stadium. Close to Washington Monument, the National Gallery of Art, Ft. McNair, Bolling Air Force Base, and the White House, the Capitol Skyline Hotel is the perfect choice of Washington DC hotels. The Capitol Skyline Hotel is easily accessed from the Navy Yard Metro and Interstates 95, 295, 395 and 495, is 1 mile or 5 Metro stops from the Washington Convention Center and 4 miles from Reagan Washington National Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (376)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JRSS
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan 18, 2013

A Nice Place to Stay

I stayed at Capitol Skyline Hotel, because I had to participate in an activity in Congress, so I stayed for three nights in Washington D.C. The Hotel's prices were excellent and I got a pretty big room; it was bigger than my dorm room back in college. It was close to a 7/11 and to a McDonald's. The hotel also has a good restaurant and free Wi-Fi for it's guests. The service was excellent, taxis were always available and I got to visit every single monument in my first day. I had a study table in my room, a queen size bed which payed off really good. Next time I go to D.C. I'll make sure I stay in Capitol Skyline Hotel again !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

It's close to Congress, Supreme Court and other museums. You can walk or take a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heather NonDrunk Driver
Business
Northern Virginia
May 14, 2013

Great Hotel, Low Price

I like staying here because it's affordable and still elegant, and living 40 mins away in Virginia after a long night of drinking, this place is a God send.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mtraveler
Business
Miami, FL
May 7, 2013

Very comfortable

Comfortable rooms and easy access to metro area. I do wish their morning shuttle hours extended further than 10:30 am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take time to visit the zoo, it's free and absolutely incredible for all ages

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pppatticake
Business
new york
Apr 30, 2013

Capitol Skyline Hotel

This is a cool place to stay if you are going to a Capitols game and want to be able to walk there--they have a neat lounge overlooking the giant pool and deck and had free beer and wings pre-game. This is an older property in an area slowly being built up and regentrified. Room was decent enough with a capable marble bath redo and lobby decor is funky--this place housed lots of foreign tourists, a school group or two and 20/30/40 sport set here to enjoy the stadium--bars and restaurants near the stadium were lovely--remind me of Boston, and the riverwalk at Acostia was nearby as well. Good deal if you come in warm weather to enjoy the pool--seems like a good spot to come in summer and enjoy cheaper hotel digs with a party atmosphere--that pool and deck looked excellent, but it was overcaste and drizzly April when we were here. Staff was hit or miss--one snotty lady at the desk was made up for by the other gentlemen there who were much more gracious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would research business hotels in the Capitol next time as I was told they often have family deals on weekends when they are empty

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana Grandma
Business
Northern Indiana
Apr 28, 2013

Pleasant Stay

The location was excellent - I was able to walk up to the Capitol/Mall everyday. I had a lovely room. The Pre-fix dinner at the hotel was very good and quite reasonable. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awesome12
Business
mass
Apr 27, 2013

clean, close to metro station and walking distance to attractions. very helpful staff.

cleanliness was the most important factor I was looking for. the mattress was clean the bathroom was clean, yes it is not 1st class hotel, but it is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saugany1
Business
Rolling Prairie, IN
Apr 26, 2013

Affordable near the National Mall

I was hungry after the restaurant closed. I opened the door as the manager and staff person were in sight to ask for an apple (which they always had out for breakfast buffet) and he yelled at me "We're closed!" Not very accommodating or what I have encountered at other hotels. But the night manager was outstanding. He went out of his way to help me with suggestions of places to see and how to get there. The shuttle was available in the AM to go to the Mall. The location was a little iffy and you should be very careful at night if you are alone as I was. I wandered upon a great jazz concert 3 blocks west at a church - they have it every Friday night. I heard the Howard University Jazz Orchestra for $5 for 3 hours! It was awesome. BTW, one mattress was OK, the other bed was soft and lumpy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Native American Museum has a great restaurant that offers cuisine from different regions of the US. I had a pulled buffalo sandwich and cooked squash slaw. They had alligator and other interesting dishes for the uninitiated. See DC when the cherry blossoms are in bloom. Beautiful! It offsets the noise, traffic and pollution.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LSTnLKC
Business
new york, ny
Apr 23, 2013

very bad staff and service

room and location are ok, but staff are really bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LYNN KITTY LOVER
Business
LAS VEGAS NV
Apr 23, 2013

JUST ONE NIGHT

Because of a travel mix up I needed to hotel room for just 1 night. I was previously at the Grand Hyatt. D.C. hotels are very expensive, but I lucked up on $98.00 rate, including all taxes. The reviews for the Capitol Skyline were mixed, but I decided cost outweighed skepticism. It's a older hotel and surly can use a bit of sprucing up. I had a great view of the Capitol Building. But the sliding doors were missing from the closet, the alarm clock was broken, (glad I had my own) as was the tv remote, and there was no ice machine on my floor. My foremost concern however, was the $45.00 bar tab that was charged to my room the night I checked in. I informed the front desk and restaurant managers that this was NOT my charge, I only had the breakfast buffet and HAD PAID CASH. Since my transportation to the airport had arrived, I left with their assurance that they would address the matter and my credit card would not be charged. They lived up to their word. I know mistakes can happen, just double check your bill when you check out! All-in-all for overnight it was not bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I didn't use it, but from my 5th floor window I would see the McDonalds in the next block across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pallasmonde
Business
Montréal, Canada
Apr 15, 2013

In renovation

Major problem with location. There is a McDonald on the corner, that's it. Walking access to the Capitol is 15-20 min. but in unpleasant surroundings and not safe in the evening. Although they are trying their best, without a 50% rebate, I would not return. (I would not pay more than 100 $ for a room there.) Also, generally speaking, I find Washington abusively expensive. Restaurants in touristic areas serve poor cooking for large prices. The Smithsonians are free but you pay for it every where else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Beware of prices in restaurants in touristic area. Quality of food is low, prices are high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bblackkhholee
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 1, 2013

no frills hotel great price

I got a great deal on this hotel and parking was free. I didn't need a fancy hotel. I needed someplace convenient and cheap. This was the place for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top