$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juan Carlos Monroe
Business
miami
Nov 17, 2013

staff needs impovement

My experience at the Capitol Skyline Hotel was a little below my expectations. First, I was not able to have a one hour late check out. Keep in mind this was in the middle of the week, no holiday. The front desk person just said "No", no indication that she would check with someone or any other accommodation. Also, front staff needs to know the DC area a little better. I asked for directions to the Navy Yard and was given the wrong directions. I also had a problem with the front desk person getting a taxi, it took over 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Byby1
Business
New York
Nov 15, 2013

Great Hotel

The only issue i have is the paid parking fo $25 + tax. Besides that, the service was awesome. The room was super clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gary Pelser
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Nov 15, 2013

Don't bother pay $10 more and stay at another hotel

Rubbish service, lies on the info. Nothing is included except for extremely slow wifi. Free shuttle only up to 10am! Staff are terrible! No breakfast included. Rather pay $10 and stay in a clean place. One ice machine for entire hotel and dirty rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelHound24
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 12, 2013

Nice comfortable stay, with a few drawbacks

I stayed here for a week after getting a great deal through this site. I needed a temporary place to stay while in the process of relocating to DC and looking for other housing. The hotel was a bit out of the way from the main attractions of DC, but in walking distance to a Metro station and bus stops. The room was spacious and clean. There was no refrigerator, coffee maker, or microwave. So, don't expect to bring back any leftovers. At best, you can ask to borrow a coffee maker, but they'll charge you $10 for the length of your stay. I was able to get hot water from the restaurant in the mornings for making oatmeal and tea in my room. Speaking of the restaurant, I ate the breakfast buffet there on three mornings. The food was of good quality, but could have used a bit more variety. For instance, some fresh sliced fruit would have been nice. The "all you can eat" buffet price was $10, so a bit less than I expected based on other reviews. Perhaps that's their off-season rate. I requested a room on the top floor and found it to be pleasant and quiet overall. There was a safe in the room large enough for a laptop and a desk with comfortable chair. I was on the side away from the Capitol building, so not much of a view, but I was more concerned about noise than view. The heating unit was a bit tricky in terms of getting the temperature where you wanted it. Being on the top floor, the sun seemed to keep the room rather warm during the day. On a windy day, the windows made a howling noise, which was a bit annoying. Housekeeping was good about leaving you alone if you kept the "do not disturb" sign up, but you could hear them going down the halls starting around 9 a.m. knocking and yelling "housekeeping!" The worst part of the stay was the Internet access. While it seemed to be working well during the first couple days of my stay, it became painfully slow for the remainder. I reported the problem to the front desk on two occasions, but the situation never improved. If you need reliable Internet for business use, don't stay here. Also, the "complimentary shuttle service" is very limited, offering drop-offs only in for a couple hours in the morning and late afternoon to a set number of locations. They would not pick me up from the nearby Union Station either, so I had to get a taxi, which was cheap enough given the short distance. It's a bit misleading from their web site and other information which led me to believe they'll shuttle you anywhere within a certain distance of the hotel upon request. Though, as I mentioned above, public transportation access is close by. Coming back at night, I would usually take the bus to the SW M St & SW Howison Pl, which provided a shorter walk back to the hotel than the Metro stop. The walk also went by a fire station and felt fairly safe. Overall, a nice place to stay if you're looking for something a bit more upscale than the cheaper hotels around and definitely worth it if you can get on a deal / discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Justin's Cafe was a short walk from the hotel and provided tasty food options. They were also able to accommodate a vegan diet.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matt NJ
Business
Haddon Twp, NJ
Nov 11, 2013

Not happy

I first waited about 30 min to be help checking in. Then was informed that it would cost $24.00 for parking. I was then charged $50.00. The room was about 90 degrees when we checked in and did not cool off. Staff was slow and not very nice. The buffet really did not offer much and the food was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geotpet54
Business
Putnam Valley, NY
Nov 9, 2013

The Capitol Skyline was great

Everything was great. The staff as very courteous. The rooms were very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sciencegrad traveler
Business
New Haven, CT
Nov 9, 2013

You get what you pay for

I booked this hotel at the last second because my original reservation didn't go through and the deal I got seemed too good to be true. While I should have done more research into the location myself, it is not in the best part of DC, though it seems to be getting gentrified it is still abandoned at night, so while it is pretty close to the Metro, I would cab it if you're arriving late and have a lot of valuables on you. It was clean but is a bit run down, the floor of the tub was peeling in my room and even though I booked a room with a queen bed I got one with 2 twin beds. I will have to say I probably wouldn't have bothered really writing a review at all if it hadn't been for the fact that the first night I was there someone was able to open my hotel room at 4AM. Whoever it was apologized and left but that was really not ok, one it woke me up at 4 am, two the hotel staff didn't really seem to know what had happened the next day, I locked the door with the latch after that. I was also annoyed that the hotel staff didn't seem all that concerned about it, although they did deactivate my key and reactivated new ones. If all you want is a cheap bed for the night this will do but don't expect anything beyond that and make sure to lock the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Monkey
Business
Murrieta, CA
Nov 9, 2013

comfortable and accommodating

Hotel is older. Could use some upgrades. But very nice stay over all. Marco at the front desk is awesome. Customer service was great. Room was older a little run down drafty windows but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GCAP Consultant
Business
Bronxville, New York
Nov 8, 2013

Happy with all hotel aspects

The rates were reasonable, the location was convenient, staff were positive, bed was extra comfortable, an overall super excellent experience. Highly recommended hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wolfgang 2
Business
Duesseldorf, germany
Nov 6, 2013

at the foot of the CAPITOL

stayed in highest floor with view to capitol breakfast ok, no variation day by day dinnercard always the same and just 5 mains BUT shuttle in the morning to washington monument, white house, capitol and evening to barracks area/penn quarter where there are 100 in-restaurants + food shops, super bread factory, bio-food,...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

see above

Back to menu Return to top