$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
440 out of 440
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lau25
New York
May 3, 2014

Nice Hotel

Spacious and clean room. Hotel needs café to be open Morning and afternoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MDot96
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 16, 2013

Overall ok

The hotel looks better than the pics online. It's just an old hotel. A highlight would be the pool, because the pretty much treat it as a club....but it's free admission if you're staying at the hotel. A few things my roommates had issues with, 1) no coffee pot ($25 if you wanted one),2) things advertised weren't granted (shuttle & continental breakfast), 3) lighting in my room was dim but that's not huge, 4) ice & vending machines were in the basement....not a fan of that. But if you just need a clean room & you plan to be out and about most of the trip this should work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MMyers7
Business
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Aug 12, 2013

Great for its the price

This hotel was great for the price. The pool was nice and the room was very clean, and it was quite comfortable. The parking isn't cheap, but there is street parking that is just fine. The hotel was really close to the metro, so that made it really nice. Don't eat the breakfast though, it's over priced, and if it were a Holiday Inn, it would have been their version of a free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amarna
Business
Martinsburg, WV
Sep 2, 2013

Cool low key spot

The rooms were clean and simple. The staff was extremely friendly. They host a pool party for guests on Sat which was a plus if you're into that kinda thing. Downside is there isn't many good places that deliver there for food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a seafood place with really good steamed crabs or fried seafood just up the street a couple blocks.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler677
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 14, 2013

Fine place for price

Generally good. Neighborhood seemed a little questionable, but I had no problems while there. Very clean and comfortable rooms. However, restaurant was closed at 130 pm when I tried to have lunch and the sundries store was closed with a sign on it saying "be back at 4" so I had to walk to restaurant to find something to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Macdonalds across the street.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scribblesteve
Business
Santa Clara, California
Sep 18, 2013

Wasn't my favorite; very noisy

The hotel is a stones throw away from a police station so there was constant sirens. The Police cars in D.C. also vibrate so that's extra noise and distractions. I could hear other peoples conversations from the room next door. I could hear when someone above or below me was taking a shower. There were strange clicks I couldn't identify coming from the building somewhere. Staff seemed overworked. There was only one person to handle check-ins, phones and concierge so wait time to get help was outrageous. I liked the idea of a restaurant right there in the hotel and I decided to go for breakfast buffet but it turned out to be a glorified continental breakfast with terrible food that cost $10. The potatoes had a freezer burn smell, the scrambled eggs were extremely watery - the juice tasted like powder. The environment was nice but I think I would have been happier walking to the McDonald's across the street. I'll never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Hotel offers a shuttle service to main attractions but it runs on a schedule that you'll have to ask for because it's not published.

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1257
Business
nyc
Sep 27, 2013

cheap, affordable, close enough to stuff

the hotel is average. the location is good. the shuttle service is a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrey from Moscow
Business
Moscow, Russia
Oct 13, 2013

Good location

It is good location for visiting the National mall, especially the Capitol, but rather distant from downtown, nightlife and dinners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rpisces
Business
La Jolla, CA
Oct 22, 2013

I couldn't believe it!

They do not have refrigerators in the rooms, and if You request one, You will be charged an additional $20! Needless to say, the food I had with me had to go in the trash!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wolfgang 2
Business
Duesseldorf, germany
Nov 6, 2013

at the foot of the CAPITOL

stayed in highest floor with view to capitol breakfast ok, no variation day by day dinnercard always the same and just 5 mains BUT shuttle in the morning to washington monument, white house, capitol and evening to barracks area/penn quarter where there are 100 in-restaurants + food shops, super bread factory, bio-food,...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

see above

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alexcp1971
Business
Bogota, Colombia
Nov 17, 2013

Everything you could need for a BnB in DC

Everything you could need for a BnB in DC The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The air conditioning was a Little bit noisy and upholstery of the sofa, it looks a little worn. The restaurant menu is limited in choices. The neighborhood is lonely at night which makes it not very safe walking to get to the hotel from the subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top