$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
412 out of 412
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MegBK
Business
Brooklyn
Nov 20, 2013

Fine for the price

The place was fine, nothing special. Sort of close to the metro. The staff in general were healpful except for one staff with attitude in the morning who also sent me in the wrond direction via metro before moy morning meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Nope
Business
DC
Nov 19, 2013

Vandalized

This was actually my FAVORITE hotel as a true Waahingtonian until this two day stay! This was actually my second 2 night 3 day stay in 2 weeks and I will never stay again. The driver side window on my car was shattered completely in during my stay in a "secured" parking garage at the hotel where I'm paying $25 a night. The way the GM Jeff Ragonese handled me was completely out of line. The entrance from the hotel to the garage supposed to have been a secured entry but was not, as the lock didn't catch and a piece of plastic was stuffed in the lock jam.. There were NO security cameras in the garage that caught a whiff of anything, if there even are cameras. All Jeff did was have a maid clean my glass up and shoved me away. I got no accommodations for further nights, I wasn't reimbursed for the cost of my window, although I was reimbursed for my stay that I won't receive for 10 days. As I quote Mr. Jeff Ragonese," I don't want to give you anything, the only reason I am giving you your stay back is because I know your boss at your place of work!" I have never felt so humiliated in my life. And to top things off, I STILL was made to come out of pocket to pay for my garage rental after my vehicle was vandalized. NOT A CUSTOMER FRIENDLY PLACE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alexcp1971
Business
Bogota, Colombia
Nov 17, 2013

Everything you could need for a BnB in DC

Everything you could need for a BnB in DC The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The air conditioning was a Little bit noisy and upholstery of the sofa, it looks a little worn. The restaurant menu is limited in choices. The neighborhood is lonely at night which makes it not very safe walking to get to the hotel from the subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fauzer
Business
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Nov 17, 2013

Capitol-Washington

Good, but first room smelling cigarette. Terriblr. Than I changed the room and it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Good travel agency in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juan Carlos Monroe
Business
miami
Nov 17, 2013

staff needs impovement

My experience at the Capitol Skyline Hotel was a little below my expectations. First, I was not able to have a one hour late check out. Keep in mind this was in the middle of the week, no holiday. The front desk person just said "No", no indication that she would check with someone or any other accommodation. Also, front staff needs to know the DC area a little better. I asked for directions to the Navy Yard and was given the wrong directions. I also had a problem with the front desk person getting a taxi, it took over 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Byby1
Business
New York
Nov 15, 2013

Great Hotel

The only issue i have is the paid parking fo $25 + tax. Besides that, the service was awesome. The room was super clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gary Pelser
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Nov 15, 2013

Don't bother pay $10 more and stay at another hotel

Rubbish service, lies on the info. Nothing is included except for extremely slow wifi. Free shuttle only up to 10am! Staff are terrible! No breakfast included. Rather pay $10 and stay in a clean place. One ice machine for entire hotel and dirty rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelHound24
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 12, 2013

Nice comfortable stay, with a few drawbacks

I stayed here for a week after getting a great deal through this site. I needed a temporary place to stay while in the process of relocating to DC and looking for other housing. The hotel was a bit out of the way from the main attractions of DC, but in walking distance to a Metro station and bus stops. The room was spacious and clean. There was no refrigerator, coffee maker, or microwave. So, don't expect to bring back any leftovers. At best, you can ask to borrow a coffee maker, but they'll charge you $10 for the length of your stay. I was able to get hot water from the restaurant in the mornings for making oatmeal and tea in my room. Speaking of the restaurant, I ate the breakfast buffet there on three mornings. The food was of good quality, but could have used a bit more variety. For instance, some fresh sliced fruit would have been nice. The "all you can eat" buffet price was $10, so a bit less than I expected based on other reviews. Perhaps that's their off-season rate. I requested a room on the top floor and found it to be pleasant and quiet overall. There was a safe in the room large enough for a laptop and a desk with comfortable chair. I was on the side away from the Capitol building, so not much of a view, but I was more concerned about noise than view. The heating unit was a bit tricky in terms of getting the temperature where you wanted it. Being on the top floor, the sun seemed to keep the room rather warm during the day. On a windy day, the windows made a howling noise, which was a bit annoying. Housekeeping was good about leaving you alone if you kept the "do not disturb" sign up, but you could hear them going down the halls starting around 9 a.m. knocking and yelling "housekeeping!" The worst part of the stay was the Internet access. While it seemed to be working well during the first couple days of my stay, it became painfully slow for the remainder. I reported the problem to the front desk on two occasions, but the situation never improved. If you need reliable Internet for business use, don't stay here. Also, the "complimentary shuttle service" is very limited, offering drop-offs only in for a couple hours in the morning and late afternoon to a set number of locations. They would not pick me up from the nearby Union Station either, so I had to get a taxi, which was cheap enough given the short distance. It's a bit misleading from their web site and other information which led me to believe they'll shuttle you anywhere within a certain distance of the hotel upon request. Though, as I mentioned above, public transportation access is close by. Coming back at night, I would usually take the bus to the SW M St & SW Howison Pl, which provided a shorter walk back to the hotel than the Metro stop. The walk also went by a fire station and felt fairly safe. Overall, a nice place to stay if you're looking for something a bit more upscale than the cheaper hotels around and definitely worth it if you can get on a deal / discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Justin's Cafe was a short walk from the hotel and provided tasty food options. They were also able to accommodate a vegan diet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matt NJ
Business
Haddon Twp, NJ
Nov 11, 2013

Not happy

I first waited about 30 min to be help checking in. Then was informed that it would cost $24.00 for parking. I was then charged $50.00. The room was about 90 degrees when we checked in and did not cool off. Staff was slow and not very nice. The buffet really did not offer much and the food was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geotpet54
Business
Putnam Valley, NY
Nov 9, 2013

The Capitol Skyline was great

Everything was great. The staff as very courteous. The rooms were very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top