$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
435 reviews
Strike one off my bucket list!

I have always wanted to see Washington, DC since I saw it on a class trip in grade 8. We finally... See full review

  • Jackie
  • May 19, 2015
arrested by comfort

all thumbs up thanks to Mic who made the check-in process smooth and for giving me his choice of... See full review

  • Kevin T.
  • May 7, 2015
When it comes to Washington, DC hotels, the Capitol Skyline Hotel is perfectly located for all the DC area attractions many of which are within walking distance from the hotel. Now independently owned and operated, Capitol Skyline is located within 5 blocks from the US Capitol and 3 blocks from the Washington Nationals Park stadium and near other area attractions including the National Mall, Smithsonian Institution, and the Navy Yard. Travelers will be within 5 miles from Reagan National Airport (DCA). Hotel guests will appreciate the convenience of the on-site Lapidus Restaurant. Other amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, business center, fitness center, and free drop off shuttle service to downtown sites and Metro stations. Guest can also take advantage of sightseeing tours picking up directly from the hotel. Each spacious, comfortable guest room features all the right amenities including free wireless internet, cable television, in room safes, and on demand movies. Self parking is available at $25 per night plus tax.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CR02
Miami, Florida
Jan 13, 2013

I love it!

this hotel is so close to the capitol that you can go to it by walking. the place is very clean. The continental breakfast is amazing my family and I love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackie
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

Strike one off my bucket list!

I have always wanted to see Washington, DC since I saw it on a class trip in grade 8. We finally had the opportunity to go and I couldn't wait to see it as an adult. We took a very scenic route from our home near Toronto. It was a very beautiful drive there and we had two days to see your city. We were fortunate to get a room in the Capital Skyline Hotel. The room was nice and the staff were so pleasant. We had a small problem that was just mentioned in passing when we were checking out. It really wasn't a big deal and I told the clerk that when he apologized. It's so minor it really isn't even worth mentioning here. Basically, it was just small talk. The next thing you know, the clerk offered for us to keep our car at the hotel free of charge so we could do more sight seeing. We were headed to Florida and needed to get going but I was very surprised and pleased with the offer. He wanted to do something to make up for it, but I said it really wasn't necessary. Next thing you know, we were sitting in the restaurant eating a complimentary breakfast before our long journey. This hotel was perfect with its location. I don't think we could get much closer to the places we wanted to go unless Mr. and Mrs. Obama were to invite us into their home. I'm sure they would have been wonderful hosts, but I'll take the Capital Skyline Hotel over theirs anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pres P.
Business
N/A
May 12, 2015

Antiquated 2-Star Hotel

The price for this hotel was too good to be true and I should have listened to my gut. The hotel is in a seedy part of DC and is very antiquated. And by seedy I counted 5+ cop sirens going past our room at 10:00 PM. I am unsure as to how this hotel got a 3-Star rating because it is very much a 2-Star in my books. The room was very dark, dingy and never cooled off the whole night. The room was just as hot and humid as I awoke the next morning as to when I entered that night. The bed was also very uncomfortable. You can tell that the hotel was recently remodeled but it all looks very DIY. The pros of this hotel were the staff and free parking. The guy checking us in was very courteous and attentive. The free parking was also nice. Overall, I can't recommend this hotel and think it should be re-evaluated because it simply is not a 3-Star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin T.
Business
N/A
May 7, 2015

arrested by comfort

all thumbs up thanks to Mic who made the check-in process smooth and for giving me his choice of room which was clean and comfortable i will revisit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nick
Business
Washington
May 5, 2015

couple

Did not enjoy my stay there rats running around outside the front entrance, room was not updated small bed for queen bed bathroom not clean no good parking did not like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mohamed1
Business
Sayreville
May 5, 2015

just okay

Internet doesn't work, you have to pay extra for better internet. And also have to pay $25.00 per night for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matthew G.
Business
Richmond
May 3, 2015

Really Great Deal

Definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a reasonably priced DC hotel. The service was good, everything was clean and the rooms were large. Loved it. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ted's a Traveler
Business
Minnetonka
Apr 29, 2015

One Sunday Night in D.C.

The hotel was near the Naval Yard Metro Station. The hotel was adequate in most respects for a one night stay. It was full of tourists

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiya
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Enjoyed My Stay

The proximity to where I wanted to go and the location of the hotel was perfect. The rooms were clean and spacious. I enjoyed my stay immensley

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thehatmann
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Quiet Hotel, will stay there again this year

As Always, I like this hotel, the only problem is there is no where to dine that is close except Mcdonalds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lu the Gunny
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

vacation/business trip

Very convenient to my destination. Very comfortable and secure parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top