$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Capitol Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 200 C Street SE, Washington, DC 20003

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
76 reviews
Great Capitol Hill Hotel

I love this place! Really nice staff, spacious and comfortable rooms, very good breakfast. Super... See full review

  • Karen B.
  • May 26, 2015
Amazing birthday getaway

I booked this hotel for my boyfriend's 30th birthday celebration and we both enjoyed our stay. The... See full review

  • quynhlan n.
  • May 26, 2015
This all-suites hotel located in the upscale Capitol Hill residential neighborhood in Washington DC is across the street from the library of Congress and two blocks from the Supreme Court and the US Capitol Building, and within one mile of the National Mall's museums and monuments. Complimentary perks include Continental breakfast and wireless internet access in the lobby, a library-like area with a fireplace, computer station, and comfortable seating. Formerly apartments, the efficiency and one-bedroom suites feature kitchenettes, large desks with ergonomic chairs, high-speed Internet access and cherry-wood furnishings.

Rollaway beds available for Junior Suites only for a fee of $25 per night. Maximum occupancy remains 2 guests.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Capitol Hill Hotel Rooms

Superior Suite
Superior Suites (400 square feet / 37 square meters) are furnished with two queen beds in a spacious room perfect for families or shares. Junior Suites have full kitchenettes or full kitchens.
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite
The hotel's premier room type, One Bedroom Deluxe Suites (460-510 square feet/42-47 square meters) have a king bed and a separate living room with a sofa-bed. One Bedroom King Suites have full kitchenettes or full kitchens. It will feel like your very own pied-a-terre in the Capitol Hill Historic District.
Junior Suite
The Junior Suite(320-430 square feet/20-39 square meters) is a spacious guest room that offers one queen bed and feels like a studio apartment with a kitchenette. Kitchenettes are equipped with microwave, sink and mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Library of Congress: 0.1 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.3 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.1 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.3 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • National Mall: 1 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Newseum: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Arena Stage: 1.1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1.2 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.2 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.2 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.3 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 76
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bette gm
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 19, 2012

Nightmare

The elevator was out and no airconditioning. Staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Roland's Grocery Store

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KGonch
Business
OH
May 31, 2013

Is there a manager on duty?

I am greatly dissatisfied with the management at this hotel. I have tried to reach someone for 2 days regarding high charges to my bank account. I had already paid in full through a travel website prior to checking in. I got home from vacation and found that my bank had been charged hundreds of dollars in addition to what I already paid to the travel website. I did not sign or see an invoice upon checking out. No one from the hotel has returned my calls or email to explain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mobile granny
Business
Rochester, NY
Apr 24, 2012

A good location

Capitol Hill Suites is very close to the Mall and round the corner from Capitol South Metro station. The amenities are adequate, so if location is important to you, this place is walking distance from many sights and close to the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom the dad
Business
Madison, WI
Jul 13, 2012

Father Son getaway

This hotel is at a great location. Close to the Metro to get around DC. Great restaurants within walking distance. Their continental breakfast is refreshing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants located on 8th Streets. About 3 to 4 blocks from the hotel.

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ToriTJC
Business
Richmond, Va
Jul 24, 2012

Great Stay

Beautiful hotel...the staff was friendly, helpful and very accomodating. The hotel room is very comfy and feels like home. The bathroom needs to be expanded a bit but I guess its a necessary evil because the building is older. However, the room was very clean...definitely not afraid of the sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KGonch
Business
OH
May 31, 2013

Amended Review

I wrote a previous review for this hotel, and I would like to amend it. My complaint was with the staff, more specifically with the management. I had called about a problem with very high charges on my debit card. I called for 2 days and did not hear from anyone in order to remedy the issue. But I wanted to make it clear that the manager did end up returning my phone call, and resolved the issue the same day we spoke. They did make a very big error in billing, but the manager had the money refunded to my account. Mistakes happen, and I hope for the hotel that this does not happen often because it is a beautiful hotel and in an excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrsxfile
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 5, 2011

Close to Capitol

Good experience. Clean room. Close to Cpitol and subway station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annette L.
Business
Hebron
Jun 24, 2015

Crazy April DC Trip

Upon arrival at this hotel, no rooms were available to check into and our reservation was mixed up as well and didn't include an extra bed- so we thought. In the end there was a pull out couch available that was so futuristic that we couldn't even figure out how to make it into a bed. There were no directions and a staff person had to come to our room to show us once we finally were able to check in over 3 hours late. once open, the couch/bed was hard as a rock, as it was to sit on too. Guess that's modern furniture for you! Rooms were clean. Loved the fresh lemon/orange water and coffee in lounge daily. Breakfast was fabulous but had to go to hotel next door to eat. I think overall, April and cherry blossom time is just so busy that its hard for any hotel to keep up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roselyn S.
Business
Orange , Ca
Feb 18, 2014

Conference

The location was perfect for my daughter conference at Dc Armory . Walking distance to restaurants , coffee shop , Capitol buildings such as library of the congress , Supreme Court and a lot more . Metro subway is only a block . Accessible to all transportations . In front of a Catholic Church and near beautiful houses . Staff are very helpful and friendly . Our room has refrigerator and cabinet full of basic kitchen stuff . My favorite was the coffee maker Keurig I didn't miss home . The bed was very comfortable with premium sheets and pillows . The breakfast was good and presented very nicely . Our room had a perfect view . We love it and we will definitely come back .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lisa mom of 3
Business
southern new jersey
Jan 27, 2012

great location and quiet too

The rooms were very nice and we got an upgrade at check-in. The location is on a fairly quiet street but walk a couple blocks and you'll find some nice local restaurants. Walk the other way a couple of blocks and you are right at the top of Capitol Hill. The breakfast buffet was great but limited seating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top