$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Capitol Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 200 C Street SE, Washington, DC 20003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Hill Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CTcouple
Couples
Connecticut
Dec 1, 2012

Great Choice

This hotel was a perfect choice for us. It was in a convenient location to family as well as walking to the Washington sites. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and had many choices. We plan on using this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runnergurl64
Couples
Albany, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Great location and hotel....AC needs to be upgraded

The hotel is in a wonderful location. Located within two blocks of the Capitol building and to the metro which will take you to the National Mall in a few minutes. The staff were wonderful and the breakfast buffet plentiful. The only downfall was that our room was hot and we could not open a window since they are sealed shut and the hotel's chilling system was not set up yet for the warm weather. Our room was a constant 74 even with the blower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel, walk two blocks toward the Capitol and turn right on Penn Ave and there are a string of restaurants. Go down another three blocks and there are even more restaurants. Our favorite was the Thai restaurant (second stretch of restaurants)

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jifi
Family
minneapolis
Mar 28, 2013

The Photos don't Lie

The hotel looked exactly as depicted in the on-line photos. It is a beautiful hotel that is very tastefully decorated. The location can't be beat. It is close to the Capital, and within easy walking distance of several decent restaurants. The one bedroom suite was quite spacious and comfortable. The only issue with the room is that the bathroom is VERY small. Also, ask for a room that does not have a window into the alley - EVERY night around midnight or 1 am people (I assume from the restaurants) would roll their trash cans down the alley and it woke me up every time. It would be nice if there was a restaurant in the hotel, or more options for delivery places listed in the hotel info guide and if they had a pool, but otherwise it was great! We will absolutely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good restaurants only a short walk away - in two different directions.

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ltmc
Family
Pittsburgh
Apr 8, 2013

Exceptional location

We had a very nice stay. It's not 5 star but very comfortable and you can't beat the location to the Capitol and Eastern Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebecca NY
Business
Buffalo, New York
Apr 10, 2013

Cap Hill Hotel

This hotel was really nice. I was in town in business for a conference in NOVA, but prefer staying in The District, so I found this hotel, which was right by the Metro, so I could get to NOVA and any part of DC really fast. The staff were wonderful, the free breakfast was above average with fruit, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea. The parking was a bit pricey. The room was overall very clean, but the bathroom seemed a tiny bit dusty. I will be back, but likely without my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro was a tiny bit over a block away.

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suprakris
Friends
NJ
Apr 16, 2013

Nice and quiet

Went during the cherry blossom fest, the location was great in a very affluent, quiet neighborhood away from the crowds and craziness. the metro station is right there so it's very easy to get to all of the tourist attractions. The bathroom was very small and it was hard to reach someone at the front desk, but otehrwise it was a pretty good hotel. it's not a hotel building like you expect, its among brownstones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Capitol- 10 min walk Union station- 15 min walk

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungTraveler08
Couples
New York City
Apr 22, 2013

Great Find right in Capitol Hill!

Despite seeing other more favorable ratings amongst other hotels right in Capitol Hill, this was an overall great find. The staff was friendly and accommodating! The room temperature was comfortable and included robes! Awesome! Plus, there was complimentary wifi, pets allowed, and free breakfast. The breakfast wasn't amazing but comparing to the other hotel we stayed in it was steal! Beautiful surrounding areas right near a lot of restaurants. I will definitely come back to this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JonasA
Business
Portland,OR
May 10, 2013

Perfect location for Capitol trip

This hotel was just two blocks from our meetings at the Capitol, which was a perfect location. In terms of meals, it's only about a half-mile walk to more than a dozen restaurants, including a great section over on 8th and Pennsylvania Ave. The continental breakfast was better than many, and the lobby's happy-hour tradition (free wine) is a nice touch. I definitely recommend this hotel if you need to be by the Capitol. It's a tad far for White House and other locations, but the Hill spot can't topped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Devonwood
Business
Woodbridge, VA
May 30, 2013

A Gem on Capitol Hill

The Capitol Hill Hotel is located right in the heart of Capitol Hill, near the Library of Congress and the House Office Buildings. The Senate, Capitol Building, and Supreme Court are a short walk away. I had early business in the Capitol and chose the hotel based on its location and convenience. But I was surprised at what a good hotel it is, beyond just its location. The rooms are clean, modern, and comfortable. And its in-room amenities are great for anyone on an extended stay. I definitely would stay there again and strongly recommend it to anyone with business on the Hill -- or for tourists with the Hill on their itinerary. It also is just a block from the Metro. A real gem of a hotel and a great find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For dining, walk down Second Street and turn onto Pennsylvania Avenue where a variety of nice restaurants await you.

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom Getting Away
Friends
Saint Johns, FL
Sep 9, 2013

Perfect for this trip

I was very pleasantly surprised by the style and perks of this hotel. I was staying here because it was close to my friend's apartment and we were going out to some restaurants and bars. The neighorhood was adorable and it was such an easy trip from Reagan on the metro. The hotel had fruited water, snacks, coffee and tea available all day as well as a wine happy hour. The breakfast was very nice. My only slight drawback was that our room could have used a little extra cleaning- the light switches and the kitchenette were a bit grimy. But overall I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

H Street has some great restaurants and it is very nearby, and the Capitol Lounge is a great bar right around the corner!

Back to menu Return to top