$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Capitol Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 200 C Street SE, Washington, DC 20003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Hill Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom Getting Away
Business
Saint Johns, FL
Sep 9, 2013

Perfect for this trip

I was very pleasantly surprised by the style and perks of this hotel. I was staying here because it was close to my friend's apartment and we were going out to some restaurants and bars. The neighorhood was adorable and it was such an easy trip from Reagan on the metro. The hotel had fruited water, snacks, coffee and tea available all day as well as a wine happy hour. The breakfast was very nice. My only slight drawback was that our room could have used a little extra cleaning- the light switches and the kitchenette were a bit grimy. But overall I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

H Street has some great restaurants and it is very nearby, and the Capitol Lounge is a great bar right around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KGonch
Business
OH
May 31, 2013

Amended Review

I wrote a previous review for this hotel, and I would like to amend it. My complaint was with the staff, more specifically with the management. I had called about a problem with very high charges on my debit card. I called for 2 days and did not hear from anyone in order to remedy the issue. But I wanted to make it clear that the manager did end up returning my phone call, and resolved the issue the same day we spoke. They did make a very big error in billing, but the manager had the money refunded to my account. Mistakes happen, and I hope for the hotel that this does not happen often because it is a beautiful hotel and in an excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KGonch
Business
OH
May 31, 2013

Is there a manager on duty?

I am greatly dissatisfied with the management at this hotel. I have tried to reach someone for 2 days regarding high charges to my bank account. I had already paid in full through a travel website prior to checking in. I got home from vacation and found that my bank had been charged hundreds of dollars in addition to what I already paid to the travel website. I did not sign or see an invoice upon checking out. No one from the hotel has returned my calls or email to explain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Devonwood
Business
Woodbridge, VA
May 30, 2013

A Gem on Capitol Hill

The Capitol Hill Hotel is located right in the heart of Capitol Hill, near the Library of Congress and the House Office Buildings. The Senate, Capitol Building, and Supreme Court are a short walk away. I had early business in the Capitol and chose the hotel based on its location and convenience. But I was surprised at what a good hotel it is, beyond just its location. The rooms are clean, modern, and comfortable. And its in-room amenities are great for anyone on an extended stay. I definitely would stay there again and strongly recommend it to anyone with business on the Hill -- or for tourists with the Hill on their itinerary. It also is just a block from the Metro. A real gem of a hotel and a great find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For dining, walk down Second Street and turn onto Pennsylvania Avenue where a variety of nice restaurants await you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seasoned DC traveler
Business
Whittier, California
May 15, 2013

Great location, great staff

This is a long time favorite hotel for my business and my husband's sightseeing trips to D. C.. The location is terrific and the staff couldn't be more helpful. We stay there 3 or 4 times each year. My husband asked if they would wash the windows on our car as we were heading out of town, and they washed the whole car !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hunan Dynasty, very good Chinese, although up a long flight of stairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JonasA
Business
Portland,OR
May 10, 2013

Perfect location for Capitol trip

This hotel was just two blocks from our meetings at the Capitol, which was a perfect location. In terms of meals, it's only about a half-mile walk to more than a dozen restaurants, including a great section over on 8th and Pennsylvania Ave. The continental breakfast was better than many, and the lobby's happy-hour tradition (free wine) is a nice touch. I definitely recommend this hotel if you need to be by the Capitol. It's a tad far for White House and other locations, but the Hill spot can't topped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungTraveler08
Business
New York City
Apr 22, 2013

Great Find right in Capitol Hill!

Despite seeing other more favorable ratings amongst other hotels right in Capitol Hill, this was an overall great find. The staff was friendly and accommodating! The room temperature was comfortable and included robes! Awesome! Plus, there was complimentary wifi, pets allowed, and free breakfast. The breakfast wasn't amazing but comparing to the other hotel we stayed in it was steal! Beautiful surrounding areas right near a lot of restaurants. I will definitely come back to this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suprakris
Business
NJ
Apr 16, 2013

Nice and quiet

Went during the cherry blossom fest, the location was great in a very affluent, quiet neighborhood away from the crowds and craziness. the metro station is right there so it's very easy to get to all of the tourist attractions. The bathroom was very small and it was hard to reach someone at the front desk, but otehrwise it was a pretty good hotel. it's not a hotel building like you expect, its among brownstones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Capitol- 10 min walk Union station- 15 min walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebecca NY
Business
Buffalo, New York
Apr 10, 2013

Cap Hill Hotel

This hotel was really nice. I was in town in business for a conference in NOVA, but prefer staying in The District, so I found this hotel, which was right by the Metro, so I could get to NOVA and any part of DC really fast. The staff were wonderful, the free breakfast was above average with fruit, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea. The parking was a bit pricey. The room was overall very clean, but the bathroom seemed a tiny bit dusty. I will be back, but likely without my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro was a tiny bit over a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ltmc
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 8, 2013

Exceptional location

We had a very nice stay. It's not 5 star but very comfortable and you can't beat the location to the Capitol and Eastern Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top