$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Capitol Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 200 C Street SE, Washington, DC 20003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Hill Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom8
Charlotte
Nov 25, 2012

Great Thanksgiving getaway

With family living in D.C. this hotel was a great place to stay. Close to the Mall. Just a Metro ride to movie theaters. Wonderful walking nearby. Terrific breakfast. Rooms that more than met our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seasoned DC traveler
Business
Whittier, California
May 15, 2013

Great location, great staff

This is a long time favorite hotel for my business and my husband's sightseeing trips to D. C.. The location is terrific and the staff couldn't be more helpful. We stay there 3 or 4 times each year. My husband asked if they would wash the windows on our car as we were heading out of town, and they washed the whole car !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hunan Dynasty, very good Chinese, although up a long flight of stairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JonasA
Business
Portland,OR
May 10, 2013

Perfect location for Capitol trip

This hotel was just two blocks from our meetings at the Capitol, which was a perfect location. In terms of meals, it's only about a half-mile walk to more than a dozen restaurants, including a great section over on 8th and Pennsylvania Ave. The continental breakfast was better than many, and the lobby's happy-hour tradition (free wine) is a nice touch. I definitely recommend this hotel if you need to be by the Capitol. It's a tad far for White House and other locations, but the Hill spot can't topped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungTraveler08
Business
New York City
Apr 22, 2013

Great Find right in Capitol Hill!

Despite seeing other more favorable ratings amongst other hotels right in Capitol Hill, this was an overall great find. The staff was friendly and accommodating! The room temperature was comfortable and included robes! Awesome! Plus, there was complimentary wifi, pets allowed, and free breakfast. The breakfast wasn't amazing but comparing to the other hotel we stayed in it was steal! Beautiful surrounding areas right near a lot of restaurants. I will definitely come back to this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suprakris
Business
NJ
Apr 16, 2013

Nice and quiet

Went during the cherry blossom fest, the location was great in a very affluent, quiet neighborhood away from the crowds and craziness. the metro station is right there so it's very easy to get to all of the tourist attractions. The bathroom was very small and it was hard to reach someone at the front desk, but otehrwise it was a pretty good hotel. it's not a hotel building like you expect, its among brownstones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Capitol- 10 min walk Union station- 15 min walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebecca NY
Business
Buffalo, New York
Apr 10, 2013

Cap Hill Hotel

This hotel was really nice. I was in town in business for a conference in NOVA, but prefer staying in The District, so I found this hotel, which was right by the Metro, so I could get to NOVA and any part of DC really fast. The staff were wonderful, the free breakfast was above average with fruit, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea. The parking was a bit pricey. The room was overall very clean, but the bathroom seemed a tiny bit dusty. I will be back, but likely without my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro was a tiny bit over a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ltmc
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 8, 2013

Exceptional location

We had a very nice stay. It's not 5 star but very comfortable and you can't beat the location to the Capitol and Eastern Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eurocup12
Business
Charleston, SC
Apr 7, 2013

Fantastic Location

Fantastic location for touring DC. It is one block from a Metro stop. We could see the dome of the Library of Congress from our window. The staff was friendly and professional. The room was very nice and larger than an average room. Don't miss the French pastries served with the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It is an easy direct Metro ride from National Airport. No need to take a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jifi
Business
minneapolis
Mar 28, 2013

The Photos don't Lie

The hotel looked exactly as depicted in the on-line photos. It is a beautiful hotel that is very tastefully decorated. The location can't be beat. It is close to the Capital, and within easy walking distance of several decent restaurants. The one bedroom suite was quite spacious and comfortable. The only issue with the room is that the bathroom is VERY small. Also, ask for a room that does not have a window into the alley - EVERY night around midnight or 1 am people (I assume from the restaurants) would roll their trash cans down the alley and it woke me up every time. It would be nice if there was a restaurant in the hotel, or more options for delivery places listed in the hotel info guide and if they had a pool, but otherwise it was great! We will absolutely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good restaurants only a short walk away - in two different directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runnergurl64
Business
Albany, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Great location and hotel....AC needs to be upgraded

The hotel is in a wonderful location. Located within two blocks of the Capitol building and to the metro which will take you to the National Mall in a few minutes. The staff were wonderful and the breakfast buffet plentiful. The only downfall was that our room was hot and we could not open a window since they are sealed shut and the hotel's chilling system was not set up yet for the warm weather. Our room was a constant 74 even with the blower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel, walk two blocks toward the Capitol and turn right on Penn Ave and there are a string of restaurants. Go down another three blocks and there are even more restaurants. Our favorite was the Thai restaurant (second stretch of restaurants)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TrishC
Business
Oregon
Mar 15, 2013

Great location and awesome customer service!

From check-in to check-out, the entire stay was excellent. The employees were already ready to help and were very friendly. The room was spacious and clean. The location couldn't be better for Capitol Hill visits and was close to lots of great restaurants and attractions. The only downside that we could even think of was that there wasn't a restaurant/lounge on site, but like I mentioned earlier, there were plenty close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to try to cafeteria at the Native American Museum--great native food from throughout the country!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top