$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Capitol Hill Hotel

3 stars
200 C Street SE, Washington, DC 20003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
66 reviews
D.C. Weekend Trip

My husband and I just stayed at the Capitol Hill Hotel for 4 nights. We had a great experience. The... See full review

  • MOBRIEN
  • Oct 4, 2013
Great location, great staff

This is a long time favorite hotel for my business and my husband's sightseeing trips to D. C.. The... See full review

  • Seasoned DC traveler
  • May 15, 2013
This all-suites hotel located in the upscale Capitol Hill residential neighborhood in Washington DC is across the street from the library of Congress and two blocks from the Supreme Court and the US Capitol Building, and within one mile of the National Mall's museums and monuments. Complimentary perks include Continental breakfast and wireless internet access in the lobby, a library-like area with a fireplace, computer station, and comfortable seating. Formerly apartments, the efficiency and one-bedroom suites feature kitchenettes, large desks with ergonomic chairs, high-speed Internet access and cherry-wood furnishings.

Capitol Hill Hotel Rooms

Junior Suites
The non-smoking room offers 1 Queen Bed with kitchenette w/Microwave and Refrigerator All suites have individual heat and A/c, DVD player 32" flat screen HD T.V. Ergonomic desk and chair dream machine Radio CD Player with MP3 connection.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8862 -77.0031
Area served
Washington.
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport: 6 miles, easy access to Hotel by Metro System. International Airport: Dulles International Airport 31 miles from the hotel and Baltimore Washington 33 miles.
Area description
Location in the charming historic district of Capitol Hill. Two blocks from the US Capitol and one block from the Metro Station. Walking distance to the National Mall and museums.

Nearby points of interest

  • Library of Congress: 0.1 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.3 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.1 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.3 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • National Mall: 1 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Newseum: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Arena Stage: 1.1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1.2 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.2 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.2 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.3 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Hill Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Seasoned DC traveler
Business
Whittier, California
May 15, 2013

Great location, great staff

This is a long time favorite hotel for my business and my husband's sightseeing trips to D. C.. The location is terrific and the staff couldn't be more helpful. We stay there 3 or 4 times each year. My husband asked if they would wash the windows on our car as we were heading out of town, and they washed the whole car !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hunan Dynasty, very good Chinese, although up a long flight of stairs.

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Mom Getting Away
Saint Johns, FL
Sep 9, 2013

Perfect for this trip

I was very pleasantly surprised by the style and perks of this hotel. I was staying here because it was close to my friend's apartment and we were going out to some restaurants and bars. The neighorhood was adorable and it was such an easy trip from Reagan on the metro. The hotel had fruited water, snacks, coffee and tea available all day as well as a wine happy hour. The breakfast was very nice. My only slight drawback was that our room could have used a little extra cleaning- the light switches and the kitchenette were a bit grimy. But overall I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

H Street has some great restaurants and it is very nearby, and the Capitol Lounge is a great bar right around the corner!

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
KGonch
OH
May 31, 2013

Is there a manager on duty?

I am greatly dissatisfied with the management at this hotel. I have tried to reach someone for 2 days regarding high charges to my bank account. I had already paid in full through a travel website prior to checking in. I got home from vacation and found that my bank had been charged hundreds of dollars in addition to what I already paid to the travel website. I did not sign or see an invoice upon checking out. No one from the hotel has returned my calls or email to explain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
KGonch
OH
May 31, 2013

Amended Review

I wrote a previous review for this hotel, and I would like to amend it. My complaint was with the staff, more specifically with the management. I had called about a problem with very high charges on my debit card. I called for 2 days and did not hear from anyone in order to remedy the issue. But I wanted to make it clear that the manager did end up returning my phone call, and resolved the issue the same day we spoke. They did make a very big error in billing, but the manager had the money refunded to my account. Mistakes happen, and I hope for the hotel that this does not happen often because it is a beautiful hotel and in an excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Devonwood
Business
Woodbridge, VA
May 30, 2013

A Gem on Capitol Hill

The Capitol Hill Hotel is located right in the heart of Capitol Hill, near the Library of Congress and the House Office Buildings. The Senate, Capitol Building, and Supreme Court are a short walk away. I had early business in the Capitol and chose the hotel based on its location and convenience. But I was surprised at what a good hotel it is, beyond just its location. The rooms are clean, modern, and comfortable. And its in-room amenities are great for anyone on an extended stay. I definitely would stay there again and strongly recommend it to anyone with business on the Hill -- or for tourists with the Hill on their itinerary. It also is just a block from the Metro. A real gem of a hotel and a great find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For dining, walk down Second Street and turn onto Pennsylvania Avenue where a variety of nice restaurants await you.

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Seasoned DC traveler
Business
Whittier, California
May 15, 2013

Great location, great staff

This is a long time favorite hotel for my business and my husband's sightseeing trips to D. C.. The location is terrific and the staff couldn't be more helpful. We stay there 3 or 4 times each year. My husband asked if they would wash the windows on our car as we were heading out of town, and they washed the whole car !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hunan Dynasty, very good Chinese, although up a long flight of stairs.

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
JonasA
Business
Portland,OR
May 10, 2013

Perfect location for Capitol trip

This hotel was just two blocks from our meetings at the Capitol, which was a perfect location. In terms of meals, it's only about a half-mile walk to more than a dozen restaurants, including a great section over on 8th and Pennsylvania Ave. The continental breakfast was better than many, and the lobby's happy-hour tradition (free wine) is a nice touch. I definitely recommend this hotel if you need to be by the Capitol. It's a tad far for White House and other locations, but the Hill spot can't topped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
YoungTraveler08
New York City
Apr 22, 2013

Great Find right in Capitol Hill!

Despite seeing other more favorable ratings amongst other hotels right in Capitol Hill, this was an overall great find. The staff was friendly and accommodating! The room temperature was comfortable and included robes! Awesome! Plus, there was complimentary wifi, pets allowed, and free breakfast. The breakfast wasn't amazing but comparing to the other hotel we stayed in it was steal! Beautiful surrounding areas right near a lot of restaurants. I will definitely come back to this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
suprakris
NJ
Apr 16, 2013

Nice and quiet

Went during the cherry blossom fest, the location was great in a very affluent, quiet neighborhood away from the crowds and craziness. the metro station is right there so it's very easy to get to all of the tourist attractions. The bathroom was very small and it was hard to reach someone at the front desk, but otehrwise it was a pretty good hotel. it's not a hotel building like you expect, its among brownstones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Capitol- 10 min walk Union station- 15 min walk

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Rebecca NY
Business
Buffalo, New York
Apr 10, 2013

Cap Hill Hotel

This hotel was really nice. I was in town in business for a conference in NOVA, but prefer staying in The District, so I found this hotel, which was right by the Metro, so I could get to NOVA and any part of DC really fast. The staff were wonderful, the free breakfast was above average with fruit, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea. The parking was a bit pricey. The room was overall very clean, but the bathroom seemed a tiny bit dusty. I will be back, but likely without my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro was a tiny bit over a block away.

Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Ltmc
Pittsburgh
Apr 8, 2013

Exceptional location

We had a very nice stay. It's not 5 star but very comfortable and you can't beat the location to the Capitol and Eastern Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top