$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
152 reviews
Nice Hotel

Convenient, clean, and good value for the location - I will recommend this place for business... See full review

  • Robert N.
  • Mar 20, 2015
Great for my purposes....

I was in DC to hit some government offices, so this hotel put me in walking distance of everywhere... See full review

  • Sterling
  • Jan 27, 2015
Casual, classy hotel in downtown D.C. with health club, spa, restaurant

The Capital Hilton caters to a variety of travelers. Business travelers love the location in downtown D.C., upscale restaurants nearby, and ample meeting space. Families appreciate the two-bedroom suites, children's menu at the restaurant and casual atmosphere. The hotel is close to D.C. museums and attractions. Amenities go overboard at the on-site spa and health club with personal trainers. Whiskey lovers should take note of the Glenmorangie tasting at the on-site Statler Lounge.

Highlights
  • The on-site spa with a full menu of luxurious services
  • The health club has an aerobics studio and personal trainers, as well as up-to-date cardio equipment and weights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
Location

The Capital Hilton is two blocks from the White House in downtown D.C. The hotel is convenient to D.C. tourist attractions, area businesses and restaurants.

Rooms

The comfortable, neo-classical style rooms at the Capital Hilton contain cherry wood furniture and rich colors. Custom designed luxury bedding, Crabtree and Evelyn amenities, and a large work desk and ergonomic chair make guests feel at home. Junior suites have a large sitting area. Two-bedroom suites have a central parlor room with separate bedrooms on either side.

Features

Twigs Restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Families will be happy to see a children's menu. Guests at Capital Hilton indulge at the health club and spa with inventive treatments such as the Capital Preservation Facial and the Foggy Bottom Mud Wrap (fees apply). The health club has an aerobic studio and personal trainers in addition to cardio equipment and weights.  Valet parking is available (fees apply) at Capital Hilton.

Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/34 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Georgetown (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Office rental
  • Fax/photocopying services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 152
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert N.
Business
N/A
Mar 20, 2015

Nice Hotel

Convenient, clean, and good value for the location - I will recommend this place for business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sterling
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Great for my purposes....

I was in DC to hit some government offices, so this hotel put me in walking distance of everywhere I needed to go. I was also surprised just how close some great eating and drinking was just up 14th street. The day charge for valet parking was higher than I expected but overall I was quite satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cork Wine Bar had some amazing food, it's about 3/4 of a mile from the hotel, and right down the street from the 14th street location of Ted's Bulletin (get a milkshake....just do it)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris of Small Business
Business
Lewisville, Texas
Oct 20, 2014

Business Man's Friend

Capital Hilton received me kindly and served me promptly. The room was very nice & an excellent place to work & sleep. This was the second leg of a tiring journey & the helpful porters & bellmen were ready when I got there. The coffee shop across the street was great and the nearby restaurants were great. The Hotel chefs made great food and the view of the White House was directly down the street. It was a short walk to the Metro Transit system. Great trip- can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant & coffee opposite corner were great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrommyD
Business
new york, ny
Oct 18, 2014

Great hotel in a great location

Stayed at the Capital Hilton for one night on a business trip to DC and it met all my needs. A great hotel for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aziz 1
Business
Millersville MD
Oct 5, 2014

Disappointed

The staff was not professional in reaching back to you and locate my entitlement to Internet service. This unprofessional attitude costed me the missing of a really important meeting. No body was able to help me with this issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EA Calderon
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Jun 1, 2014

Excellent

It was a excelent stay. The staff was very kindly and good people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hhari
Business
New York
Oct 14, 2013

Convenient and comfy for business travel

I found this hotel at comparatively good room rates for a conference in DC. Checkin and checkout were a breeze, and the location was perfect for my work activities. Clean and spacious room, great health facilities and a great porter outside who got me cabs in a jiffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pointer
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 4, 2013

Working late in city

Had to work late and stay in city overnight. Courtesy, professional staff. Large room. Felt safe. Was quiet. Great food, room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 10, 2011

Excellent service; Friendly staff

From the bell captain to the front desk staff, concierge and the wait staff, everyone at the Capital Hilton was there to be sure that my stay exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Feb 16, 2011

Decent Downtown Hotel

I stayed here as the conference was being held here. At $380 per night, I expected more. I was surprised at the lack of restaurant options, especially when their only restaurant was closed. Ate from a limited menu in the lobby bar. Room was nice, but hallway noise far more prominent than others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top